Old 5th May 2006, 22:36   #1
LollipopLustKil
Insomniac
(Forum King)
 
LollipopLustKil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,033
Send a message via AIM to LollipopLustKil
Ad Companies

Wow, it's been a long time since I've posted here. Very long. I wonder if anyone even remembers me?

Anyways, I have a question for those of you out there that run your own sites.

Do you use any ad companies? Fastclick, Google, Yahoo!, Adbrite, etc.

Google deleted my account because I jumped from $0.10 to $10.00 in one day. I was angry.

Adbrite has terrible rates.

Fastclick just flat-out denied my request.

Yahoo! hasn't replied to my request just yet.

Are there any other good advertising companies out there for my website?

If you'd like to see it, it's http://originalcuties.krradio.com. Basically they're videos me and my friends do, but I'm planning on expanding into other areas soon.

Scotty Doesn't Know
LollipopLustKil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2006, 23:22   #2
protegechris
Forum Queen
 
protegechris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 6,636
I let my Adsense idle for a few months, threw it on one of my sites and generated $18 in a day, didn't get cancelled though :/

I use Fastclick (now ValueClick Media). I'd re-apply since valueclick bought them out, might have a better chance.

Try Casale Media, they accept most sites I've referred. Here's my referral link if you don't mind
http://casalemedia.com/referral?referredBy=112216

Here's my ValueClickMedia link..
http://admin.valueclickmedia.com/re.f?17717

You may have a better chance being accepted by value/fastclick if you aren't on a subdomain.. if you've got a few bucks to spare, see about grabbing a domain to redirect to the site or something

I haven't seen the ad program for yahoo, and rather than google it.. link?

yeah, i'm back.
protegechris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2006, 00:35   #3
Joel
Debian user
(Forum King)
 
Joel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Arch land
Posts: 4,917
I don't trust in Ad companies...I don't like having useless cookies on PC :\


* PC: Intel Core 2 DUO E6550 @ 2.33 GHz with 2 GB RAM: Archlinux-i686 with MATE.
* Laptop: Intel Core 2 DUO T6600 @ 2.20 GHz with 4 GB RAM: Archlinux-x86-64 with MATE.
Joel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2006, 00:36   #4
LollipopLustKil
Insomniac
(Forum King)
 
LollipopLustKil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,033
Send a message via AIM to LollipopLustKil
Yahoo!'s ad program is still in Beta. http://publisher.yahoo.com/

Hopefully they'll reply to my request soon though, I'm anxious to see how it works.

Microsoft just came out with their Ad Center as well, I think either yesterday or today actually. From what I'm hearing, as of now, it's a real pain in the ass though. I'll wait.

Scotty Doesn't Know
LollipopLustKil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2006, 00:40   #5
protegechris
Forum Queen
 
protegechris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 6,636
I used to run video advertisements for Microsoft. Some douche company was managing the tax forms and demanded my picture ID (don't have), so to make up one of the Windows Media representatives sent me a Digital Media Pro keyboard, some $25 mouse, and a copy of Office Pro 2003

yeah, i'm back.
protegechris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2006, 00:40   #6
dlinkwit27
has no CT
(Forum King)
 
dlinkwit27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 13,235
Send a message via ICQ to dlinkwit27 Send a message via AIM to dlinkwit27 Send a message via Yahoo to dlinkwit27
Re: Ad Companies

Quote:
Originally posted by LollipopLustKil
Wow, it's been a long time since I've posted here. Very long. I wonder if anyone even remembers me?

Anyways, I have a question for those of you out there that run your own sites.

Do you use any ad companies? Fastclick, Google, Yahoo!, Adbrite, etc.

Google deleted my account because I jumped from $0.10 to $10.00 in one day. I was angry.

Adbrite has terrible rates.

Fastclick just flat-out denied my request.

Yahoo! hasn't replied to my request just yet.

Are there any other good advertising companies out there for my website?

If you'd like to see it, it's http://originalcuties.krradio.com. Basically they're videos me and my friends do, but I'm planning on expanding into other areas soon.
How do you earn money using google? I want to do that!
dlinkwit27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2006, 05:19   #7
swingdjted
DRINK BEER NOW
(Forum King)
 
swingdjted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northern West Virginia
Posts: 9,984
Send a message via AIM to swingdjted Send a message via Yahoo to swingdjted
doesn't valueclick put adware/spyware on your site visitors' computers?

valueclick is something that shows up almost every time I run Ad-Aware, Spybot SD, and other similar programs. I'm really sick of it and I wish I knew how to get rid of it permanantly.

Don't forget to live before you die.
swingdjted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2006, 05:29   #8
protegechris
Forum Queen
 
protegechris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 6,636
Valueclick in itself does. You'll notice Valueclick.com and Valueclickmedia.com are still separate systems.

yeah, i'm back.
protegechris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2006, 05:43   #9
swingdjted
DRINK BEER NOW
(Forum King)
 
swingdjted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northern West Virginia
Posts: 9,984
Send a message via AIM to swingdjted Send a message via Yahoo to swingdjted
Quote:
Originally posted by protegechris
Valueclick in itself does. You'll notice Valueclick.com and Valueclickmedia.com are still separate systems.
So does this imply that valueclickmedia isn't as bad and therefore doesn't put the spyware/adware onto your computer?

Don't forget to live before you die.
swingdjted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2006, 05:48   #10
protegechris
Forum Queen
 
protegechris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 6,636
ValueClickMedia, at the current state, is still using just the Fastclick campaigns, same backend and everything as well. I have a regular valueclick account as well.. average cpm is like 3 cents and their campaigns are garbage.

yeah, i'm back.
protegechris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2006, 13:48   #11
Widdykats
The Forum Slut
 
Widdykats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: A place that invites a post pumping whore from NY
Posts: 15,789
"Scwose me, THIS is an Advertising Company!
Widdykats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2006, 06:20   #12
dlichterman
Forum King
 
dlichterman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Where Hell Froze Over
Posts: 2,466
Yeah that is like, the best ads in the world

Software is like sex: It's better when it's free.-*-If at first you don't succeed; call it version 1.0-*-Guess the band from pics game
dlichterman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2006, 12:15   #13
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,382
Should include a warning for modem users though:

Sucks more bandwidth than a myspace page.
gaekwad2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump