Old 25th April 2002, 00:35   #41
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
The only reason for why the sound cuts out (goes back to zero) at the start of each new track is if the volume slider in Winamp's main window is set to zero. Adjusting the Wave slider in Windows Vol Control won't have any affect, because if Winamp's volume is zeroed then it will still reset itself to zero again when the next track begins... regardless of Alt Setting mode etc.

There's a screenshot in this thread to help you even more:
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=73354


If the problem persists, then I'm not sure what's causing it...
but then again, you didn't provide full sys specs.
I take it you've made sure gen_nomad.dll isn't present?
Have you installed any other 3rd-party plugins? If so, which?
I doubt if uninstalling a vis plugin could cause this kind of problem.
It's more likely to be one of the other types (dsp, input, output, general).

Are you sure you read/tried EVERYTHING previously mentioned?
What type of files are affected?
MP3, WAV, AudioCD, MIDI, WMA, other, only one of these, all of these?


Further help:

Basic Uninstall -> Reinstall procedure:
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=50818
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 21st May 2002, 03:35   #42
rodd62
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 4
alright i know im gonna get some shit for this, but how do i get my winamp to use the master volume control on windows instead of its own volume? i already played around with direct and wave outputs so any other suggestions would be great.
rodd62 is offline  
Old 21st May 2002, 04:31   #43
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
The master volume in Windows Volume Control affects all volume settings globally (wave, cd, line, mic, midi, etc etc), so you should be able to already control Winamp's volume with the Master/Main slider.
The Wave slider controls volume for WAV, MP3, WMA, MOD files etc,
and this is the slider which all music players use for volume control when playing back these types of files.

To disable Winamp volume control, goto:
Prefs (Ctrl+P) -> Plugins -> Output
In either WaveOut or DirectSound Output plugins (whichever of the two you're currently using... hi-lighted means it's selected and active), click "configure" and uncheck "enabled" under Volume settings.

You will now no longer be able to control volume via Winamp's volume slider.
Instead you'll only be able to control it via the Wave and/or Main sliders in the Windows mixer.
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 21st May 2002, 04:35   #44
rodd62
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 4
right i got that much, but i want winamps volume to control the master volume in windows not just disable it. thanks for the reply.
rodd62 is offline  
Old 21st May 2002, 04:47   #45
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Aah... no, it can't be done. Not with any programs. Sorry.
(or at least there's no method of doing this that I know of personally)

For Winamp (and all other players), all audio formats use the Wave Slider, except for MIDI files which use the MIDI slider, and analog/digital AudioCD's which use the analog/digital CD sliders.
That's how it is with Windows...
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 24th May 2002, 04:23   #46
hs_EVIL
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: M'sia
Posts: 2
Send a message via Yahoo to hs_EVIL
Thanks

Thanks addy - u da man!
hs_EVIL is offline  
Old 24th June 2002, 00:37   #47
DragonSpot
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NC
Posts: 2
Re: volume problems

Quote:
Originally posted by goodvibes
I've followed the instructions, but all that's done is disable the Winamp volume control, which isn't what I wanted to do. is it possible to have the Winamp volume control work independently of the system (wave) volume controls? I want to turn the wave volume down so that when I'm listening to a CD the 'new mail' sound doesn't blow my ears off, but still keep control of Winamp's volume. is this possible?
I completely agree! I am having the exact same problem, and nothing seems to help. I have Windows XP... is this a known problem for Win XP maybe? All I want is my winamp volume to ONLY adjust the volume of my music it plays. Is that so hard to ask? I want to be able to have my main computer's volume be different than that of winamp, so that I may have music low but sounds high or vice-versa. Help!
DragonSpot is offline  
Old 24th June 2002, 11:51   #48
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Methinks you've not read the whole thread properly.
Did you look at my [addendums] on the first page?
It would seem all you've done is to uncheck "enable" under volume control settings in the WaveOut output plugin config. Did you try "alt setting method" (with "enable" still checkmarked)? Did you try switching to DirectSound Output?

What filetypes does the problem occur with?
WAV, MP3, MIDI, MOD, WMA, CDA, one of, all of?

Also, you've not told us what your soundcard is.
Is it a proper pci card, or just a shabby onboard chip?
Is it WinXP compatible?
Have you checked the manufacturer's site for possible updated WinXP drivers?
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 7th July 2002, 21:50   #49
3ug
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1
Hi~ I'm experiencing a slighty different problem.. Everytime when i play mp3s with winamp, the volume will keep on increasing & decreasing.. Sometimes it will.. sometimes it won't. Is this a known problem for WinXP? Cos after switching to WinXP then i got this problem. I've read the articles on the volume problem that others have experienced & tried the ways that u guys suggested that might help. But all to no avail. Pls help..

System Specs:
OS: Windows XP Professional
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Live 5.1
Directx: 8.1
3ug is offline  
Old 7th July 2002, 23:21   #50
DragonSpot
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NC
Posts: 2
oops. thanks!

Quote:
Originally posted by DJEgg
Did you try "alt setting method" (with "enable" still checkmarked)?
Oooooooh. Thanks!! That was it! I feel silly, because I did read the thread and I guess I missed that part. Thanks again!
DragonSpot is offline  
Old 1st May 2003, 05:17   #51
jasieklubi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 3
The first suggestion by Addy did the trick, thanks a lot.
jasieklubi is offline  
Old 16th March 2004, 19:06   #52
Italy-Noob
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: San Paolo
Posts: 4
Send a message via Yahoo to Italy-Noob
Ok, I went trough all the posts and none of them solve my problem, when i change the volume in WinAmp, it is directly connected with the windows sound of Wav/Mp3, it is VERY annoying, and I have no idea what to do, changing the MIDI to none does nothing, changing to Alt Setting Mode does nothing, with or without the Enable, ARG I have tryed everything!!! help!!! lol by the way I have the WinAmp 5.01 if that is a problem PLZ tell me one that will not do that!!!
Italy-Noob is offline  
Old 16th March 2004, 19:20   #53
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
So... the problem is with MIDI files only then?
Or are all filetypes affected? (mp3, wav, ogg, aac, audio cd, wma, etc)

Are you 100% sure you've read EVERYTHING in this thread?

Also, what are your relevant system specs?
eg. motherboard, cpu, sound card/chip, windows os, DirectX

Was this a clean install of Winamp?
Have you installed ANY extra 3rd-party plugins? If so, then which ones?
Are you using WaveOut or DirectSound Output?

btw, the latest version is 5.02
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 16th March 2004, 19:37   #54
Italy-Noob
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: San Paolo
Posts: 4
Send a message via Yahoo to Italy-Noob
Ok 2, I am using Win XP, SB Live! Audio, Directx 9, ASUS, Pentium 2.6, uuh, yeah something like that lol, and YES I have been trough all this thread TWICE, this problem is driving me crazy!!!!! the controls in winamp are directly connected to the WAV/Mp3 control of the window, it affect only those but GRR, and I just updated to 5.02, AND I have tryed both, DirectSound and WaveOut, none works, or I have no control, or it affects windows, hmm anything else? OH yes! No i haven't installed any 3rd-party plugins......phew I think that's all heh
Italy-Noob is offline  
Old 16th March 2004, 20:03   #55
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
So... the problem is with MIDI files only then?
Or are all filetypes affected? (mp3, wav, ogg, aac, audio cd, wma, etc)

Was this a clean install of Winamp?
You missed those two question/answers.
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 16th March 2004, 20:17   #56
Italy-Noob
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: San Paolo
Posts: 4
Send a message via Yahoo to Italy-Noob
Quote:
Originally posted by Italy-Noob
WAV/Mp3 control of the window, it affect only those
No I did not, include MP3s and WAVs
Italy-Noob is offline  
Old 16th March 2004, 21:37   #57
Italy-Noob
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: San Paolo
Posts: 4
Send a message via Yahoo to Italy-Noob
AAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHH!!!!! Do you guys know the definition of epifany? I finally figured it out!!!!! I noticed that what you guys suggestet had worked only once and with one file, I thought, "hmmm? why only this one?" the it hit me: THIS particular file was a MP3, the other I remembered were WMA, so here goes my epifany: WMA screws EVERYTHING!!!! don't ask me why, as my name says I am a noob at this and don't think it will ever change, but make shure you are not using WMA if the problem won't go away, if you are not and I am the only one not knowing that NOT using WMA is a basic rule, then just laugh at me and, hum, disconsider this message?
Italy-Noob is offline  
Old 16th March 2004, 21:49   #58
gas-attack
Senior Member
 
gas-attack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: The world's a** Posts: 1 divided by 0
Posts: 219
Send a message via ICQ to gas-attack
Didn't they improve this whole volume problem in WA 5? At least for me, it works without disabling volume control and other things... (attachment)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg volume behavior.jpg (98.3 KB, 472 views)
gas-attack is offline  
Old 16th March 2004, 22:54   #59
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Yeah, it's fixed for everything just about, except (like Italy-Noob says), WMA.

From the Troubleshooters sticky...

WMA related issues
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....88#post1232888
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread...adid=155680#WMA
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=163425
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 3rd April 2004, 00:37   #60
daGeneral
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2
After going batty with this whole volume issue, trying and hating the sloooooooooooowness of volume changes using "Alt setting" so as not to entirely change the volume of my system (as I enjoy cranking my WA but that damn Mail bong nearly blew out my ears), I switched over to Direct Sound Output and it seems to have fixed the problem.

My question thusly is what is the difference between the DirectSound output v2.2.10 and the waveOut output v2.0.2a?? I don't really hear a noticeable difference through my Altec Lansing speakers...in fact, the only difference i notice is that when I use the WA slider to change the volume, the only thing that changes is the WA volume...
daGeneral is offline  
Old 7th July 2004, 17:55   #61
forrie
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 24
Winamp Volume and System Mixer

My problem seems related but somewhat different. I'll try to describe clearly.

When using WinAmp 5.3, the volume it uses is lower than what I set my system mixer to (well, of course) -- but other applications like MusicMatch use the setting of the System Mixer when they start up (ie: the volume represents the System Mixer, so you do in fact have control over that volume).

I'd like to do this with WinAMP -- it would be "nice" if WinAMP were to restore the state of the mixing settings it found, after it exits (if possible), if things are altered extensively- perhaps save those altered settings for future use.

Does that make any sense ;-)


Thanks.
forrie is offline  
Old 7th July 2004, 18:05   #62
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Well, it would seem that you want the exact opposite of everyone else in this thread.

Your solution would be to NOT use DirectSound Output
and use WaveOut Output instead
and checkmark "reset to original value on stop" in WaveOut config.
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 7th July 2004, 18:08   #63
forrie
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 24
In the Preferences for Direct Sound, I show Volume Control and Smooth Volume Changes enabled. Control=linear.

WaveOut settings are Enable=On.

A conflict of using the two?
forrie is offline  
Old 7th July 2004, 18:11   #64
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Did you see my post (inbetween your two posts)?

You can't use both DirectSound & WaveOut Outputs at the same time (at least, not without using a 3rd-party Output Splitter plugin).

The hi-lighted Output plugin is the active one....
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 7th July 2004, 18:14   #65
forrie
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 24
Oh, hmmm... I am using DFX (how stupid of me not to mention that). But it doesn't seem to affect the volume, just the quality.

So the I click on whichever plugin in the list, and that activates it. Strange, I would never have guessed that - since there's no indicator there that says "acive" etc.
forrie is offline  
Old 7th July 2004, 19:04   #66
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
The fact that it's hi-lighted says that it's selected, and therefore active.
Just like it is for DSP and Vis plugins
(eg. you've currently got DFX selected under DSP Plugins).

It's only Input & General Purpose plugins which don't need 'selecting', as all of them are always active.

Anyway, did it work then?
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 12th July 2005, 05:23   #67
ass_pirate
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1
The A$$ Pirate would like to know -- why does the volume still reset to zero as described by the OP? This makes the A$$_Pirate very frustrated. Using an audio product that, by default, sets the volume to zero? That is just a$$ backwards, folks!
ass_pirate is offline  
Old 12th July 2005, 11:03   #68
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Based on the lack of information provided, we have absolutely no idea :/

What is your Windows OS, soundcard, Winamp version, DirectX version?

What filetypes are you playing?

Are you using WaveOut Output or DirectSound Output, or some 3rd-party Output plugin? (Winamp > Prefs > Plugins > Output)

Depening on system specs, the problem should not occur with the DirectSound Output plugin...
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 30th September 2006, 09:30   #69
Shapakastina
Junior Member
 
Shapakastina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Under a large rock.
Posts: 5
Winamp dosen't set my wav volume down, it changes the speaker balance to the right... Also only on some songs... Help? o.O
Shapakastina is offline  
Old 30th September 2006, 11:44   #70
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,222
crossposted (and solved?) here:
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....48#post2036248

Good Winamp plugins by Joonas, DrO and shaneh.
If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline  
Old 6th November 2007, 19:05   #71
CezareB
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
Need help with this, like, URGENTLY

Hi everyone,

I am a DJ in Second Life.
I use Winamp 5.35 and Shoutcast plug-in.

I also need to use Skype at the very same time with SL, and Winamp.

Now. how can I control Winamp's volume separate from Skype/SL?

I can't hear a word people say because Winamp is always blasting. I know the volume (mine) doesn't need to be loud for people to hear my Winamp stream, BUT I need to hear the requests, the voice comments, and the Skype conferences, that I can control through my volume bar when Winamp doesn't take over everything.

Anyone can help me, urgently, before I loose my DJ job?

Thanks!!

(Ps, none of the suggestions here helped me; since I am a not-native english speaker, can someone please explain slowly step by step how to fix? Thanks!)
CezareB is offline  
Old 11th July 2011, 13:34   #72
bull-head
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1
don't want to say something bad about winamp...i am using it for a long time ....i like it more than other programs...thanks for that...
bull-head is offline  
Old 16th April 2012, 15:57   #73
FlamingoNut
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1
I've been a longtime user of Winamp and have rarely needed help or guidance, but after upgrading to 5.62, whenever I started Winamp after clicking on an mp3, I'd have to whip the earbud out of my ear because it was so loud. I'd adjust the volume on my taskbar volume control, then later go back into Winamp and had the same issue again. It was making me NUTS.

I followed the instructions in the 2nd post (pre addendum) and low & behold, they still applied, 12 years later Granted, it disables the sound control in Winamp, but I rely on my taskbar volume control anyway (creature of habit).
FlamingoNut is offline  
Closed Thread
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump