Old 3rd May 2005, 11:41   #1
PAK-9
Major Dude
 
PAK-9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,374
A curiosity

If you make a superscope to render a circle of radius n, then you place a movement after it with the code d=n, shouldn't it produce a fullscreen circular gradient the colour of your superscope?

I can tell you that it doesn't, but it seems to me that logically it should. You are saying for every pixel the r value remains the same but the d is a constant. Any thoughts?


If you want to try it make a ssc

x=sin(i*$pi*2)*n;
y=cos(i*$pi*2)*n;

red,green,blue = whatever;

movement:

d=n;

except replace the n with a scale factor 1>n>0 (what it is shouldnt make a difference)

http://PAK-9.deviantart.com

...innit
PAK-9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2005, 16:59   #2
^..^
Major Dude
 
^..^'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: There
Posts: 1,002
Send a message via ICQ to ^..^
shouldn't this thread be in "troubleshooting"?

However, i know what you mean. Logically it really should work. I guess the problem is that ssc and movement use slightly different coordinates for the pixels (probably rounding errors).
If you have a radius of 0.5 for example, you can tweak the movment to d=0.49/d=0.505 etc. If you do so you'll see that sometimes there is a gradient made of a few points and sometimes there isn't anything. If you want to get this idea to work, you'd have to assign a slightly different value to d, depending on the segment of the circle. (and this crappy work-around will probably only work for one specific resolution...)

^..^ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2005, 17:21   #3
roboBOT
Junior Member
 
roboBOT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Look out behind you!
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to roboBOT
It's because of aspect-ratio stuff. You have to correct for the aspect ratio, and it helps to use a fairly thick line. I got it to work once a long time ago.
roboBOT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2005, 22:10   #4
roboBOT
Junior Member
 
roboBOT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Look out behind you!
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to roboBOT
movement code: (use rectangular coordinates)

r=atan2(y,x)
x=n*cos(r);y=n*sin(r)
roboBOT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2005, 01:44   #5
fsk
Senior Member
 
fsk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: right around the corner
Posts: 223
tomy had the same problem when he was makeing plasma containment. the important clue is that movements aspect ratio works so that d==1 in the corners. I wrote the code to sinc the ssc with it but it seems i lost it. And i cant remember how i did it from my head. it is in the plasma containment preset though (optimised by tomy).

I hate signatures!!
*bangs his head on the keyboard in hope of getting an idea*
Ufihreevf43n98pevfr
fsk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2005, 02:07   #6
TomyLobo
Major Dude
 
TomyLobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 580
polar movement is aspect-ratio corrected by default, while SSC is not

just use a simple linear SSC gradient
SSC:
code:

frame:
n=w;
point:
x=2*assign(red,assign(green,assign(blue,i)))-1;
y=0;



movement(rectangular):
code:

y=0;
x=r/$pi-1;
x=if(below(x,-1),x+2,x)


If you can't say something nice, say something surrealistic.
TomyLobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2005, 09:39   #7
PAK-9
Major Dude
 
PAK-9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,374
er... okay I think a lot of people are missing the point, this isnt a problem I'm having that I need to solve, its a question of the way movements work.

I appreciate the aspect ration correction idea, it never really occured to me before but of course movements with polar coords aspect ratio correct by default. I'll have to try it out with an aspect ratio corrected superscope.

http://PAK-9.deviantart.com

...innit
PAK-9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2005, 01:45   #8
TomyLobo
Major Dude
 
TomyLobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 580
the aspect ratio correction is rather fishy... better skip that and leave it alone

If you can't say something nice, say something surrealistic.
TomyLobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2005, 07:34   #9
jheriko
Forum King
 
jheriko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: a twist in the fabric of space
Posts: 2,150
Send a message via ICQ to jheriko
the aspect ratio correction is a bit odd, like fsk said d==1 in the corners, so that if you do a one point ssc at x=0,y=0 and movement like d=if(above(d,1),0,d); you get a black screen with a dot in the middle.

The fix is pretty trivial, its just aspect correct as normal then scale everything by sqrt 2. I'm guessing this is what movement does internally, unless there are some ultra r33t voodoo hax in use...

-- Jheriko

'Everything around us can be represented and understood through numbers'
jheriko is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Visualizations > AVS

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump