Old 25th January 2010, 20:13   #1
Erazer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 23
CUE Player - Shame!

CUE Player still does not understand unicode cue files in 21 century!

http://www.audio-transcoder.com
Erazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2010, 20:15   #2
Erazer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 23
Here it is:
PERFORMER "・講ユ貘・
TITLE "MARI IIJIMA sings LYNN MINMAY"
FILE "CDImage.ape" WAVE
TRACK 01 AUDIO
TITLE "フ・ケ、ホス}、ホセ゚"
PERFORMER "・講ユ貘・
INDEX 01 00:00:00
REM PLAY_COUNTER 1
REM PLAY_DATE 161004
REM PLAY_TIME 093313
TRACK 02 AUDIO
TITLE "摂、マチ・・
PERFORMER "・講ユ貘・
INDEX 00 04:06:42
INDEX 01 04:08:42
TRACK 03 AUDIO
TITLE "0-G Love"
PERFORMER "・講ユ貘・
INDEX 00 10:01:05
INDEX 01 10:03:05
TRACK 04 AUDIO
TITLE "・キ・ヌ・・・
PERFORMER "・講ユ貘・
INDEX 00 13:25:47
INDEX 01 13:27:47
REM Comment Exact Audio Copy
REM PLAY_COUNTER 5
REM PLAY_DATE 220305
REM PLAY_TIME 174649
TRACK 05 AUDIO
TITLE "ヒス、ホアヒ、マ・ム・、・æ„_テ・ネ"
PERFORMER "・講ユ貘・
INDEX 00 16:42:35
INDEX 01 16:44:35
TRACK 06 AUDIO
TITLE "摂。、、ェ、ワ、ィ、ニ、、、゙、ケ、ォ"
PERFORMER "・講ユ貘・
INDEX 00 20:05:65
INDEX 01 20:07:65
TRACK 07 AUDIO
TITLE "Why"
PERFORMER "・講ユ貘・
INDEX 00 25:01:47
INDEX 01 25:03:47

http://www.audio-transcoder.com
Erazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2010, 20:17   #3
Erazer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 23
Anybody know working alternatives ?

http://www.audio-transcoder.com
Erazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2010, 09:15   #4
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
you'd need to contact the author or implement your own plug-in which is capable of reading unicode cue files.

also as a general note when posting in futute, try to post in a relevant sub-forum and thread (unlike this thread which was in the plug-in/skin submission issues forum which isn't correct).

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2010, 09:24   #5
Erazer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 23
Sure, but how ?!

You are absolutely right, but I did not found relevant sub-forum myself, and link from its page at winamp site lead to "plug-in/skin submission" so I decided I have to post there:

http://www.audio-transcoder.com
Erazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2010, 09:25   #6
Erazer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 23
I mean how to " to contact the author" ?

http://www.audio-transcoder.com
Erazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2010, 09:35   #7
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
hmm, that link is only intended for issues with the submission and not actual issues with the support of the plug-in.

now you've confirmed which cue plug-in you're using i'm going to have to tell you that people have had issues trying to contact that author as the original site for the plug-in stopped working a few years back and no one posting has been able to confirm contact with them.

so i think you're probably going to have to find another plug-in (if one exists) which fits your needs though i've no idea as i don't use cue files (unless someone can work around the faulty cue loader but still allowing the plug-in to function).

also if you need to change something within a few minutes of posting and someone hasn't replied, there is an edit button so you can make changes in the post without having to create multiple posts in quick sucession.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2010, 09:45   #8
Erazer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 23
Clear, thank you. It seems it does not exist. Not foobar nor Winamp do not understand Unicode cue files

Very inconvenient to register once more to write review of plugin, by the way...

http://www.audio-transcoder.com
Erazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2010, 10:03   #9
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
from a bit more of a look, it seems like unicode cue files aren't valid anyway though it may be possible to use a utf-8 encoded file but cannot be certain that is exact without creating files myself (which i don't fancy doing at the moment).

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2010, 10:12   #10
Erazer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 23
"Unicode can be implemented by different character encodings. The most commonly used encodings are UTF-8 (which uses 1 byte for all ASCII characters, which have the same code values as in the standard ASCII encoding, and up to 4 bytes for other characters), the now-obsolete UCS-2 (which uses 2 bytes for all characters, but does not include every character in the Unicode standard), and UTF-16 (which extends UCS-2, using 4 bytes to encode characters missing from UCS-2)."

http://www.audio-transcoder.com
Erazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2010, 10:28   #11
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
i'm aware of unicode and the differing standards. what i'm saying is that from a quick look i don't know if unicode data is a valid specification as part of the cue file format (and if foobar isn't loading the file then that'd imply either there are other issues with your cue file or a unicode file isn't supported as it's cue parser is very strict against the cue specification).

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2010, 10:39   #12
Erazer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 23
21 century is a century of globalization, internationalozation and so on. There is a lot of software which understand Unicode cue sheets.. My software allow not only to read but also to write cue sheets in Unicode. So I want to play Unicode cue sheets by my favorite Winamp, I like it more than AIMP for example..

http://www.audio-transcoder.com
Erazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2010, 10:43   #13
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
i understand where you're coming from but if the file specification doesn't allow for unicode/utf-8 then really files shouldn't be created in that manner and potentially a cue8 format (like how there is m3u and m3u8 for playlists) should be introduced or even better an improved cue format as too many people seem to be using cue files when it's not required seeing as it was only ever really designed for cd rips and not some of the things it is now used for.

either way someone is going to have to do some coding inorder for you to be happy it seems (which isn't going to be me despite having tried to write a cue parser ~2 years ago).

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2010, 10:46   #14
Erazer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 23
Progress.. Specification should be updated according to now-time...

http://www.audio-transcoder.com
Erazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump