Old 14th September 2015, 11:45   #1
mooseling

Changing Output Device Quickly

Hey all,

I'm only just getting used to Winamp, so I'm a total noob.

Anyway, I use a usb sound card most of the time, but sometimes I just use the speakers on my laptop. It's not hard to change between devices, but it takes a little while. I was wondering if it were possible to use the drawer to list output devices and switch between them, or some sidebar or something. Winamp seems so customizable that I'd be surprised if it were impossible. Any ideas?
mooseling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2015, 15:30   #2
Aminifu
Forum King

Look in the configuration options of the output plug-in you're using. Press the <Ctrl + P> keyboard keys to open the Winamp preferences window. Scroll to and select the output plug-ins group on the left side of this window and select the specific plug-in and it's configuration window on the right side.

For example, the "Device" tab of the DirectSound output plug-in's configuration window has a multiple choice control that lets you select the sound device you want to use (as long as it's driver is installed and Windows recognizes it).

Winamp v5.9.0.9999 - Quinto Black CT v3.6 skin
Windows 11 Home 64-bit v21H2 desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2015, 16:10   #3
mooseling

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aminifu View Post
Look in the configuration options of the output plug-in you're using. Press the <Ctrl + P> keyboard keys to open the Winamp preferences window. Scroll to and select the output plug-ins group on the left side of this window and select the specific plug-in and it's configuration window on the right side.

For example, the "Device" tab of the DirectSound output plug-in's configuration window has a multiple choice control that lets you select the sound device you want to use (as long as it's driver is installed and Windows recognizes it).