Old 30th July 2022, 14:35   #81
enzo1982
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Egg View Post
Winamp 5.9 RC1 Build 9999
* Misc: lame_enc & libsndfile now static links instead of dynamic dll
* Misc: libmpg123, libflac & zlib now static links instead of dynamic dll
Don't want to spoil the party, but static linking of LGPL libraries without providing the source code for your modules is violating the license.

To comply with the LGPL, you need to make it possible for users to replace the LGPL parts with their own versions. One way to do this is to build them as dynamic libraries, the other is to publish the source code of your modules (apparently the affected modules would be in_mod.dll, enc_lame.dll and in_wave.dll in this case).

Unless you have express permission from the mpg123, LAME and libsndfile projects to use them in this way, of course.
enzo1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2022, 15:00   #82
M.D-78 Odysséus
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 29
Today I noticed when trying to close Winamp by the Windows taskbar button that it is not closing by the button and the file playback controls do not appear, it only looks like the title and the Winamp thumbnail on the taskbar.
Anyone else with this problem?
M.D-78 Odysséus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2022, 15:32   #83
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,070
Quote:
Originally Posted by enzo1982 View Post
Don't want to spoil the party, but static linking of LGPL libraries without providing the source code for your modules is violating the license.

To comply with the LGPL, you need to make it possible for users to replace the LGPL parts with their own versions. One way to do this is to build them as dynamic libraries, the other is to publish the source code of your modules (apparently the affected modules would be in_mod.dll, enc_lame.dll and in_wave.dll in this case).

Unless you have express permission from the mpg123, LAME and libsndfile projects to use them in this way, of course.

Thanks for the info.

https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=15871390
https://www.gnu.org/licenses/gpl-faq...taticVsDynamic

The libs are just unmodified static links, automated via vcpkg in VS2019.
I'm sure our "object files" can be made available "on request".

I guess we'd need to check with the legal dept.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2022, 17:25   #84
ECraig
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Posts: 17
Each time a track starts it is muted when using Nullsoft WASAPI 0.1 output (5.9 RC1), although the timer shows progress. I have to manually just touch the volume fader to hear the sound, without actually changing the volume. And so happens with each new track in a playlist. Seems like a bug. Only FLAC files seem to work fine.
Also, there are no configuration settings, so does it work in exclusive mode, push or pull?
ECraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2022, 18:56   #85
Mikey7
Senior Member
 
Mikey7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Location: Sierra Vista, AZ
Posts: 140
All I can say is that I'm extremely pleased. I was a bit cynical at first but this release has really proven itself. Of course, DJ Egg, myself, and others coming up with plugin alternatives has only sweetened the experience.

The only bugs/glitches are the language pack weirdness such as Equalizer Presets being in an Asian script. The one bug that never got fixed in any release after all these years was in Playlists, being unable to save the column size and position!

I just wanted to say Thanks. The feeling of having a "new" Winamp version again just can't be beat. This is not to take away from the angst of those who use Winamp in different configurations such as WASAPI out instead of DirectSound, etc., and are experiencing issues.

Thanks again to the team!

Winamp 5.9 RC4 & Modern Skins: Quinto CT 3.6 & Big Bento Modern 1.2.
MS Surface Pro 8 11th Gen Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-1185G7 @ 3.00GHz
Windows 11 22622.601. Avatar art by Zohaib Khan
Mikey7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2022, 21:06   #86
M.D-78 Odysséus
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 29
I don't want to be annoying but can someone help me with these two questions?
The preview in the taskbar and the constant freezes, like I hear about 10 to 15 tracks of audios and Winamp freezes.

Here Winamp on the taskbar without the buttons.



Here the frozen Winamp.

M.D-78 Odysséus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2022, 21:11   #87
Mikey7
Senior Member
 
Mikey7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Location: Sierra Vista, AZ
Posts: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by M.D-78 Odysséus View Post
I don't want to be annoying but can someone help me with these two questions?
The preview in the taskbar and the constant freezes, like I hear about 10 to 15 tracks of audios and Winamp freezes.

Here Winamp on the taskbar without the buttons.



Here the frozen Winamp.


I'm going to ask the obvious questions first: What OS are you running? Presumably you're running Windows, so which version of Windows?

What kind of computer? CPU? RAM?

It is impossible to help you troubleshoot without some preliminary questions being answered. Also, you're screenshots aren't showing any useful information.

Winamp 5.9 RC4 & Modern Skins: Quinto CT 3.6 & Big Bento Modern 1.2.
MS Surface Pro 8 11th Gen Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-1185G7 @ 3.00GHz
Windows 11 22622.601. Avatar art by Zohaib Khan
Mikey7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2022, 21:24   #88
M.D-78 Odysséus
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 29
Windows 11, Core i5 and 16gb of Ram
M.D-78 Odysséus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2022, 21:35   #89
Mikey7
Senior Member
 
Mikey7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Location: Sierra Vista, AZ
Posts: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by M.D-78 Odysséus View Post
Windows 11, Core i5 and 16gb of Ram
Ok. Are you running Winamp 5.9 "as-is" after installing it? Did you add any external (3rd-party) plugins? Did you make any changes to the Preferences file such as additionally configuring input or output plugins or changing them from the default configuration?

Winamp 5.9 RC4 & Modern Skins: Quinto CT 3.6 & Big Bento Modern 1.2.
MS Surface Pro 8 11th Gen Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-1185G7 @ 3.00GHz
Windows 11 22622.601. Avatar art by Zohaib Khan
Mikey7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2022, 21:52   #90
M.D-78 Odysséus
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 29
Well I modified the manifest as in the post http://forums.winamp.com/showpost.ph...9&postcount=47
And I added some plugins as shown in the images:








I believe this is it.
M.D-78 Odysséus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2022, 22:03   #91
Mikey7
Senior Member
 
Mikey7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Location: Sierra Vista, AZ
Posts: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by M.D-78 Odysséus View Post
Well I modified the manifest as in the post http://forums.winamp.com/showpost.ph...9&postcount=47
And I added some plugins as shown in the images:
Since this version of Winamp 5.9 is only the first Release Candidate, you make those kind of changes at your own risk. DJ Egg was very explicit that any bug reports be based upon Winamp 5.9 running "as-is" with no changes or additional (3rd party) plugins.

That said, I would back out the plugins you added one by one until either the problem goes away OR you have to remove the changes made to the manifest which I assume means a fresh install.

DJ Egg has stated that the next Release Candidate *may* be ready to run these sorts of 3rd party plugins.

I hope this helps.

Winamp 5.9 RC4 & Modern Skins: Quinto CT 3.6 & Big Bento Modern 1.2.
MS Surface Pro 8 11th Gen Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-1185G7 @ 3.00GHz
Windows 11 22622.601. Avatar art by Zohaib Khan
Mikey7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2022, 22:08   #92
M.D-78 Odysséus
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 29
I'll wait for RC2 then.
Thanks
M.D-78 Odysséus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2022, 22:12   #93
Mikey7
Senior Member
 
Mikey7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Location: Sierra Vista, AZ
Posts: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by M.D-78 Odysséus View Post
I'll wait for RC2 then.
Thanks
Great. It would have been interesting to see if you could have nailed it down either to the addition of a specific plugin or from altering the manifest. Waiting for RC2, however, is probably the best idea.

Winamp 5.9 RC4 & Modern Skins: Quinto CT 3.6 & Big Bento Modern 1.2.
MS Surface Pro 8 11th Gen Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-1185G7 @ 3.00GHz
Windows 11 22622.601. Avatar art by Zohaib Khan
Mikey7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2022, 22:24   #94
PeBass
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Posts: 1
When u can make a Linux port or version, please!
PeBass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2022, 22:29   #95
Mikey7
Senior Member
 
Mikey7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Location: Sierra Vista, AZ
Posts: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeBass View Post
When u can make a Linux port or version, please!
Typically, Winamp runs in Linux using WINE.

Winamp 5.9 RC4 & Modern Skins: Quinto CT 3.6 & Big Bento Modern 1.2.
MS Surface Pro 8 11th Gen Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-1185G7 @ 3.00GHz
Windows 11 22622.601. Avatar art by Zohaib Khan
Mikey7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2022, 06:20   #96
cyberloner
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Egg View Post
One of our devs was able to reproduce this a few days ago.

By "still", do you mean as from 5.9? Or was it also like that in 5.8?
5.8 and 5.9 is having this issue sir
cyberloner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2022, 08:35   #97
ericrose
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
I'm not technically advanced, but noticed the following: after installing the latest Winamp and trying to listen to radio stations, I was directed to open Ace Stream media, but even after opening that, nothing was heard. I use Win 10 Home latest version. Please help.
ericrose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2022, 09:47   #98
kanedagr
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8
Error Regarding VC

I don't know if it's my mistake but when i ran winamp an error occurs every time.
Anothe question though... Do you plan to make winamp x64 bit someday?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Winamp.jpg
Views:	188
Size:	20.1 KB
ID:	54942  
kanedagr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2022, 10:49   #99
zumer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by kanedagr View Post
I don't know if it's my mistake but when i ran winamp an error occurs every time.
Anothe question though... Do you plan to make winamp x64 bit someday?
This error appears if you did not do a clean install and you are using plugins using vc90.crt. Will be fixed in rc2.
zumer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2022, 12:13   #100
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,070
Quote:
Originally Posted by ericrose View Post
I'm not technically advanced, but noticed the following: after installing the latest Winamp and trying to listen to radio stations, I was directed to open Ace Stream media, but even after opening that, nothing was heard. I use Win 10 Home latest version. Please help.

Are you trying to listen via the Online Services view in Winamp?
If yes, then you need to make Winamp the default player for .PLS playlists.

Currently, Ace Stream Media (?) will be your default player.

Windows => Settings => Apps => Default Apps => Choose default applications by file type
Scroll down to .PLS
And change it to Winamp
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2022, 12:15   #101
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,070
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyberloner View Post
5.8 and 5.9 is having this issue sir

Ok, it's been added to the list of Known Bugs.

I can't promise it will be fixed for 5.9.0 Final
but hopefully for 5.9.1

______________________________________


For now, you should switch to DirectSound Output in Winamp => Prefs => Output

Or if you badly need WASAPI Output, then there's a few 3rd-party plugins out there...
https://www.thefreewindows.com/29018...not-so-yasapi/
http://www.mywinamp.com/winamp-wasapi-plugin/ {EDIT: This is the only one which works in 5.9 - see below}
https://adionsoft.net/winampwasapi/

I don't know which is best, or if any of them work (maybe someone else here can recommend one?)
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2022, 12:27   #102
justcommentin'
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Posts: 2
Hello!
This version completelly ruined my album art thumbnails. All audio files are showing as Winamp icon and album art won't show when I set folder view as large icons neither when I associate audio files with Winamp or any other player. Tried rebuild thumbnail cache, reinstall, install older versions, repair Windows and nothing. Yesterday I reinstall whole system and I'm sure I won't install Winamp ecer again!
justcommentin' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2022, 12:47   #103
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,070
Quote:
Originally Posted by justcommentin' View Post
Hello!
This version completelly ruined my album art thumbnails. All audio files are showing as Winamp icon and album art won't show when I set folder view as large icons neither when I associate audio files with Winamp or any other player. Tried rebuild thumbnail cache, reinstall, install older versions, repair Windows and nothing. Yesterday I reinstall whole system and I'm sure I won't install Winamp ever again!

Uninstalling Winamp should reset file associations to whatever they were before Winamp was made the default player.

Album Art for thumbnails in Windows folders is a feature of "Windows Media Player" and Windows "Film & TV" apps.

I don't even think Windows "Groove Music" does album art thumbnails for associated file types?

Windows => Settings => Apps => Default Apps

Did you try "Reset"?

Or "Set defaults by app"
- Films & TV
- Windows Media Player
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2022, 12:53   #104
justcommentin'
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Egg View Post
Did you try "Reset"?
Tried everything. Spent 12 hours to try fix this but with no luck. With version before (5.8 beta) everything works fine. After installing this RC1 everything gone wrong.
justcommentin' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2022, 12:55   #105
gelland
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Posts: 3
It works just fine on Windows 11. Thank you for bringing the legendary program back to life! But all the alternative desctop icons look awful. I especially like the dark icon, and it used to look cool even on Windows XP back then. But now it looks like pixeled garbage. I hope you wil fix it in the filal release version.
gelland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2022, 13:05   #106
apsoul
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by apsoul View Post
- virustotal returns 7/66
- forum doesn't use https
I saw new Winamp released, and rushed. Now that makes me think. On one hand, community got my tiny report quoted above. On other hand maybe it is better not do something at all if I'm not going to do it right. Just some thoughts.

Anyways, I did test this, and it worked as it is intended to work. Installation completed with no errors. Microsoft default antivirus did not detect a positive. As of today, virustotal is down to 6 positives. NOD32 doesn't detect it as positive, that's important.

My platform is a virtual machine. Windows 10 Pro, 21H2, 19044.1826, Windows Feature Experience Pack 120.2212.4180.0., Intel Core Processor (Skylake, IBRS) 3.60 GHz (2 processors), 5.00 GB RAM, 64-bit OS. Audio driver is the default Windows one. Audio device is ICH9, if I'm not wrong.

Winamp plays MP3 and FLAC files with no issues, as it is intended. Skin changing works, color themes work. Visualization works. Did not encounter any errors. I did test it for a few minutes only, though.

Tried to install it on Windows 7, but the setup did not ran at all. It's due to system lacking latest patches and upgrades. Nothing to worry about, possibly. Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate, 6.1.7600 N/A Build 7600, 2 x Intel64 Family 6 Model 94 Stepping 3 GenuineIntel ~3600 Mhz, 4GB RAM, 64 Bit.

Running setup I'm prompted with a warning:
Winamp Installer
This version of Windows is no longer supported.
Winamp 5.9 requires a minimum of Windows 7 SP1 or newer.

Hope that this will help developers at least a tiny bit. Keep up the good work and have a fantastic day today!
apsoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2022, 15:11   #107
ericrose
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
Thank you for your answer! The only problem is that with .pls there is no Winamp to choose!
ericrose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2022, 15:41   #108
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,070
Quote:
Originally Posted by ericrose View Post
Thank you for your answer! The only problem is that with .pls there is no Winamp to choose!

Oh, that's not good :-(

If you've not got a local .pls file, create one by adding some songs to the Winamp playlist
then use the Manage Playlists button at the bottom to Save Playlist as PLS.
Then right-click the PLS file in the Windows folder and select "Open with"

If Winamp isn't in the list, select "Choose another app"
then select Winamp, or browse to winamp.exe

You should also be given an option to "always use"
but if not, once the PLS is successfully opened with Winamp,
then Winamp should also appear in the PLS list for Default Apps

Other than that, we'll need to investigate why Winamp isn't automatically appearing there...
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2022, 18:45   #109
Metal-Tom
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Posts: 2
Guude

Des Entwicklerteam könnt ja theoretisch noch ASIO-Support hinzufügen sowie e Möglichkeit, den RAM net allzuviel zu beanspruch'n
Metal-Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2022, 18:47   #110
NJK
FRISIAN (MOD)
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: in a house
Posts: 16,335
Quote:
Originally Posted by Metal-Tom View Post
Guude

Des Entwicklerteam könnt ja theoretisch noch ASIO-Support hinzufügen sowie e Möglichkeit, den RAM net allzuviel zu beanspruch'n

the forum language is English , if you can't write that --> http://forums.winamp.com/forumdisplay.php?f=172
NJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2022, 18:59   #111
ECraig
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Egg View Post
Ok, it's been added to the list of Known Bugs.

I can't promise it will be fixed for 5.9.0 Final
but hopefully for 5.9.1

______________________________________


For now, you should switch to DirectSound Output in Winamp => Prefs => Output

Or if you badly need WASAPI Output, then there's a few 3rd-party plugins out there...
https://www.thefreewindows.com/29018...not-so-yasapi/
http://www.mywinamp.com/winamp-wasapi-plugin/
https://adionsoft.net/winampwasapi/

I don't know which is best, or if any of them work (maybe someone else here can recommend one?)
The only one from the list that works is 'Maiko' (http://www.mywinamp.com/winamp-wasapi-plugin/), but it only has the 'push' option in exclusive mode. 'not-so-yasapi' does not load, and the 'adionsoft' does not work.

http://www.mywinamp.com/winamp-wasapi-plugin/ is the only WASPI alternative that works in 5.9 RC1
ECraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2022, 20:28   #112
Mikey7
Senior Member
 
Mikey7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Location: Sierra Vista, AZ
Posts: 140
I didn't want to include this in the Bug Reports thread because it's been an issue (I believe) ever since the Media Library plugin was included in Winamp all those years ago. I do know this issue has been addressed in that alternative version of Winamp...

In the playlist window, "Items" and "Time" won't retain either their column size or position. I have noted that you have fixed the column sizes and positions in the "Audio" (normally tri-window) section. Might it be possible to finally address the playlist issue in some future release of 5.9? Thanks!

EDIT: I should mention I've looked for this in published bug lists for all versions and have never found it. Feature not a bug?

Winamp 5.9 RC4 & Modern Skins: Quinto CT 3.6 & Big Bento Modern 1.2.
MS Surface Pro 8 11th Gen Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-1185G7 @ 3.00GHz
Windows 11 22622.601. Avatar art by Zohaib Khan

Last edited by Mikey7; 31st July 2022 at 22:09.
Mikey7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2022, 22:17   #113
Mikey7
Senior Member
 
Mikey7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Location: Sierra Vista, AZ
Posts: 140
Sorry for so many comments - has anyone gotten the "not-so-yasapi" (or the not-so-ASIO) plugin working with the manifest hack? Are there any technical/failure call outs if one uses the manifest hack instead of waiting for RC2? Thanks again.

Winamp 5.9 RC4 & Modern Skins: Quinto CT 3.6 & Big Bento Modern 1.2.
MS Surface Pro 8 11th Gen Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-1185G7 @ 3.00GHz
Windows 11 22622.601. Avatar art by Zohaib Khan

Last edited by Mikey7; 31st July 2022 at 23:39.
Mikey7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2022, 07:21   #114
ECraig
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Posts: 17
As one important flaw of playlist view I see the lack of all relevant columns ('Year' and 'Genre' especially) beside 'Title' and 'Time', so users can see those data and eventually sort playlist accordingly.
Also, I suggest that the active (playing) item in playlist should be automatically found and highlighted in Media library view, so all of the time the user can see all the relevant data of the actually playing song in Media Library view.
ECraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2022, 10:41   #115
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,070
AV False-positive updates

alac.w5s now reported as clean
https://www.virustotal.com/gui/file/...55cc4e89363c70

Avira now reports the Winamp 5.9 installer as clean (see attached screenshot)


Download URL now certified 100% clean
https://www.virustotal.com/gui/url/e...03799b0a4a1e79


Just waiting to hear back from McAfee...
https://www.virustotal.com/gui/file/...0a196ca3a2385c

Apparently, McAfee refers to any "unknown" detection as Artemis
https://www.mcafee.com/support/?loca...l=article-view

In our case, it's "unknown" because it's a false-positive and therefore doesn't exist.


UPDATE [6th Aug]

McAfee now says we're clean
https://www.virustotal.com/gui/file/...0a196ca3a2385c

Just one false-positive remains (VBA32)

________________________________
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Avira_Analysis_WA59_Clean.jpg
Views:	100
Size:	53.0 KB
ID:	54948  
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2022, 11:13   #116
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,070
Winamp Language Packs v1.2

Changes from v1.1
- Updated Spanish lang pack
- Removed Polish lang pack (Pawel will be providing a separate installer)
- Installer/Uninstaller fixes


First post has been updated accordingly
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2022, 13:27   #117
Mikey7
Senior Member
 
Mikey7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Location: Sierra Vista, AZ
Posts: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by ECraig View Post
As one important flaw of playlist view I see the lack of all relevant columns ('Year' and 'Genre' especially) beside 'Title' and 'Time', so users can see those data and eventually sort playlist accordingly.
Also, I suggest that the active (playing) item in playlist should be automatically found and highlighted in Media library view, so all of the time the user can see all the relevant data of the actually playing song in Media Library view.
For those of us who use dynamic playlists, the possibilities for Playlist column entries are endless but this one is a particularly good suggestion.

Winamp 5.9 RC4 & Modern Skins: Quinto CT 3.6 & Big Bento Modern 1.2.
MS Surface Pro 8 11th Gen Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-1185G7 @ 3.00GHz
Windows 11 22622.601. Avatar art by Zohaib Khan
Mikey7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2022, 20:47   #118
ilkertezcan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: türkiye
Posts: 5
Workaround to low/weak/unboost volume level.

@DJ Egg:

Thank you for this new version that came after years.

My favorite changing in v5.8 was that all DLL files in the root directory were moved to \Shared folder. Thus, the directory and files structure became tidy.

I'm looking forward to the native OPUS (in_opus.dll file) support in the next version.

About a known issue:

No matter how much the sound level was increased in v5.8, the boost of the audio was lackluster. (There was a solution to this.)

I tried v5.9 today. I selected the WASAPI Output. In audio playback, the volume level has noticeably decreased. Same issue, like v5.8.

Re-produce steps:
1) Select to "Nullsoft WASAPI Output" from Preference -> Plugins -> Output.
2) Play any an audio.
3) Select to "Nullsoft DirectSound" from Preference -> Plugins -> Output.
4) Play any an audio.
Result: Lower, weak volume.
Workaround to this known issue: (Mentioned in here and here and here.)

Run in CMD (as an Administrator):

(For v5.9 RC1)
Quote:
REG DELETE "HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\LowRegistry\Audio\PolicyConfig\PropertyStore\1bebab34_0\{219ED5A0-9CBF-4F3A-B927-37C9E5C5F14F}" /F
(For v5.8)
Quote:
REG DELETE "HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\LowRegistry\Audio\PolicyConfig\PropertyStore\e86b38d3_0\{219ED5A0-9CBF-4F3A-B927-37C9E5C5F14F}" /F
Caution: Make sure that "Nullsoft WASAPI" is not selected. Even if you accidentally select WASAPI and then select DirectSound again, the sound level will continue to be low. Until the inputs in the registry are deleted.

P.S.: The entry codes in Registry may vary according to each system config. Personally, I act recklessly and delete all of them.
Quote:
REG.EXE DELETE "HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\LowRegistry\Audio\PolicyConfig" /F
ilkertezcan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2022, 21:01   #119
onestar
Junior Member
 
onestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 20
Thanks! Us old guys never truly go away...

It was installed over the previous version. I've got a test machine I'm going to do a fresh build on soon. Rolled back to the previous version on my main computer. I can't go without my music for too long, after all.
onestar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2022, 21:03   #120
onestar
Junior Member
 
onestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 20
Yes, sorry. I wrote faster than I could think.

I was installed over the previous version and I was trying to "Enqueue selection".

I did roll back to the previous version, but will be installing the RC on a test VM later.
onestar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump