Old 5th June 2013, 10:25   #1
Kitynska
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 10
iTunSMPB support

Does MP4 decoder support the iTunSMPB? I've noticed that Winamp (5.63 or 5.7 beta) doesn't play AAC files with iTunSMPB in a gapless way.
Kitynska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2013, 19:20   #2
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,806
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
what can you tell us about that frame/tag? I thought the %pgap% atom alone controlled gapless?

http://code.google.com/p/l-smash/issues/detail?id=1

http://atomicparsley.sourceforge.net/mpeg-4files.html

http://forums.mp3tag.de/lofiversion/...hp/t12640.html

http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/...howtopic=63480

http://yabb.jriver.com/interact/index.php?topic=65076

I assume your files are lossy?

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2013, 20:20   #3
Kitynska
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 10
Yes, they are lossy.

I do not know much about gapless playback, but I know this (tested by myself):


foobar2000:

AAC wih the iTunSMPB tag = playing gapless
AAC without the iTunSMPB tag = not playing gapless

Winamp:

AAC wih the iTunSMPB tag = not playing gapless
AAC without the iTunSMPB tag = not playing gapless


Winamp can't play lossy AAC gaplessly and that's the problem.
Kitynska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2013, 21:09   #4
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,074
Hi

I've just tested gapless m4a playback and it works fine for me.

We could do with having a couple of sample files

(to see if we can reproduce the problem, or if your files use a newer iTunSMPB format that we're maybe not handling correctly)...

and also seeing your InfoTool log

(to see if you're using any 3rd-party plugins, if m4a is being handled by in_m4a, if you're using DirectSound Output & if XFading is enabled).
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2013, 22:12   #5
Kitynska
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 10
Hi, I uploaded samples. Tested on default Winamp 5.63 configuration (clean installation).
Attached Files
File Type: zip Samples.zip (736.9 KB, 276 views)
Kitynska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2013, 06:30   #6
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,074
Thanks for the samples. They play gaplessly for me in 5.7 beta.

So... a clean install and you haven't changed any settings?
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2013, 10:09   #7
Kitynska
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 10
Yes, I even checked it on my older PC, the gap didn't disappear.


I recorded them from Stereo Mix:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/dr24tbwrmf...AAC%201-2.flac

Waveform:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/3nyhs61n78...-AAC%201-2.png
Kitynska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2013, 19:26   #8
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,806
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
try them with the newest 5.7 beta, instead of 5.63

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2013, 11:09   #9
Kitynska
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 10
The 5.7 beta is broken too.

I checked older versions. Guess what? The gapless bug was introduced in the version 5.57. The previous version (5.56) is all right.
Kitynska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2013, 17:27   #10
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,806
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
ok, so when I test the files on 5.7 I think I get perfect playback on FLAC, and just the slightest of "hiccups" on m4a. its very hard to tell, since the samples are so distorted, but I do think I hear something "bad" in the m4as that I don't on the FLACs.

Egg, are you sure its PERFECTLY gapless?

perhaps we could get clearer sample files?

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2013, 20:08   #11
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,074
Hmm, I'm not sure, tbh. Benski says he'll take a look....

out_ds buffer-ahead needs to be set to e.g. 500ms (I've got mine set to 555)
and all samples then play perfectly gapless for me.

I hear a noticeable gap/glitch if it's set to 0 (which Benski says is to be expected).

Test gapless m4a samples are attached:
Attached Files
File Type: zip Nitzer_Ebb__Control__gapless_m4a.zip (2.83 MB, 276 views)
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2013, 07:00   #12
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,806
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
Egg,

I tested your files. again, its hard for me b/c of the music choice, but it sounded gapless I think, except for 8 into 9, and 9 into 10.

perhaps it has to do with the length of the tracks? (maybe related to my link in my sig?)

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2013, 13:24   #13
Kitynska
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 10
https://www.dropbox.com/s/56rhv8ezt2fy7m8/WAGaps.png

As I told you before, there is a bug.
Kitynska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2013, 15:48   #14
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,806
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
no one is saying there isn't, we are just trying to reproduce, to see if its somehow unique to you or not.

just for clarity, can you post your plugins list and try your tests in safe mode? (I know u said its clean but it gives other info as well)

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2013, 17:13   #15
Kitynska
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 10
I did an additional test with only this plugins:

in_mp4.dll
out_ds.dll

Still glitchy, Safe Mode cannot fix it.
Kitynska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2013, 17:48   #16
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,858
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSinatra View Post
...
just for clarity, can you post your plugins list and try your tests in safe mode? (I know u said its clean but it gives other info as well)
I think we should stop calling Koopa's Winamp Info Tool report the plug-ins list. Like you say, it provides other info.

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?t=328932

Winamp v5.9.0.9999 - Quinto Black CT v3.6 skin
Windows 11 Home 64-bit v21H2 desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2013, 09:29   #17
Kitynska
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 10
So what's the status? Are you going to fix this bug or not?
Kitynska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2013, 14:03   #18
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
it's on the list of things to be checked out. nothing else has progressed on the matter.
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th September 2013, 21:06   #19
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,806
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
having now had my own issues with gaps/gapless, I revisited this issue.

the music choice for both makes it hard to tell, BUT I am fairly convinced that the OPs m4a lossy files aren't playing gaplessly, while his flacs are.

Eggs files seem to be gapless most of the time, but not seamlessly as said above.

what i'd really like to know is if %pgap% atoms and iTunSMPB tags are one and the same? neither are required for ALAC, which is expected since its lossless.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kitynska View Post
what I didn't notice before is that the gapless one in the pic is actually winamp 5.5, (if one assumes that's accurate) making this bug a regression it would seem.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2013, 10:12   #20
Kitynska
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 10
It's still broken. R.I.P. Winamp.
Kitynska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2013, 12:12   #21
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
what I found before the in-progress shutdown is that the tag is found and read but wasn't being correctly passed on - why I don't know and time now means it cannot be fixed.
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump