Old 21st January 2002, 10:58   #1
avest
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2
Multible WinXP users and Winamp3

Scenario

Windows XP can have multible users logged in at the same time.

First user (A) login and starts Winamp.
Second user (B) switch to his/hers login.

All programs started by A is stille running including Winamp.
So know B is listening to A's musíc and can't stop iy unless he knows A's password.


It would be nice with a shared interface.
avest is offline  
Old 21st January 2002, 11:04   #2
Rocker
Hiding in plain sight (mod)
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 9,910
its the same with every program

its a windows feature/bug whatever you wanna call it
Rocker is offline  
Old 21st January 2002, 13:39   #3
cmisker
Major Dude
 
cmisker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Emmen, The Netherlands
Posts: 681
Send a message via ICQ to cmisker Send a message via AIM to cmisker Send a message via Yahoo to cmisker
What you could do is press CTRL-ALT-DEL, click on the users tab and then click on the users who is running Winamp and log him off. Not a real solution though, just kinda what will fix it too.

Wanna see my Winamp 3?
cmisker is offline  
Old 22nd January 2002, 00:18   #4
mc^^^^
Forum King
 
mc^^^^'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Perth, Australia MSN: mcbriar@ii.net Posts: All your posts are belong to me!!!!
Posts: 2,608
or go to task manager - processes make sure "Show processes from all users" is ticked, find studio.exe and end the process. wont save changed stuff to studio.xnf but helps you.

mc^^^^ is offline  
Old 22nd January 2002, 07:22   #5
Rocker
Hiding in plain sight (mod)
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 9,910
bit hard without admin rights
Rocker is offline  
Old 22nd January 2002, 15:44   #6
CraigF
Passionately Apathetic
Administrator
 
CraigF's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Hell
Posts: 5,435
not really a winamp problem as people have specified.
I think Winamprocker is pretty much right on this one.
Just another microsoft bug/feature.

CraigF is offline  
Old 23rd January 2002, 02:20   #7
s0be
Major Dude
 
s0be's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: melbourne Posts: First
Posts: 1,313
Send a message via ICQ to s0be Send a message via AIM to s0be Send a message via Yahoo to s0be
Quote:
Originally posted by CraigF
Just another microsoft bug/feature.
"your bastardization of logic is exceeded only by your blinding stupidity"*

although I am a hardcore linux advocate, I agree that this is, in fact, a security feature. What you ahve here is called encapsulation. one users processes are in their own world, while the other persons are in theirs. In an ideal society, I mean kernel space, the processes shouldn't even know about each other. You should be able to load 100 coppies under 100 different users without any problems. Of course, this depends on whether wa3 stores it's studio.xnf in a common dir or in a user's home dir.

/*
S0Be
*/

* from usenet, I don't really think you ignorant CraigF, just always wanted to say that to somone.

And On that day, the Lords of the land said unto their Master Architect, "The temple you have made to the gods of Wasabi and Maki has brought us no great prosperity" and they sent out him into the lands.

As he traveled to a far off land, he found he wasn't traveling alone, but that he had gained companions, and when they found their new land, they started work on a new temple, one that would be OPEN to all who wanted to worship.

from The Book of Wasabi C 12 Vs 09 (pg 2003)
s0be is offline  
Old 23rd January 2002, 11:31   #8
Rocker
Hiding in plain sight (mod)
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 9,910
I'm confused with s0bell's post

if anyone would like to translate it to english then PM me that'd be great
Rocker is offline  
Old 23rd January 2002, 13:56   #9
CraigF
Passionately Apathetic
Administrator
 
CraigF's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Hell
Posts: 5,435
That that wasnt the bug/feature i was talking about. winxp handles this perfectly. If you arent Administrator, you shouldnt be able to kill another users processes. simple as that.

however, it isnt winamps problem at all.

and s0bell, ive been in the security game for a number of years now, i know exactly what you mean. I believe this is actually first covered in the ancient rainbow books, although now its considered fundamental functionality for a multi user operating system.

CraigF is offline  
Old 26th January 2002, 20:54   #10
avest
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2
Is it possibel

If it is possible it would be nice if WinAmp was programmed so it was possibel to actually gain use of the WinXP multiuser "feature".

"Just" put in a new option. It could say something like this.

On user switch ?
1. Stop playing. Keep Program running.
2. Keep WinAmp playing
3. All users share the same WinAmp
avest is offline  
Old 26th January 2002, 21:12   #11
The Rhino
Major Dude
 
The Rhino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,069
thats not possible unless done by microsoft (like that will ever happen)
The Rhino is offline  
Old 28th January 2002, 23:26   #12
cyberdork33
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to cyberdork33
multiple instances of winamp3

well, i don't know about you, but with winamp3, I can open multiple instances all playing different playlists, so it shouldn't be a problem using winamp3...

cyberdork33
cyberdork33 is offline  
Old 29th January 2002, 00:21   #13
Phantom_of_hell
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 133
Re: multiple instances of winamp3

Quote:
Originally posted by cyberdork33
well, i don't know about you, but with winamp3, I can open multiple instances all playing different playlists, so it shouldn't be a problem using winamp3...

cyberdork33
that's because winamp3 doesn't have the sound card in use feture in use, and for the problem with XP let's see.

if this computer is networked I would say just download Winamp to your computer. there is allows way around admin, trygetting into your bios set boot to floopy,cd-rom,hdd you can use a boot disk to get on your computer, once on your computer run edit it should be one the boot disk, from there you can open any INI,INF,SYS,BAT... change what you need and your free.

but it sounds like he said multi-log-on
Multi-log-on can only work for software, not hardware, your computer mostlikely on has one sound card. so who ever turned there winamp on first is who is going to use the soundcard,

but I think I would just go to system properties and delete the sound card, and reinstall it into your folder,

just remember it only software,
if you can get your hand on some kind of memory management software you'll be set
Phantom_of_hell is offline  
Old 30th January 2002, 07:42   #14
Rocker
Hiding in plain sight (mod)
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 9,910


there's no way your gonna get into an admin account by editing files..unless you have an uncripter....in which case you'll still need a hex editor..which most don't work in dos.
Rocker is offline  
 
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp3 > Winamp3 Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump