Old 11th September 2002, 00:32   #1
sam21
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: tampa,fl
Posts: 7
winamp on a 486dx2/66

I downloade winamp on my 486 machine,when i try to play a song it goes very slowly and winamp automatically becomes "not responding" but the song kepps on going.I know a 486 isn't the best processor to play mp3's in fact it might be the worst...but i was just wondering if i could tweak the settings so my 486 could run it...
sam21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2002, 00:37   #2
Sawg
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Preferences (Ctrl-P) > Plug-ins > Input > Double click on "Nullsoft MPEG Audio Decoder..." > Decoder Tab > "Allow stereo output" and drop the quality in the Quality box.

Also, you might want to try a version below 2.66 (2.65 or below). it used Nitrane, some quality bugs, but it was a slightly faster decoder:
http://68.14.155.25:538/win/
http://winampheaven.da*****
  Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2002, 00:37   #3
sam21
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: tampa,fl
Posts: 7
Sawg,
thanks dude, i downloaded version 2.65 and i need to put the quality settings all the way to quarter and uncheck stereo output. Quarter quality is okay but i half sounds way better, when i have it on half quality, the song pauses evrery few seconds,does going older in version means i'll be able to put quality on half and it'll play smoothly lke it is on quarter?
sam21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2002, 03:04   #4
Sawg
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Use waveOut output and max the small sliders and tripple the buffer (6000ms)
  Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2002, 04:52   #5
sam21
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: tampa,fl
Posts: 7
Sawg,
i did what you told me to do, put the quality on half and no stereo output but the song still stops every couple of seconds. Any other tweaks I should do?
sam21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2002, 12:13   #6
fwgx
Rudolf the Red.
(Forum King)
 
fwgx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 9,314
A 66mhz cpu? are you nuts? I wouldn't have thought you'd get anything at least half decent. But anyway, you could buffer the entire song to memory in the decoder settings box.

"We think science is interesting and if you disagree, you can fuck off."
fwgx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2002, 22:35   #7
Savage Elve
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1
I'm using an IBM 486DX4 running NT4 connected to my stereo set for MP3 playing. Works fine; In highest quality but in mono.
(Using NT4 gives more CPU power)
Savage Elve is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump