Old 30th September 2006, 17:09   #1
CaboWaboAddict
Forum Sot
(Major Dude)
 
CaboWaboAddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Marietta, Ga. U.S.A.
Posts: 3,915
$11 touchscreen?

I just bought one of these on closeout at Microcenter for $11.24 + tax.

It promised a touch screen interface for my PC that has 14 fully configurable icons.

You can change the icons and assign them to do any task you want. You can fade the window so it is very unobtrusive and minimize it if you need the area for something else. The touch window comes back if you put a finger near the sensor.

Seems to work real well. I don't know if I would have bought it when it sold for $60, but its great at the price I paid.

I give it a

Idiot's Advocate
My site (under construction)
CaboWaboAddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2006, 17:19   #2
. - .... .- -. ....
Backpacking
Moderator
 
. - .... .- -. ....'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: საქართველო (Georgia)
Posts: 10,104
Send a message via ICQ to . - .... .- -. .... Send a message via Yahoo to . - .... .- -. ....
Not putting down your latest purchase or anything, but what makes this so different form programmable keys that come as a part of most keyboards?? My definition of a touchscreen would be a screen that allows me to interact with whatever application happens to be open - same as a mouse would allow - not something that senses a fingerpress in a specific location, and maps it to a predefined task...

Like my photography? Buy some here....
. - .... .- -. .... is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2006, 18:52   #3
Vie
Forum King
 
Vie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Thoron fields and Duranium shadows. Posts: Crap mostly
Posts: 8,003
Sorry Cabbo, but I'm with Ethan on this, it seems kinda useless. Looks good, but bit of a gimmic.

Member most in need of SpellCheck Lifetime Achievement Award

I'm a Twitch Streamer these days, it's weird.
Vie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2006, 20:57   #4
JFASI
Major Dude
 
JFASI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: I was hoping you could tell me
Posts: 1,350
Opporunity cost...

Certified Spam Connoisseur.
JFASI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2006, 21:40   #5
rockouthippie
Banned
 
rockouthippie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 11,002
For $11 bucks?. How entertained do you have to be with a toy for that?.
rockouthippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2006, 11:10   #6
Warrior of the Light
Forum King
 
Warrior of the Light's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 4,121
If it were a true touchscreen, it'd be sweet, but this is way too minimal for me.

I've played Quake3 on a smartboard once.. that was great.

Jesus loves you [yes, you] so much, he even died for you so that you will not need to die, but live forever
Warrior of the Light is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2006, 20:15   #7
sgtfuzzbubble011
 
sgtfuzzbubble011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 60,842
That's kinda spiffy. Reminds me a little of the bluetooth lazer keyboard I saw on thinkgeek.com not long ago.
sgtfuzzbubble011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2006, 03:20   #8
CaboWaboAddict
Forum Sot
(Major Dude)
 
CaboWaboAddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Marietta, Ga. U.S.A.
Posts: 3,915
Quote:
Originally posted by ethan_h
Not putting down your latest purchase or anything, but what makes this so different form programmable keys that come as a part of most keyboards?? My definition of a touchscreen would be a screen that allows me to interact with whatever application happens to be open - same as a mouse would allow - not something that senses a fingerpress in a specific location, and maps it to a predefined task...
I don't disagree... It basically works like an on-screen programmable keyboard.

Like I said, the price was right.

Anyway, I'm maybe thinking this...

A micro footprint PC with TV-video out hooked to a 7" TV screen with this attached.

Might make a nice Winamp player for my stereo. No keyboard or mouse needed.

-OR-

Have I just had too much Cabo tonight?

Idiot's Advocate
My site (under construction)
CaboWaboAddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2006, 04:10   #9
LuigiHann
Forum King
 
LuigiHann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: 80's Japan
Posts: 3,452
Send a message via AIM to LuigiHann
Quote:
Originally posted by Warrior of the Light
I've played Quake3 on a smartboard once.. that was great.
Those things are awesome.
I want to play MYST on one, I think that'd be hilarious.


Who is the milkman? What is the purpose of the goggles?
LuigiHann is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump