Old 5th February 2007, 21:32   #1
doomshine
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
embed html code for "now playing" feature

hi!

i've just succesfully launched my own shoutcast radio station after years of suffering and failed efforts..

since i can't embed neither winamp players nor realone players on my website, i had to embed a windows media player instead. it works well, but I does not allow me to see what's playing on my radio.

Is there a way of embedding an html code with the current "now playing" information??

thanks a lot!

oh..I forgot to tell that I have a simple blog, and it doesn't allow javascript, neither flash codes. only html

i tried some plugins, even the nowplayingtoweb, but the site that offers the service is down..i installed the plugin anyway and the only thing i got was a nice "now playing" on the top of my mozilla browser windows
doomshine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2007, 21:42   #2
NJK
The Frisian Spamfighter
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: a real Frisian hometown
Posts: 14,925
please use the SEACH function next time
this question gets asked some 25 times each week

www.streamsolutions.co.uk/embedded

Each Thursday a new show on Celtica Radio with Darkwave music.
**************************************************************************

WINAMPSHOUTCAST
NJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th March 2007, 22:03   #3
doomshine
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally posted by spaceplay
please use the SEACH function next time
this question gets asked some 25 times each week

www.streamsolutions.co.uk/embedded

hmmm..still i can't find the answer I'm looking for...are you just too tired or not willing to answer back?

it's not nice when you ask for help and you get a "stupid, use the search function, retarded"

thanx for nothing
doomshine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th March 2007, 22:24   #4
Sawg
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 7,456
Send a message via ICQ to Sawg Send a message via AIM to Sawg Send a message via Yahoo to Sawg
You cannot embed a "Now Playing" script with HTML only. You need to have a server that supports something like PHP.

Winamp cannot be embedded into a Webpage.

| Brought to you by ^V ^C | The one... the original... no seriously!
Sawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th March 2007, 23:15   #5
djSpinnerCee
Forum King
 
djSpinnerCee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Hollis, Queens/The Bronx, NYC
Posts: 3,493
Here's another stick in the fire:

If you have an embedded WMP and a code with the current track, you cannot update the track info without interrupting the embedded player. So any code you find that intends to show track info on the same page as an embedded WMP must be in an iFrame.

A lot of HTML "trix" to learn just for some eye candy... but I guess everyone wants to be like GooTube and kidSpace.
djSpinnerCee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th March 2007, 23:40   #6
gameplaya15143
Major Dude
 
gameplaya15143's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Earth
Posts: 753
Quote:
Originally posted by djSpinnerCee
GooTube and kidSpace.
rofls

Like djSpinnerCee said, use an iframe to show what song is playing.

in your nowplaying.html file, set the refresh back to itself every minute or so. That way the song will update (the shorter the refresh, the more accurate). This can be done with icecast2 very easily. For shoutcast, I'm not so sure.. you might want to look for one of the image generator scripts to do it. www.blueforge.org has one I think (I have not tested it)
gameplaya15143 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2007, 00:50   #7
Thebig429
Senior Member
 
Thebig429's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Right here!
Posts: 358
yea theres will work, i use it look at my signature.

Cadillac Radio
Classic rock from the 60s to the 90s


listen here

Talk Webcasting .com - The Webcaster's Second Home
Thebig429 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2007, 19:52   #8
doomshine
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
great thebig429!!!

woa! how did you do that!!

i've tried the nowplaying to web but the only thing i get is a message on my browser showing the song I'm playing

I know I'm being a pain in the a** but i'm kind of desperate here

I could find the images on blueforge, but not a single link...
do i have to download a plugin or something to make it work?



thanx guys

Last edited by doomshine; 16th March 2007 at 20:08.
doomshine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2007, 20:10   #9
djSpinnerCee
Forum King
 
djSpinnerCee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Hollis, Queens/The Bronx, NYC
Posts: 3,493
The only choice you have is a script that returns an image -- the script would be the src= target of an <img....> tag that appears on the messageboard/blog.

The script will have to be hosted by you somewhere that supports PHP and its socket (fsockopen(), fopen(url) etc...) functions (a lot of PHP hosting does not).

This image will only be current when the board page the tag appears on is loaded or refreshed by the visitor.

Think about what you'll have to go through just to tag a message board. It's probably not really worth the work.
djSpinnerCee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2007, 01:19   #10
Goodtimez
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 70
Amptracker has a "Now Playing" widget that displays the current song and Album art if found. Check it out.

It will only work on pages that support javascript, which as you said your blog does not have, but you may be able to use this on your website.
Goodtimez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2007, 12:26   #11
Thebig429
Senior Member
 
Thebig429's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Right here!
Posts: 358
Yea amptracker is excellent too!
Blue forge forums for help http://www.blueforge.org/forum/

Cadillac Radio
Classic rock from the 60s to the 90s


listen here

Talk Webcasting .com - The Webcaster's Second Home
Thebig429 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2007, 14:01   #12
wrokradiodj
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Electric Ladyland
Posts: 42
Is there anyway to put the AMPTracker thing as a sig in any forums, like this one, like putting it in an iframe? If not are there any now playing sig's for SAM Broadcaster?
wrokradiodj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2007, 16:23   #13
Thebig429
Senior Member
 
Thebig429's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Right here!
Posts: 358
You can do it through blue forge with Sam.
1 Register http://www.blueforge.net/playing/register.php?hl=en
2 Sign in http://www.blueforge.net/playing/login.php?hl=en
3Click on your IDs in control panel then Sign up a new ID
4 after that click on shout cast enter the server info, your long ID numbers & letters is your token.
5 Next go back to Your IDs then hit code . check winamp then
Shoutcast Now Playing Chart: Image Version. Check off style then hit continue to get the code.

Cadillac Radio
Classic rock from the 60s to the 90s


listen here

Talk Webcasting .com - The Webcaster's Second Home
Thebig429 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2007, 20:12   #14
wrokradiodj
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Electric Ladyland
Posts: 42
I already knew that, I want to know if you can put the AMPTracker thing into an iframe and then put it in your sig. If not I'll just do what the big 429 said.
wrokradiodj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2007, 21:24   #15
Nick@ss
Moderator
 
Nick@ss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Streamsolutions Headquarters
Posts: 11,953
you can call an html page with php on in a windows media player if that helps.

eg.. http://www.streamsolutions.co.uk/scripts/Links/ss.asx

this can be found here,,
http://www.streamsolutions.co.uk/index.php?page=scripts

it may be close to what you are looking for
Nick@ss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2007, 01:35   #16
djSpinnerCee
Forum King
 
djSpinnerCee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Hollis, Queens/The Bronx, NYC
Posts: 3,493
The reason "why" you want to be able to produce an image, plain text (with inline PHP) or javascript is because you want to be able to use what your webhost or forum that you want to post to allows -- an HTML image "code" is accepted just about anywhere, but at a price -- PHP scripts that produce images load the host server more than any other method.

Anything that can be placed in any HTML webpage can also be placed in an iFrame (that includes script, embed, and img codes), because it's just a mini HTML page (displayed within aonther HTML page), so all the rules about a webpage apply to it -- the issue is that an iframe (its HTML codes) can't be placed on every page -- ie: you can't use iFrame, script, or embed codes here, in an RSS feed, or on mySpace, so you have to know.

It's not easy -- there are many options, but they're all not gonna work for everyone. There are even options that have never been expressed or explored here, that can work if you take the time to explore them.

Everyone wants codes, codes, codes, and scripts -- it's just not that simple.
djSpinnerCee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2007, 12:44   #17
Rysin109
Senior Member
 
Rysin109's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Scotland, UK.
Posts: 360
Send a message via AIM to Rysin109
It would be easy to make a template with my program (see my sig) and add an HTML iFrame. To make a "Now Playing" template, create an html file with the following HTML Code

code:

<html>

<head>
<title>Now Playing HTML Template</title>
</head>

<body bgcolor="#000000">

<font face="verdana" color = "#FFFFFF">
<b>Now Playing:</b> [[[currentmedia]]]
</body>

</html>


(basically you can edit anything in this HTML file, "[[[currentmedia]]]" will be replaced with the song when Statistics takes the template in and processes it)

Inside Statistics v4, click "Browse" in options under "Display Templates" and find your HTML file... Do not select this template in the selection combo once you have loaded it, just browse it and load it then click cancel on the options.

Now you need to share the HTML file on the HTTP Server which is built into Statistics. To do this, save your address (Tools>Saved Addresses>New"). Type your stream details and check the box which says "Serve the statistics..." Now you'll be asked for a "token". A token is like a directory which will point to the file (case sensitive), so if you type "nowplaying" and choose "Now Playing HTML Template" (unless you changed the title tag in the HTML file), add an iframe to your site which points to http://YourIP:8500/nowplaying ('nowplaying' was the token) - it will show your now playing stats.
Rysin109 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump