Old 10th May 2007, 17:14   #1
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,823
Winamp 5.35 Released

Winamp 5.35
Winamp 5.35 Full
Winamp 5.35 Pro (asks for key during install)
Winamp 5.35 Full emusic/bundle (includes 'The Magic Position by Patrick Wolf' mp3)
Winamp 5.35 Lite (basic mp3/cd player)


What's New

* Improved: Current translation support of core strings and dialogs
* Improved: Correct theming of tabbed dialogs on WinXP+
* Improved: Various misc tweaks/improvements
* Fixed: More tabbing fixes in UI and Preferences
* Fixed: [in_cdda] CDDB crash with non-English characters in user path
* Fixed: [in_cdda] Gapless playback of mix CDs with Sonic Engine
* Fixed: [in_flac] Genre field truncated in Flac Editor
* Fixed: [in_mp3] Incompatibility with musicbrainz tags
* Fixed: [in_mp3] Long stream urls truncated in Alt+3 dialog
* Fixed: [in_mp3] Tracklength not showing for mp3's with large embedded coverart
* Fixed: [in_mp4] MP4 file parsing buffer overflow vulnerability
* Fixed: [in_vorbis] Cancel button in Vorbis Editor
* Fixed: [in_vorbis] Tabbing in Vorbis Editor
* Fixed: [in_wm] Artist and Title fields reversed in WMA Editor
* Fixed: [in_wm] Crash when attempting to play malformed ASX playlists
* Fixed: [ml_local] NOTHAS and != with empty fields
* Fixed: [ml_wire] (4294967295%) in sc wire downloads
* Fixed: [ml_wire] Podcast downloading bug (uninitialized variable error)
* Fixed: [pmp_p4s] Crash on sync/transfers
* Updated: [gen_jumpex] Jump To File Extra v0.99.1b

______________________________________________________________________


Winamp 5.35 Essentials Pack

Mirrors & Changelog

______________________________________________________________________


Notes:

Winamp 5.35 build 1305 (5.3.5.1305)

5.35 is basically a bugfix release.

The MusicIP Mix plugin (ml_xpdxs.dll) has been removed from Winamp while the Winamp team works on a new and improved dynamic playlist recommendation feature. In the meantime, apologies to anyone who used this feature. Sorry. As always, if you have any feedback on how you would like to see this feature evolve, please post your thoughts in the Forums. Thanks for all your great ideas and feedback and keep an eye out for updates.

Note, the plugin is still available at the MusicIP site:
http://www.musicip.com/mixer/index.jsp


Known Issues:

CD Playback & CDDB are broken under Win98/ME (more info)
Note: CD Burning under Win9x was already broken (as from v5.24)


Updates:

If you've been getting an "Error in Insert: 45001 -or- 8002000a" error message when trying to sync/transfer files to your PlaysForSure (P4S) Device (Sansa devices seem to be the most effected), then an updated/fixed pmp_p4s.dll is now available:
Download | More Info


______________________________________________
Old Winamp 5.34 Released thread
Old Winamp 5.34 Beta preview thread
Old Winamp 5.33 Released thread
Old Winamp 5.32 Released thread
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2007, 15:41   #2
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,823
Winamp 5.35 Essentials Pack

Mirror 1 | Mirror 2 | Mirror 3

Installer compiled by Koopatrooper


Changelog:

* New: Nullsoft Waveform Wrapper v1.0
* Improved: [Installer] removed reboot info text from welcome page...
* Fixed: [Installer] fixed tiny typo in English components page
* Updated: [enc_vorbis] fixed tabbing order in preferences (Thanks DrO)
* Updated: [Installer] German, French, Turkish, Polish and Spanish translations
* Updated: [Installer] to NSIS 2.27


Unchanged from 5.34:

* ALAC Decoder
* Find File on Disk
* Playlist Undo
* Lite'N Winamp Prefs
* ML Lite-N
* Skins in Submenu
* Kill Predixis/MusicIP.

Full changelog
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2007, 15:47   #3
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
mmmm bugfixes, got to love em

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2007, 16:39   #4
Cianca
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 336
Again crash and hang when i create a new playlist for my Zen Micro

The universal god of light, love, wisdom and rok n rol
Cianca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2007, 16:54   #5
ParadiseFH
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
No vista fixes makes me a sad boy :'(
ParadiseFH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2007, 16:58   #6
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,823
@Cianca

Again? Where did you report it previously?
Is it using pmp_p4s (2.x firmware) or pmp_njb (1.x firmware)?

@ParadiseFH

Which fixes did you have in mind specifically?
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2007, 17:01   #7
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
ParadiseFH: what Vista fixes are you refering to? and 5.34 had some Vista compatability improvements unless there's something else you'd like to specify as being at fault

-daz

[edit]
doh, beaten by the silent edit
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2007, 18:25   #8
OlexijL
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 101
Send a message via AIM to OlexijL Send a message via Yahoo to OlexijL
Bug in Installer

Hi everybody,

The new version 5.35 of Winamp has a bug in installer. In the dialog to choose the components it says "Custom" and not "Full".
If you have chosen "Custom" you will get all components, if you change to "Full", some components will be disabled or get "unchosen" status.

That means for me that the discription should be changed. If you want to have all components, please choose "Full" and not "Custom".

Please fix that.
OlexijL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2007, 18:30   #9
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,823
It's actually by design. USB Device Support (pmp_usb.dll) and ActiveSync Device Support (pmp_activesunc.dll) are not checked by default, and on purpose, because they are known to cause issues/conflicts under some systems, with certain hardware configurations.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2007, 18:31   #10
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
that sounds like the known issue where it's using the previous mode but sets the text to the custom option. if your last install was a full one then you'd be seeing what you are i believe. it's a gui issue as such and has been like that for a while (though there's far more important issues with the installer than that as it doesn't really affect the install process)

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2007, 18:32   #11
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
Quote:
Originally posted by DrO
mmmm bugfixes, got to love em

-daz
Yeah, thanks "Dev team".
Koopa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2007, 05:00   #12
Logy
Senior Member
 
Logy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Terengganu, Malaysia, Asia, Earth
Posts: 302
Re: Bug in Installer

Quote:
Originally posted by OlexijL
Hi everybody,

The new version 5.35 of Winamp has a bug in installer. In the dialog to choose the components it says "Custom" and not "Full".
If you have chosen "Custom" you will get all components, if you change to "Full", some components will be disabled or get "unchosen" status.

That means for me that the discription should be changed. If you want to have all components, please choose "Full" and not "Custom".

Please fix that.
very interesting design issues!!!!
but when you selct from downlist menu and you click minimal you get full like just full...!!!
just curiosity what minimal for?

The English suffix -logy denotes a field of study or academic discipline.
Logy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2007, 05:16   #13
jmsallo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
NOT HAPPY WITH 5.35!

- "Play Audio CD" from the menu doesn't work
- CDDB is *not* accessed
- Slowdown/skipping of audio CD's when Winamp in background (I just switch to Firefox and 15 sec later the music is slurred!)

As mentioned previously, the 'little TV' button doesn't work... How do I access the 'streams'?

I'm running Win98SE with all the patches (including the recommended WDM patch, just installed) and the Winamp PowerPack 5.35.

I'm back to 5.34 until Winamp works the way to which I am accustomed!
jmsallo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2007, 07:26   #14
alnis
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Latvia
Posts: 3
Hi there!
There is a bug in Winamp since 5.34. When I click on Winamp playlist window, then on some other program's window, and then on Winamp playlist (or taskbar button) again, only the playlist appears topmost, but main window and equalizer is still behind the other program's window.
Looks smth like HERE
I am using Winamp classic interface on XP SP2.
I have Show Winamp in: --> Taskbar & System tray.
BTW, when I minimize Winamp and restore again, this bug is gone for a while.
alnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2007, 08:16   #15
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Quote:
Originally posted by jmsallo
As mentioned previously, the 'little TV' button doesn't work... How do I access the 'streams'?
it's been like that since 5.22 when the media library was split into component parts (ml_* plugins). so you'd need to manually go to the online services section in the media library and then use things from there. there is an intention to find a way to get that working again but if so it'd be a low priority thing.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2007, 08:27   #16
JacknLime
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally posted by DrO
ParadiseFH: what Vista fixes are you refering to? and 5.34 had some Vista compatability improvements unless there's something else you'd like to specify as being at fault.
Going fullscreen in videos is still very jerky in vista. I can't remember the last build that worked with fullscreen in vista (I think it was working for a while at fullscreen in vista tho), but 5.34 and 5.35 are nice and smooth when first opened and the video is at normal size. But as you increase the video player size the video becomes more choppy and full screen is very choppy.

System:
Conroe 6400
2gig ram
vista ultimate.
JacknLime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2007, 08:57   #17
Cianca
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 336
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
@Cianca

Again? Where did you report it previously?
Is it using pmp_p4s (2.x firmware) or pmp_njb (1.x firmware)?
reported here


i don't know what using

The universal god of light, love, wisdom and rok n rol
Cianca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2007, 10:14   #18
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,823
@Cianca

Ohh, I don't look in there for bug reports. I look in the Bug Reports forum.
The only bug we knew about was the crash on sync/transfer,
not anything about a crash/hang when creating a new playlist.

I'm assuming here that your firmware must be 2.x, and therefore the Zen is PlaysForSure compatible and is using the pmp_p4s interface, because my Zen still has 1.x firmware using pmp_njb interface, and I can't reproduce the problem.

The easiest way to confirm is to disable pmp_p4s.dll and then see if your zen is still recognised. If no, then the firmware is 2.x. If yes, then the firmware is 1.x


@JacknLime

With Winamp closed, open winamp.ini in Notepad

Locate the following line under the [Winamp] section

video_gdiplus=

Is it set to video_gdiplus=0 or video_gdiplus=1 ???

1 = enabled // uses GDI+ renderer

0 = disabled (uses Hardware Overlay or DirectDraw method instead, depending on settings in Winamp > Prefs > Video)

Change it to the opposite of whatever yours is currently set to.

Save winamp.ini with your changes then restart Winamp.
Let us know if there's any difference.


Note: under Vista, winamp.ini will be found via:
%appdata%\winamp\winamp.ini

You can type %appdata%\winamp into the Explorer address bar and hit Enter
and it should resolve to one of:
c:\users\<username>\AppData\Roaming\Winamp
c:\users\<username>\AppData\Winamp


@alnis

I can't reproduce that. Anyone else?
Is 'always on top' enabled for Winamp?
Is 'always on top' enabled for that other program you've got running, or for any other programs?


@jmsallo

Oops. Yup, I can confirm that CD Playback is totally borked under Win98.
The only way I can get a CD to play is via:
The Add/Open Folder or File method, and browsing to the CD Drive.
CDDB doesn't work whatsoever.
The Rip & Burn view in the ML never detects the CD (says 'No CD')
Main Menu > Play > Audio CD doesn't work (just clears the playlist).

Hopefully this can be addressed and fixed - assuming we still even support Win9x.

In the meantime, you can use in_cdda.dll from Winamp 5.34 | mirror

Note, I'm not sure if it only behaves this way if the Sonic Engine isn't installed.
I don't have a CD burner on this old text Win9x machine, so I keep Sonic Ripping/Burning Engine unchecked in the Installer Options.
Please could you confirm whether you installed Sonic or not?
(though, as far as I know, Sonic/Burning is also broken under Win9x too).

It's basically not looking too good for Win9x users.
Alas, official support for Win9x is as good as over. Sorry.


The only issue I can reproduce under WinXP is if the CD is playing and you're in, say, the Rip & Burn view in the ML, and then switch to another view with a lot of data, eg. a large stored playlist or the Local Media > Audio view, then there's a slight glitch in playback whilst the new view is loading.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2007, 10:17   #19
k_kolev1985
Member
 
k_kolev1985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 58
Thank you Winamp developers!

HI,

Some time ago, I've reported that in DirectSound's options window, the TAB-ing (navigating with the TAB key in the dialog) was not possible. And some time after, that problem is fixed. I had to wait some time, but it's worth. Now, we (all blind and visually impaired users) can setup DirectSound preferences with no problems using a screen-reader. And again - THANK YOU!

Best wishes!

Sorry if my english is bad, but I think it is better to have something than nothing. SpeechLab 2.0. JAWS for Windows. ABBYY FineReader. LAME encoder. The GodFather (audio file manager).
k_kolev1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2007, 10:41   #20
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
you should find that all of the preference pages should work with tabbing now along with some of the input plugins which didn't work (like out_ds and all of the other ones originally done by pp - though from what i gather there's still some potential quirks with the handling of those plugins with tabbing). i don't envy the poor sod who had to do all of those changes

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2007, 11:12   #21
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,823
Quote:
Originally posted by DrO
i don't envy the poor sod who had to do all of those changes

-daz
^^ Hahahaha. Funniest thing I've heard/read all day - so far, anyway.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2007, 11:51   #22
Cianca
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 336
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
[B]@Cianca

Ohh, I don't look in there for bug reports. I look in the Bug Reports forum.
The only bug we knew about was the crash on sync/transfer,
not anything about a crash/hang when creating a new playlist.

I'm assuming here that your firmware must be 2.x, and therefore the Zen is PlaysForSure compatible and is using the pmp_p4s interface, because my Zen still has 1.x firmware using pmp_njb interface, and I can't reproduce the problem.

The easiest way to confirm is to disable pmp_p4s.dll and then see if your zen is still recognised. If no, then the firmware is 2.x. If yes, then the firmware is 1.x

mmm in fact i'm stupid... i tought that was something related with winamp... my firmware now i see in display "1.11.01" and in fact i disabled pmp_p4s and all is right


please correct my bug

The universal god of light, love, wisdom and rok n rol
Cianca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2007, 12:16   #23
jmbattle
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Hamamatsu, Japan
Posts: 166
Quote:
I'm running Win98SE...
[stops reading]

Really, I would prefer to see time spent improving WinAMP, rather than attempting to find work-arrounds for a dated operating system.

Keep up the good work chaps, cheers!

James
x
jmbattle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2007, 12:24   #24
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
DJ Egg: i'll have to see if i can keep that crown for the rest of the day

jmbattle: i'd prefer to see improvements to Winamp and not WinAMP (since that's an ancient bit of code now ). but yeah, to get more of newer things working, higher base specs are going to be required - is the same with anything like how due to the unicode changes, winamp won't run on win95/nt4 since those just don't support all of the api's needed for valid unicode support in the way that winamp's been coded.

as well, trying to support the win9x group of OSes is a nightmare at the best of times (personally i've just about given up any win9x testing now since it's too much hassle - tho xp gives more than enough issues at times, heh)

i can understand why people will use older OSes, like how i use win2k as my main OS still (though comes in useful for version testing, etc by using something different from others) but in those cases it's time to admit that you can't run the latest of things and have to make that compromise (i know it's possible to get custom winamp installs made from new+older versions but that's a nightmare to control and ensure it's all version checked right)

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2007, 13:51   #25
cormano
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5
here's something different so far: i just want to say thanks for fixing the bug of disappearing tracklengths.

keep on truckin', guys.
cormano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2007, 13:51   #26
jmbattle
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Hamamatsu, Japan
Posts: 166
Thank you DrO, you're a good chap.

Cheers,
James
x
jmbattle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2007, 15:31   #27
ParadiseFH
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally posted by DrO
ParadiseFH: what Vista fixes are you refering to? and 5.34 had some Vista compatability improvements unless there's something else you'd like to specify as being at fault

-daz

[edit]
doh, beaten by the silent edit
"Use skin or language pack font" under "Playlist" preferences doesn't seem to have any effect anymore on classic skins. Can you reproduce that?
ParadiseFH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2007, 16:08   #28
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,823
@ParadiseFH
I don't think that's a Vista-specific issue, because it doesn't seem to have any effect on any skin, classic or modern, and under any Windows OS.

[Edit]

Hmm, or maybe it does. Yeah, my bad, the option is actually still working fine on all OS'es - so I'm not entirely sure what you mean. Sorry.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2007, 16:59   #29
ParadiseFH
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
@ParadiseFH
I don't think that's a Vista-specific issue, because it doesn't seem to have any effect on any skin, classic or modern, and under any Windows OS.
Hmm. I'll double check when I get home and make you some purty screenshots tomorrow.
ParadiseFH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2007, 17:18   #30
jmsallo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally posted by DrO
DJ Egg: as well, trying to support the win9x group of OSes is a nightmare at the best of times (personally i've just about given up any win9x testing now since it's too much hassle - tho xp gives more than enough issues at times, heh)
-daz
Well, at least someone else has issues with XP...

Quote:
i can understand why people will use older OSes, like how i use win2k as my main OS still (though comes in useful for version testing, etc by using something different from others) but in those cases it's time to admit that you can't run the latest of things and have to make that compromise (i know it's possible to get custom winamp installs made from new+older versions but that's a nightmare to control and ensure it's all version checked right)

-daz
Again, glad someone understands why I still run Win98SE:

It is so easy to 'get under the hood' and tweak or fix things; not like XP and that crummy 'Recovery Console'.

Plus it runs *everything* released up to about 2005 and all of my old game favorites without any issues.

I've actually patched to have files greater than 4GB, Universal USB support, DST fix, etc... It's solid and way faster than XP (with all of its bloated overhead).

Anyway, I'm not here to discuss OS merits; 5.34 works fine. I see no mention that Win98SE is no longer supported by Winamp; 5.35 has the issues I mentioned.

'nuf said.
jmsallo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2007, 17:29   #31
will
Nullsoft Newbie (Moderator)
 
will's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sheffield, England
Posts: 5,569
I still think you're wrong. Win98 is a disgusting operating system that should under no circumstances be used in a world where we have real operating systems.

If you like going "under the hood" get linux. If you want to run winamp, get 2k/XP/Vista.

DO NOT PM ME WITH TECH SUPPORT QUESTIONS
will is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2007, 19:19   #32
Yusuke
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to Yusuke Send a message via Yahoo to Yusuke
Quote:
Originally posted by alnis
Hi there!
There is a bug in Winamp since 5.34. When I click on Winamp playlist window, then on some other program's window, and then on Winamp playlist (or taskbar button) again, only the playlist appears topmost, but main window and equalizer is still behind the other program's window.
Looks smth like HERE
I am using Winamp classic interface on XP SP2.
I have Show Winamp in: --> Taskbar & System tray.
BTW, when I minimize Winamp and restore again, this bug is gone for a while.
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
@alnis

I can't reproduce that. Anyone else?
Is 'always on top' enabled for Winamp?
Is 'always on top' enabled for that other program you've got running, or for any other programs?
I've noticed that happening for the last couple versions now, but it doesn't happen that often. I've never posted any kinda bug report about it or anything, cause it never happens often enough for me to be bothered by it.
The only thing i have set to 'always on top' is windows task manager.
Yusuke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2007, 22:10   #33
Chrissyx
Member
 
Chrissyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 63
Send a message via ICQ to Chrissyx
Quote:
Originally posted by jmsallo
I've actually patched to have files greater than 4GB, Universal USB support, DST fix, etc... It's solid and way faster than XP (with all of its bloated overhead).[/B]
I'm also using a patched 98SE, but how did you that 4GB thing?

I like "silly devs"!

At the going down of the sun and in the morning ...
we will remember Winamp ♥
Chrissyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2007, 03:43   #34
jmsallo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally posted by will
I still think you're wrong. Win98 is a disgusting operating system that should under no circumstances be used in a world where we have real operating systems.

If you like going "under the hood" get linux. If you want to run winamp, get 2k/XP/Vista.
Whatever, Will... What do you run? What issues do you have?
(As there is no -perfect- OS!)

I would agree with you that the original Win98 is terrible and that ME is buggy piece of garbage.

But Win98SE is a gem!

I might setup a 2K PC for testing and I will be setting up a Linux box soon, but XP is as bloated as it is buggy (SP2 is almost a complete OS install)! Do you know that every time there is a lightning storm, I am doing a 'System Restore' with my fingers crossed on 2-3 PC's that stop booting at my office?!

And Vista?! You've got to be joking: $300 for an OS that *requires* a 2.5GHz+ Dual Core processor, 1GB RAM, 25GB HD space to install and a $200 graphics adapter JUST TO RUN can't possibly be good for anyone but Wintel... and there are so many pieces of hardware that -don't- work!!!

I have had no issues with Winamp prior to 5.35; just get the 'kinks' out... and stop judging others based on whatever OS they chose to run.
jmsallo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2007, 04:13   #35
jmsallo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
Win98SE Patches

Quote:
Originally posted by Chrissyx
I'm also using a patched 98SE, but how did you that 4GB thing?
I guess I have to PM you, as I can't seem to post anything that resembles a URL here.
jmsallo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2007, 07:27   #36
JacknLime
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
@JacknLime

With Winamp closed, open winamp.ini in Notepad

Locate the following line under the [Winamp] section

video_gdiplus=

Is it set to video_gdiplus=0 or video_gdiplus=1 ???
Mine was set to video_gdiplus=0 and I changed it to video_gdiplus=1 and it made no difference. I remember trying that in 5.34 as well and it made no difference with that version either. The vids are still jerky with it set at 0 or 1 for version 5.35 using vista.

Apart from that 5.35 is nice and dandy
JacknLime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2007, 08:24   #37
pengwynman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally posted by JacknLime
Mine was set to video_gdiplus=0 and I changed it to video_gdiplus=1 and it made no difference. I remember trying that in 5.34 as well and it made no difference with that version either. The vids are still jerky with it set at 0 or 1 for version 5.35 using vista.

Apart from that 5.35 is nice and dandy
I'm having the exact same problem. i'm running vista 32 on a c2d e6600, 2gb ddr2 800 ram. i tried changing video_gdiplus from the default 0 to 1 and i'm still having the same problem, just like JacknLime.

also, i believe videos ran smoothly at fullscreen in 5.33... not positive that's the correct version though. i just remember them running well before i formatted my HDD and reinstalled vista.

Last edited by pengwynman; 17th May 2007 at 09:38.
pengwynman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2007, 11:31   #38
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,823
Hmm, we can't reproduce the video problem under Vista.
Fullscreen playback works fine with both gdi+ and overlay methods.

Is Aero enabled/disabled?

Are you using any extra 3rd-party plugins, or was this a clean install of 5.35 with no 3rd-party plugins?

What are your Advanced settings in Winamp > Prefs > Video?
Are all the overlay and synchronize settings checked (recommended!)?

Got the correct and latest vista-compatible video & audio drivers?

Checked your DirectShow Filters? (the most likely culprit)

For Vista, we recommend using the latest ffdshow tryouts
for decoding all of divx, xvid, h263/4, mpeg2, etc.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2007, 11:43   #39
jmbattle
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Hamamatsu, Japan
Posts: 166
jmsallo,

Give nLite and the RyanVM update pack a try - a fully up-to-date WinXP installation without the bloat.

Anyway, back to the topic at hand...Winamp is great.

Cheers,
James
x
jmbattle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2007, 17:52   #40
pengwynman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
Hmm, we can't reproduce the video problem under Vista.
Fullscreen playback works fine with both gdi+ and overlay methods.

Is Aero enabled/disabled?

Are you using any extra 3rd-party plugins, or was this a clean install of 5.35 with no 3rd-party plugins?

What are your Advanced settings in Winamp > Prefs > Video?
Are all the overlay and synchronize settings checked (recommended!)?

Got the correct and latest vista-compatible video & audio drivers?

Checked your DirectShow Filters? (the most likely culprit)

For Vista, we recommend using the latest ffdshow tryouts
for decoding all of divx, xvid, h263/4, mpeg2, etc.
tried disabling aero, fiddling with video options, i just did a clean install of vista last night, all drivers up to date, latest ffdshow, clean install of 5.35. still no luck.
pengwynman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump