Old 14th August 2006, 19:46   #1
bloodniece
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 9
HOWTO: Stream Traktor DJ Studio to Shoutcast

Audience: Home DJs with 2 computers. One Linux, One Mac or PC.
Goal: Stream from Traktor to Shoutcast.
I'll be using OSX for all example (Windows people can fill in the blanks, there is more DJ streaming software for your platform )

What you'll need:
Traktor on DJ computer

Icecast setup on Linux computer

Shoutcast setup on DJ computer (I prefer this since I can watch the console)
or Shoutcast on Linux box.

Set your NAT to forward your Shoutcast port to the computer hosting Shoutcast.

OSX: Download StreamTranscoder from http://www.oddsock.org/tools/streamTranscoder/. You'll need Curl, libcurl, liblame, libmad, and more. Check the README in the StreamTranscoder folder.

Windows: Use http://www.oddsock.org/tools/streamTranscoderV3/. V3 has a gui for the Windows platform.

Here is how I made it happen:

After installing StreamTranscoder, on the Linux box running Icecast2
In your home folder, in the terminal type:
streamTranscoder -C -c myconfig.cfg
This creates a config file for StreamTranscoder to use.
Terminal:
nano myconfig.cfg
Here is my config.

#
#The source URL for the broadcast. It must be in the form http://serverort/mountpoint. For those servers without a mountpoint (Shoutcast) use http://serverort. To record from line in, use 'linein' for this entry
#
SourceURL=http://localhost:8000/live.ogg

#
#The server to which the stream is sent. It can be a hostname or IP (example: www.stream.com, 192.168.1.100)
#
Server=192.168.1.101

#
#The port to which the stream is sent. Must be a number (example: 8000)
#
Port=8100

#
#This is the encoder password for the destination server (example: hackme)
#
ServerPassword=changeme

#
#This setting tells the destination server to list on any available YP listings. Not all servers support this (Shoutcast does, Icecast2 doesn't) (example: 1 for YES, 0 for NO)
#
ServerPublic=1

#
#This is used in the YP listing, I think only Shoutcast supports this (example: #mystream)
#
ServerIRC=

#
#This is used in the YP listing, I think only Shoutcast supports this (example: myAIMaccount)
#
ServerAIM=

#
#This is used in the YP listing, I think only Shoutcast supports this (example: 332123132)
#
ServerICQ=

#
#The URL that is associated with your stream. (example: http://www.mystream.com)
#
ServerStreamURL=http://www.oddsock.org

#
#A short description of the stream (example: Stream House on Fire!)
#
ServerDescription=This is my server desription

#
#Genre of music, can be anything you want... (example: Rock)
#
ServerGenre=Rock

#
#Used for Icecast/Icecast2 servers, The mountpoint must end in .ogg for Vorbis streams and have NO extention for MP3 streams. If you are sending to a Shoutcast server, this MUST be blank. (example: /mp3, /myvorbis.ogg)
#
ServerMountpoint=

#
#Wether or not oddcast will reconnect if it is disconnected from the destination server (example: 1 for YES, 0 for NO)
#
AutomaticReconnect=0

#
#How long it will wait (in seconds) between reconnect attempts. (example: 10)
#
AutomaticReconnectSecs=10

#
#What format to encode to. Valid values are (OGG, LAME) (example: OGG, LAME)
#
Encode=LAME

#
#The port used for WMA stream (example: 8200)
#
WMAPort=8200

#
#Number of clients to support WMA encoding. (example: 1, 10)
#
WMAClients=5

#
#Number of clients to support WMA encoding. (example: 1, 10)
#
WMAMode=Stereo

#
#Bitrate. This is the mean bitrate if using VBR.
#
BitrateNominal=128

#
#Minimum Bitrate. Used only if using Bitrate Management (not recommended) or LAME VBR(example: 64, 128)
#
BitrateMin=128

#
#Maximum Bitrate. Used only if using Bitrate Management (not recommended) or LAME VBR (example: 64, 128)
#
BitrateMax=128

#
#Number of channels. Valid values are (1, 2). 1 means Mono, 2 means Stereo (example: 2,1)
#
NumberChannels=2

#
#Vorbis Quality Level. Valid values are between -1 (lowest quality) and 10 (highest). The lower the quality the lower the output bitrate. (example: -1, 3)
#
OggQuality=0

#
#Sample rate for the stream. Valid values depend on wether using lame or vorbis. Vorbis supports odd samplerates such as 32kHz and 48kHz, but lame appears to not.feel free to experiment (example: 44100, 22050, 11025)
#
Samplerate=44100

#
#This flag specifies if you want Vorbis Quality or Bitrate Management. Quality is always recommended. Valid values are (Bitrate, Quality). (example: Quality, Bitrate Management)
#
OggBitrateQualityFlag=Quality

#
#This LAME flag indicates that CBR encoding is desired. If this flag is set then LAME with use CBR, if not set then it will use VBR (and you must then specify a VBR mode). Valid values are (1 for SET, 0 for NOT SET) (example: 1)
#
LameCBRFlag=1

#
#A number between 1 and 10 which indicates the desired quality level of the stream. The higher the number, the higher the quality. Also, the higher the number, the higher the CPU utilization. So for slower CPUs, try a low quality number (example: 5)
#
LameQuality=1

#
#Copywrite flag. Not used for much. Valid values (1 for YES, 0 for NO)
#
LameCopywrite=0

#
#Original flag. Not used for much. Valid values (1 for YES, 0 for NO)
#
LameOriginal=0

#
#Strict ISO flag. Not used for much. Valid values (1 for YES, 0 for NO)
#
LameStrictISO=0

#
#Disable Reservior flag. Not used for much. Valid values (1 for YES, 0 for NO)
#
LameDisableReservior=0

#
#This specifies the type of VBR encoding LAME will perform if VBR encoding is set (CBRFlag is NOT SET). See the LAME documention for more on what these mean. Valid values are (vbr_rh, vbr_mt, vbr_mtrh, vbr_abr)
#
LameVBRMode=vbr_abr

#
#Use LAMEs lowpass filter. If you set this to 0, then no filtering is done.
#
LameLowpassfreq=0

#
#Use LAMEs highpass filter. If you set this to 0, then no filtering is done.
#
LameHighpassfreq=0

#
#The destination server type. You must set this correctly otherwise you will get problems connecting the encoder. Please make sure you are using the correct one. Valid values are (Shoutcast, Icecast, Icecast2) (example: Icecast2)
#
ServerType=Shoutcast

#
#If recording from linein, what device to use (not needed for win32) (example: /dev/dsp)
#
AdvRecDevice=/dev/dsp

#
#If recording from linein, what sample rate to open the device with. (example: 44100, 48000)
#
LiveInSamplerate=44100

#
#Used for any window positions (X value)
#
lastX=0

#
#Used for any window positions (Y value)
#
lastY=0

#
#Used for plugins that show the VU meter
#
showVU=0

#
#Flag which indicates we are recording from line in
#
LineInFlag=0

#
#Locked Metadata
#
LockMetadata=

#
#Flag which indicates if we are using locked metadata
#
LockMetadataFlag=0

#
#Save directory for archive streams
#
SaveDirectory=

#
#Flag which indicates if we are saving archives
#
SaveDirectoryFlag=0

#
#Log Level 1 = LOG_ERROR, 2 = LOG_ERROR+LOG_WARNING, 3 = LOG_ERROR+LOG_WARNING+LOG_DEBUG
#
LogLevel=1

#
#Log File
#
LogFile=oddcastv2.log

#
#Save Archives in WAV format
#
SaveAsWAV=0

#
#AAC Quality Level. Valid values are between 10 (lowest quality) and 500 (highest).
#
AACQuality=100

#
#AAC Cutoff Frequency.
#
AACCutoff=




So the source is your Icecast stream from Traktor.
And the server is your Shoutcast server.
Save the file.
Start StreamTranscoder like this:
blood@ubuntu:~$ streamTranscoder -c myconfig.cfg
Stream from Traktor is going to Icecast2, streamTranscoder sends stream to Shoutcast in desired format and bitrate e.g. MP3 or AAC or ???

Cheers.
bloodniece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2006, 19:51   #2
tuckerm
Forum Emo
 
tuckerm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8,365
this has nothing to do with shoutcast
tuckerm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2006, 20:19   #3
Swiftie
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 49
He is attempting to help though. There's been a few topics on asking this particular credit. Credit for doing the work as long as it works of cause
Swiftie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2006, 21:08   #4
bloodniece
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 9
Yes, this does not directly have anything to do with Shoutcast. But this is a common question. It also shows how versatile and useful the Shoutcast DNAS is, so in that sense, it is Shoutcast related. In the end, it is Shoutcast that streams the audio. So, Shoutcast wins!
bloodniece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2006, 13:18   #5
tuckerm
Forum Emo
 
tuckerm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8,365
Traktor, and Ice Cast arn't supported here.

Quote:
He is attempting to help though. There's been a few topics on asking this particular credit. Credit for doing the work as long as it works of cause
This is the first time i've seen it.
tuckerm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2007, 06:06   #6
teh
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2
Firstly, some of your links you provided are unclickable.. Don't know why.

Second thing, is it possible to do this and use a mixer? I've been streaming to icecast and then using winamp to load the stream and then encoding it to my shoutcast server and finding not very successful.
teh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2009, 22:21   #7
deejayrig
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: bay area, calif.
Posts: 4
Send a message via Yahoo to deejayrig
quick question
can you have traktor and shoutcast alone?
windows XP
or do i need to install icecast?
deejayrig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2009, 00:08   #8
fc*uk
Moderator
 
fc*uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Atlantic Beach
Posts: 8,127
No, Traktor only supports icecast. Therefore, you must use icecast.

Again, we are not the support forums for NI's products. You can find that here: http://www.native-instruments.com/in...p?id=forum&L=1
fc*uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2009, 01:10   #9
Brutish Sailor
Major Dude
 
Brutish Sailor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: San Diego CA
Posts: 998
Send a message via Skype™ to Brutish Sailor
Thats pretty cool, but why doesn't this work for that?

The only reason I ask is because I wanted to try put F.Loops
tracks I made via shoutcast.



h t t p ://w w w.streamsolutions.co.uk/flash/New_Tutorials/Decks_mic/

KNSJ.org 89.1 FM San Diego
Brutish Sailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2009, 01:14   #10
fc*uk
Moderator
 
fc*uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Atlantic Beach
Posts: 8,127
Because NI wrote Traktor such that it will only stream to icecast.

When I DJed from traktor I just set SHOUTcast to pickup the line in and use sound from that. Never really liked icecast and had no desire to use it. The fact that Traktor only natively supported icecast was not going to change my mind.

And now I use Torq, which does not support any streaming at all, unless you go back to my soundcard mode idea. Hum, I've regressed!
fc*uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2009, 11:42   #11
Nick@ss
Moderator
 
Nick@ss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Streamsolutions Headquarters
Posts: 11,953
A good 5.1 card and you can use traktor with cueing headphones / a main output and shoutcast and have used it for many years in the method stated above,

good old soundcard mode.. works for me .. and you can use any siftware you like in soundcard mode. (as long as your not a victim of vista)

oh and windows 7 will be out this year i wonder if they will have fixed it!! (i doubt it)
Nick@ss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2009, 13:33   #12
fc*uk
Moderator
 
fc*uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Atlantic Beach
Posts: 8,127
Interesting way of doing it. I never thought of splitting up the channels on the sound card --- I just went for what is easy!

I've got the Windows 7 beta and have been playing around with it. Microsoft is releasing the beta to an unlimited number of people from about a week ago to near the end of this month. I dunno how this effects you UK folks as to if you can download it or not.

Anyway, my point being, as I said in my previous post, I am using Torq now. Torq + Windows 7 = BAD. I can't get Torq to even install for me. I'll dig out my Traktor install CD (v. 3.3 I think) and see if I can give that a go tonight.
fc*uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2009, 06:47   #13
deejayrig
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: bay area, calif.
Posts: 4
Send a message via Yahoo to deejayrig
wow
im glad i read a decent recent thread
all threads i found on the subject are from 2005
this is what i need maybe one of you can help me:

i have traktor installed

winamp, shoutcast and that's it

i downloaded icecast but i dont know the configs too well

<!-- This config file contains a minimal set of configurable parameters,
and mostly just contains the things you need to change. We created
this for those who got scared away from the rather large and heavily
commented icecast.xml.dist file. -->
<icecast>
<limits>
<sources>2</sources>
</limits>
<authentication>
<source-password>hackme</source-password>
<relay-password>hackme</relay-password>
<admin-user>admin</admin-user>
<admin-password>hackme</admin-password>
</authentication>

<hostname>localhost</hostname>
<listen-socket>
<port>8000</port>
</listen-socket>
<fileserve>1</fileserve>
<paths>
<logdir>./logs</logdir>
<webroot>./web</webroot>
<adminroot>./admin</adminroot>
<alias source="/" dest="/status.xsl"/>
</paths>
<logging>
<accesslog>access.log</accesslog>
<errorlog>error.log</errorlog>
<loglevel>3</loglevel> <!-- 4 Debug, 3 Info, 2 Warn, 1 Error -->
</logging>
</icecast>


i dont want to mess anything up
deejayrig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2009, 15:37   #14
Nick@ss
Moderator
 
Nick@ss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Streamsolutions Headquarters
Posts: 11,953
This is icecast as as mentioned above not supported here,

you need to be at the icecast forums for icecast support.

http://icecast.imux.net/
Nick@ss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2012, 19:20   #15
Xabyte
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4
I came across this thread while attempting to do this exact same thing.....(was not trying to use two pcs or any thing as elaborate. All from one pc).......

What is needed in the configuration that I found is this:
Win Amp 5.6.3 >
Shoutcast DSP Encoder Plugin
Traktor DJ Studio 3
Icecast 2

Windows 7 Computer

OS Name Microsoft Windows 7 Professional
Version 6.1.7601 Service Pack 1 Build 7601
Other OS Description Not Available
OS Manufacturer Microsoft Corporation
System Name LCHMST-PC
System Manufacturer ASUSTEK COMPUTER INC
System Model P5W DH Deluxe
System Type x64-based PC
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU 6300 @ 1.86GHz, 1869 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 2 Logical Processor(s)
BIOS Version/Date American Megatrends Inc. 2206, 7/24/2007
SMBIOS Version 2.4

Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 6.00 GB
Total Physical Memory 6.00 GB
Available Physical Memory 1.15 GB
Total Virtual Memory 12.0 GB
Available Virtual Memory 6.61 GB
Page File Space 6.00 GB
Page File C:\pagefile.sys

The configuration is pretty straight forward. First installed WinAmp 5.6.3. I then installed the DSP Plugin for Shoutcast configuring it to the Shoutcast server information that was supplied when I signed up for the free stream hosting.

Traktor DJ Studio 3 was already installed on my computer so it was a matter of configuring it to stream my sets. I installed IceCast 2 and checked to see that it was broadcasting and had at least one client connection when the broadcast button in Traktor was engaged.

I am streaming to port 8000 on the loopback address 127.0.0.1: and the Mountpoint is /stream.ogg , passworrd: hackme...........(TRAKTOR DJ STUDIO 3 SETTINGS)

Open the Icecast Streaming Server page to verify connection http://127.0.0.1:8000/admin/. To broadcast the stream to shoutcast, you can either click the m3u (playlist) link at top of the page (provided winamp is your default media player). Or you can type in the the link http://127.0.0.1:8000/ into the open URL field of the player.

Make sure that you are logged in to the Shoutcast server and that the Shoutcast DSP Plugin can connect to the server. Mute the Player and the Webstream if you are listening from webplayer. You can log in from a remote computer or have a friend stream the broadcast to verify that the connection is established.

That's it Enjoy.

***NOTE THAT THIS CONFIGURATION IS STRICTLY FOR WINDOWS OS AND DOES NOT REQUIRE A SECOND LINUX BASED SYSTEM TO STREAM THE BROADCAST.

***KNOWN ISSUES WITH THIS CONFIGURATION IS THAT TRAKTOR CRASHES WHEN NOT STREAMING OR WHEN IT IS IDLE WITHIN 10 SECS OF PLAYING THE LAST SONG.....(THIS ISSUE MAY BE PECULIAR TO MY SYSTEM/CONFIGURATION. A RE INSTALLATION OF TRAKTOR IS SLATED WHICH MAY SOLVE THE PROBLEM)
Xabyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2012, 19:41   #16
Xabyte
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4
Just a thought.....

Maybe the post should have been called "streaming an icecast stream to a shoutcast server". Just a thought

Would that then make it supportable in this forum??



But aside from that has anyone else tried this configuration?
Xabyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2012, 19:51   #17
Xabyte
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4
You will also need the DNAS 2 Server software/Plugin installed on your computer.

http://www.shoutcast.com/broadcast-tools
Xabyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2012, 21:16   #18
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
and for a summary for anyone reading the above posts, it's just transcoding the OGG stream to MP3 so it's then SHOUTcast compatible (and has been posted / talked about many many times over the years).

Xabyte: i don't get what you mean by "Would that then make it supportable in this forum??"

also please check the dates of when a thread was last posted in as you've posted in a thread started in 2006 and last had a posted made in 2009 (so 6 and 3 years old respectively).

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2013, 08:37   #19
Xabyte
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4
"This is icecast as as mentioned above not supported here,

you need to be at the icecast forums for icecast support."........Nick@ss
(this is what I was referring to)


Thanks Daz.....I realize that its an old post but it was relevant to what I was working on at the time.....Since it seemed to be a hot topic just thought I would add my two-cents in as it might be helpful to someone else trying to accomplish something similar.

I actually came across the Traktor configuration on another site.......ie.address: 127.0.0.1 Port: 8000 Mountpath: /stream.ogg. Not sure what gave me the idea of broadcasting the the Loopback address, local host to Winamp, but obviously that is the intended method or technique for doing so or one of the acceptable ways for achieving this. As it is an old post I am sure someone has attempted the same or similar in the past.

As i am now beginning to delve into online streaming, the post was very timely for me. it was like finding a trail of breadcrumbs........

Xabyte
Xabyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump