Old 13th September 2001, 00:56   #1
Punkers
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to Punkers Send a message via Yahoo to Punkers
Good place to post comments for next version

Hey, I just wanted to make space for some suggestions to the makers of AVS. I figure a colletive of constructive critism would be good for the product.
First of all, I would like the thing to show the equations for the preset movements, I can't tell how many times I've wanted to modify the sunburster or shifted swirl with having to resort to layed movements(which does some damage to the fps).

and honestly, what can you do on the DDM that can't be done on DM? frankly I still have no Idea what the DDM does.

Also, is there anyway they could make the docking window resizable. That would save a lot more space so you're not making adjustments, looking, making more adjustments ect.

Where the hell do you get APE's? Is fireworks and visfractal all you get? and it would be great if the fireworks and visfractal were more customizable.

And for christ's sake, why does pimping have to be such a process, couldn't they make a better program where you just click and drag? I'd hate to complain about it, but that's the only thing keeping me from posting my AVSes on here. frankly I think you'd all like them, huge variety.

I'll let you guys sort out the other problems, and if you must chew me out, please do it without making me seem like an ignoramus.
Punkers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th September 2001, 02:43   #2
rarefluid
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I agree...

I agree with you in the things you suggested.

I would also like to have presets doing a check if the components they need are available (functions, pictures, videos), to stop winamp from crashing then. The plugins not working should simply be skipped.

But about PIMPin... I made an installer and uninstaller using the NSIS and this thing really kicks butt! It lets you do (nearly) everything you can think of. You have to spend some time on writing and testing the script, but when it works it compresses well and is really simple to use.
You have to dive into NSIS before, but if you understood it once, you can make great packages!

KIM
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th September 2001, 13:33   #3
transfrmr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 157
bang on.

I definitely agree with those.

Maybe also a playlist-type menu for the presets. Imagine having all the flexibility of a Winamp music playlist, but to use with the presets.

Maybe there should also be some modes other than random for cycling through presets, i.e. forwards, backwards, every second one.. etc.

AVS is great, but can get better still!
transfrmr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2001, 15:40   #4
Doggy Dog
Canis Sapiens
(Reviewer)
 
Doggy Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Split, Croatia
Posts: 1,832
Send a message via ICQ to Doggy Dog
They should enable the mouse wheel when browsing presets.
Doggy Dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2001, 17:49   #5
Scarface2k1
Banned
 
Scarface2k1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: i dont get out much so i dont remember
Posts: 1,032
Send a message via ICQ to Scarface2k1 Send a message via AIM to Scarface2k1 Send a message via Yahoo to Scarface2k1
id like those too.

how bout DirectDraw support?
Scarface2k1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2001, 23:50   #6
napolean
Junior Member
 
napolean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Portugal
Posts: 48
Send a message via ICQ to napolean
another Idea

and how about a BETTER and more simple "expression help" ?????
because there are some compiler functions that I really DONT UNDERSTAND !!
napolean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2001, 17:34   #7
Scarface2k1
Banned
 
Scarface2k1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: i dont get out much so i dont remember
Posts: 1,032
Send a message via ICQ to Scarface2k1 Send a message via AIM to Scarface2k1 Send a message via Yahoo to Scarface2k1
try this:
code:
x=sin(t)*cos(i*t);
y=cos(v)*sin(t);


use this in a superscope at n=100 have line drawing and at eitherwaveform or specturm analizing
Scarface2k1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2001, 23:28   #8
napolean
Junior Member
 
napolean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Portugal
Posts: 48
Send a message via ICQ to napolean
WHAT IS THAT FOR ???

Why Shoul I try that ??? I know how to make very good superscopes
my avs pack -> NApoleAN AVS Pack
, i was talking about some compiler functions, like GETOSC, GETSPEC, IF, bor, bnot, sigmoid, and BAND. I think Im not the only one that dont know what the hell are that functions for..........
napolean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2001, 23:32   #9
Scarface2k1
Banned
 
Scarface2k1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: i dont get out much so i dont remember
Posts: 1,032
Send a message via ICQ to Scarface2k1 Send a message via AIM to Scarface2k1 Send a message via Yahoo to Scarface2k1
oh ok, thats what u ment, i thought u wanted some examples or what not.
Scarface2k1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2001, 19:40   #10
rradikal
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 39
dm vs dm and other features that seem to be "useless"

i also was wondering why there are fx that duplicate functions of others ...
but finally i've got a conclusion.
it's for comptibility purposes.
nullsoft can't remove any old fx (like simple, osc star or movement) even if it's easy to make them using other fx, because you couldn't
load anymore old presets. of coz they could code somethin for on-fly
conversion but what for?

anyway creating this thread was a good idea ...

features i miss are:
- color palette cycle,
- on-beat active effects-lists (but i heard they are already coded),
- next-prev buttons active all the time,
- on beat active brightness channels,
- multiplier of skip in custom bpm which would be smaller than 1,
- jpeg,animated gif,mpeg,mov,swf support,
- and some more i can't recall in this moment ... have to find my notes,

hope to find some of these soon in new winamp!

rradikal
rradikal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2001, 19:52   #11
Scarface2k1
Banned
 
Scarface2k1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: i dont get out much so i dont remember
Posts: 1,032
Send a message via ICQ to Scarface2k1 Send a message via AIM to Scarface2k1 Send a message via Yahoo to Scarface2k1
well okay. i can help you with one thing here. the color palette, at least in the superscope anyway.

in the per point section just have this while keeping in mid of having the main color to stay as white:
code:

red=cos(x-t);
blue=sin(y+t);
green=cos(x-y);


thats just an example you can chage this but this WILL change the color on a superscope
Scarface2k1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2001, 20:17   #12
rradikal
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 39
thanx a lot

yeah, this one is good enuff to fit my requirements.
with some fx list it'll be good also for bitmap cyclin ...

thx again!

rradikal
rradikal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2001, 21:16   #13
rradikal
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 39
i've got new one!
prev/next keys and hotkeys active in overlay mode ...
yeah, i know that i'm pretty boring with requestin this but i really
need it for my performances ...
other option would be possibility of switchin to avs window by pressin alt+tab ...

cheers

rradikal
rradikal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2001, 15:36   #14
transfrmr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 157
Definitely!

I feel your pain rradical!

I've found a way to get around it. If you run two video cards, you can run AVS windowed on the second card and select the window at the edge of your screen. Then the Hotkeys will function. I'm pretty sure that the hotkeys not functionning is somehow related to the problem I describe below. If the Avs window would stay "open" as a tab at the bottom of the screen of it's own as it does when winamp minimizes and Overlay mode isn't on, this would make the problem easier to avoid.

I sort of got around this by using a two-monitor setup where one monitor is my main desktop and the second is a secondary desktop which is where I run the AVS window fullscreen to display through the projector. This way you pick where you want the second desktop to be(top, bottom, right, left) and just run the mouse off the main scren to get to it. If you bring the mouse just to the edge of the screen you can "select" the displaying window without the mouse showing up. All you need is a motherboard that has AGP and PCI slots, I'm running a 3dProphet II mx as the main card and an Ati mach 64 as the secondary with the TV-out.


Have you also noticed that there is a small glitch? If you're running AVS in a window and running it in overlay mode, the AVS window will minimise with Winamp regardless of the "do no minimize on winamp minimise" option being checked. Perhaps it's not a glitch, perhaps it's necessary, but it really would be great if you could still select whether it minimized or not with the overlay running.
transfrmr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2001, 16:44   #15
Lucid DM
Eat, skin, sleep. Repeat.
(Major Dude)
 
Lucid DM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: all over the place.
Posts: 1,490
Send a message via AIM to Lucid DM
Y'know the text that comes up when the song changes? It's just a little thing but I'd like to be able to change the font for that. When I've got avs running on my TV (ie. *big*) during a partaay, the default font looks boring.
Lucid DM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2001, 16:44   #16
Scarface2k1
Banned
 
Scarface2k1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: i dont get out much so i dont remember
Posts: 1,032
Send a message via ICQ to Scarface2k1 Send a message via AIM to Scarface2k1 Send a message via Yahoo to Scarface2k1
Re: thanx a lot

Quote:
Originally posted by rradikal
yeah, this one is good enuff to fit my requirements.
with some fx list it'll be good also for bitmap cyclin ...

thx again!

rradikal
ok try this one, this is what im making an exclusive from BlurPak 10 (one of packs i do )

color changing spirl graph fun
Attached Files
File Type: zip color changing spirl graph fun.zip (452 Bytes, 220 views)
Scarface2k1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2001, 16:49   #17
Scarface2k1
Banned
 
Scarface2k1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: i dont get out much so i dont remember
Posts: 1,032
Send a message via ICQ to Scarface2k1 Send a message via AIM to Scarface2k1 Send a message via Yahoo to Scarface2k1
Quote:
Originally posted by Lucid DM
Y'know the text that comes up when the song changes? It's just a little thing but I'd like to be able to change the font for that. When I've got avs running on my TV (ie. *big*) during a partaay, the default font looks boring.
i should do that some time
Scarface2k1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2001, 17:02   #18
rradikal
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 39
great idea Transfrmr!

i've been using Winamp on 2 video cards since few months but haven't noticed that edge stuff - i was always loading the presets. bueee :-P
thanx!
rradikal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Visualizations > AVS

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump