Old 2nd February 2011, 17:54   #1
Vjeetn
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5
Winamp goes bezerk when using keyboard hotkeys

Hello,

Recently I updated to the newer version (v5.601) and now when I use my keyboard hotkeys i.e. next button Winamp doesn't just go forward 1 song but keeps going and gets into a loop.
Sometimes it randomly stops and sometimes it keeps going forever.

I'm positive that it's not my keyboard buttons that got stuck or anything as it also happens when selecting previous song.

This only started happening since the Winamp update so I suspect it's Winamp's fault.

I'm using a Cherry eVolution Stream XT corded keyboard.
http://www.cherry.de/english/product...a_Keyboard.htm

OS: Win 7

Is there a previous version of Winamp available somewhere?
I'm using those hotkeys a lot so it's very annoying for me.

Thanks.

EDIT: OMG! Just downgraded Winamp and the problem persists
There must be something else conflicting with Winamp or something?

EDIT2: Using Media Player I don't get this problem so it must be Winamp or another program conflicting with it.

Last edited by Vjeetn; 2nd February 2011 at 19:57.
Vjeetn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2011, 09:51   #2
Vjeetn
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5
FFS, nothing but trouble.
I deinstalled the keyboard hotkey plugin and now I can't even install it manually even though I got a copy of the dll. Grrr
Why the f* is Winamp suddenly giving me all this trouble with the hotkeys. It worked before!!!


Here are my PC specs btw:

OS: Win 7
QuadCore Q6600 G0 @ 2.4Ghz
Nvidea Geforce 8800 GTS OC 640MB
I'm using latest Winamp version downloaded from its website.
DirectX is fully up to date.
Vjeetn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2011, 20:49   #3
Vjeetn
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5
Looks like winamp support is
Vjeetn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2011, 21:07   #4
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
what hotkey plug-in? also where's the plug-in list (is required and is stated threads will be ignored if not provided, etc) -> http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....161361#plugins ?

most support is provided by volunteers so unless all information is provided and people are around to look, there's never any guarantee of a response.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2011, 20:07   #5
Vjeetn
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5
I'm sorry, I didn't see that topic.
Thx for replying with this link.

I attached the my_plugin_list.txt
Motherboard: Gigabyte P35C-DS3R
CPU&RAM: Intel QuadCore Q6600 G0 @ 2.40Ghz // 4GB RAM
Soundcard or chip: Realtek chip (onboard)
Videocard: GeForce 8800 GTS OC 640MB
OS: Win 7 32bit v6.1 Build 7600
DirectX: v11
Winamp: v5.601 (latest) (Full package I think, not pro)

After looking again I don't think it has anything to do with the hotkey plugin as that is meant for using keyboard combinations (such as numeric pad).

The problem I'm experiencing has to do with the hotkeys on my keyboard itself (top) (see link in previous post for keyboard).

I had not yet updated to the latest version of Winamp (used previous version for a while) but got a popup saying a newer one was available so I downloaded it and upgraded.
That's when the problem started although downgrading to a previous version doesn't help either anymore.

Whenever I press the next or previous hotkey button on my keyboard Winamp seems to get in to a loop. So instead going one song ahead it keeps going and going.
If you want I can make a video of it and upload to YouTube.

If you need any further details, let me know.

Thanks for your time!
Attached Files
File Type: txt my_plugin_list.txt (21.0 KB, 197 views)
Vjeetn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2011, 09:58   #6
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
nothing jumps out from the plug-in list. only thing i'd possibly try would be reverting to the en-us language and if need by trying things in classic skin. other than that, maybe something is hooking into the Winamp process and causing the re-sending of the message (though normally it's things being prevented like nVidia's nView used to do rather than causing a duplication of the messages).

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2011, 15:10   #7
Vjeetn
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5
Ok, thanks for your input.
I think I'll reinstall my Windows somewhere soon as I'm experiencing the weirdest things lately...
Icons go missing and suddenly come back is just one of them.
Spyware/virus is the first thing wich will probably come in to mind but I doubt it.
I recently had a messed up Master Boot Record and some stuff has been changed, since then I started to get problems (although not too serious) so this might be causing probs with Winamp as well.

If the prob persist after a reinstall I'll report back.
Vjeetn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Bug Reports

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump