Old 18th January 2001, 09:57   #1
Anakha
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Okay, here's the deal.
I'm running the following:
  • Windows NT SP6a
  • Microsoft Siteserver Commerce Edition SP4
  • MSSQL Server 7 SP Latest (I can't remember, k?)
  • Creative Labs AWE64 Gold ISA (With latest NT drivers)
  • IE 5.00.3105.0106 (IE 5)
  • Zone Labs Zone Alarm
  • PCAnywhere 9.2
  • AT&T Cambridge Labs VNC
  • PGP 6.0.2
  • Getright
  • Winamp 2.666 (And all sub-versions higher)

And when winamp comes across this file (either by playing or by indexing the directory) I get the following error messages:

Followed by

(Removing this plugin doesn't make any difference)

Thoughts:
Could this be some kind of Winamp/NTFS problem?
Could there be a problem with the MP3 file itself?

This file WORKS in any copy of Winamp below version 2.666 (I roll back to 2.65 when a newer version still don't help). So it's something introduced by either the new MP3 decoder, or by ID3v2 support.

Help, guys!
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2001, 10:16   #2
Twilightseer
Frenchoderator
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Lavabo, fond du couloir, 3è porte à droite
Posts: 6,309
Version 2.666 was clearly not the best version of Winamp. The mp3 decoder has been fixed many times since then. Try using the latest version (2.72) which has just been released and tell us what happens.
Twilightseer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2001, 10:22   #3
Anakha
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally posted by Twilightseer
Version 2.666 was clearly not the best version of Winamp. The mp3 decoder has been fixed many times since then. Try using the latest version (2.72) which has just been released and tell us what happens.
EXACTLY the same thing. It's been doing it with every version since (and including) 2.666 (And the 2.65 U2 version, which also had the new decoder in it, although it was never advertised/mentioned)
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2001, 10:26   #4
Twilightseer
Frenchoderator
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Lavabo, fond du couloir, 3è porte à droite
Posts: 6,309
Do you have any other files that cause that kind of bug ? I don't know how many mp3s you've got, but if this one is only one out of 100 to cause the crash, then it's probably the file which is at fault here.
Twilightseer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2001, 10:28   #5
Anakha
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally posted by Twilightseer
Do you have any other files that cause that kind of bug ? I don't know how many mp3s you've got, but if this one is only one out of 100 to cause the crash, then it's probably the file which is at fault here.
There are more, but with a playlist of 2800 files, It's a bit difficult to dig 'em out... I'll see if I can find some more for you...
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2001, 10:30   #6
Twilightseer
Frenchoderator
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Lavabo, fond du couloir, 3è porte à droite
Posts: 6,309
Did you create those mp3s from CDs or did you download them from Napster or something like that ? If you noticed that all the faulty mp3s were dwonloaded ones, then, again, it would be a file problem.
Twilightseer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2001, 10:41   #7
Anakha
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Found killing files...

Any one of the files within these directories make Winamp die...

Any help?
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2001, 10:44   #8
Anakha
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally posted by Twilightseer
Did you create those mp3s from CDs or did you download them from Napster or something like that ? If you noticed that all the faulty mp3s were dwonloaded ones, then, again, it would be a file problem.
They were downloaded from mp3.com, but the thing I find strange is that Winamp 2.666+ is the only player to choke on them. Sonique and WMP all play them fine, as do the older versions of Winamp, and all the MP3 verification tools I can find all say they're okay...

The files are located on a remote shared folder, could this be contributing to the problem (I don't see how, but you never know)...
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2001, 11:32   #9
Twilightseer
Frenchoderator
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Lavabo, fond du couloir, 3è porte à droite
Posts: 6,309
I downloaded one of the tracks directly from mp3.com
(Passive thought remix). No problem at all, it plays perfectly. I guess some of your files may have got damaged or corrupted when uploaded to the server.
Twilightseer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2001, 11:47   #10
Anakha
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally posted by Twilightseer
I downloaded one of the tracks directly from mp3.com
(Passive thought remix). No problem at all, it plays perfectly. I guess some of your files may have got damaged or corrupted when uploaded to the server.
But even so, shouldn't Winamp be able to cope with this? It seems that every other player can (And does)... I'll see if I can dig out any more...
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2001, 11:57   #11
Anakha
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Found some more

These two and these onesalso kill Winamp, and it's not just playing. If I try and add the directory to the playlist it fails... I'm just going to check to see if it's the ID3 tags causing the problem...

  Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2001, 12:01   #12
Anakha
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Okay, Winamp'll read the file in (If "Read info" is set to "Play"), and I can bring up the ID3 tag (ALT-3 in the playlist. As soon as I hit play, Winamp dies, BUT the track plays in the background!

The plot grows thicker...

I have my "Title" settings set to:
"%1 - %2 %5<a href="aboutsong.asp?%1~%2~%5~%3">...</a>"
With "Use ID3v1/v2 tags" enabled.

Any suggestions now?
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2001, 12:37   #13
Twilightseer
Frenchoderator
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Lavabo, fond du couloir, 3è porte à droite
Posts: 6,309
This is tough.
Get MPTagger
Install it, launch it and open one of your "kill-Winamp" files. Remove the tag and then try playing the stripped file.
Tell me what happens.
Also, do some of your files contain pictures in their ID3v2 ?

[Edited by Twilightseer on 01-18-2001 at 09:12 AM]
Twilightseer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2001, 14:05   #14
Anakha
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally posted by Twilightseer
This is tough.
Get MPTagger
Install it, launch it and open one of your "kill-Winamp". Remove the tag and then try playing the stripped tag.
Tell me what happens.
Also, do some of your files contain pictures in their ID3v2 ?
The file now works! What fun!

Oh, and they do (did) have pictures in their ID3v2 tags... Does this make a big difference?
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2001, 14:09   #15
Twilightseer
Frenchoderator
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Lavabo, fond du couloir, 3è porte à droite
Posts: 6,309
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Anakha
Quote:
Oh, and they do (did) have pictures in their ID3v2 tags... Does this make a big difference?
Yes, other users already reported that files having pictures in their ID3v2 tags caused problems in Winamp.
There is something you can try: get a file which still has its tag (if you still have one) and try removing the pictures only. Then, try playing it. If it works, then this is the solution Ohterwise, it seems like you will have to remove all ID3 tags from your files. But if they play then, I guess it can still be considered as a victory
Twilightseer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2001, 14:17   #16
Anakha
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally posted by Twilightseer
Yes, other users already reported that files having pictures in their ID3v2 tags caused problems in Winamp.
There is something you can try: get a file which still has its tag (if you still have one) and try removing the pictures only. Then, try playing it. If it works, then this is the solution Ohterwise, it seems like you will have to remove all ID3 tags from your files. But if they play then, I guess it can still be considered as a victory
Sounds like it. Any ideas when they're going to sort that out in in_mp3.dll?
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2001, 14:19   #17
Twilightseer
Frenchoderator
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Lavabo, fond du couloir, 3è porte à droite
Posts: 6,309
Are you referring to the picture problem or the full tag problem ?
Twilightseer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2001, 15:42   #18
Anakha
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally posted by Twilightseer
Are you referring to the picture problem or the full tag problem ?
Both, and incidentally, the South Park MP3's DIDN'T have pictures...
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2001, 15:44   #19
Twilightseer
Frenchoderator
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Lavabo, fond du couloir, 3è porte à droite
Posts: 6,309
Seems to happen only on some systems, though.
Twilightseer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2001, 03:19   #20
Winsane
Moderator Alumni
 
Winsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: U.S. (eastern time zone)
Posts: 2,598
I just tried "12 Mountain Town (Reprise) - The People of South Park.mp3", "_100___go_ste_.mp3", and "move_you.mp3", and all three worked just fine for me.
Do you have any other 3rd-party plug-ins installed that might be causing the problem?
Winsane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2001, 11:37   #21
Anakha
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally posted by Winsane
I just tried "12 Mountain Town (Reprise) - The People of South Park.mp3", "_100___go_ste_.mp3", and "move_you.mp3", and all three worked just fine for me.
Do you have any other 3rd-party plug-ins installed that might be causing the problem?
No. I've tried a base install (No plugins apart from the ones provided by Nullsoft in the Winamp Distro) and it still falls over royally.
  Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2001, 16:00   #22
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
So, you've removed Album List (general purpose plugin), but you're still getting errors?
What does the error message state now exactly, or is it just a freeze?

Try removing all references to Album List from your winamp.ini & plugin.ini files.
Also, goto : "Prefs -> Plugins" & click "Flush Plug-in name cache" button.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2001, 01:30   #23
Anakha
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally posted by DJEgg
So, you've removed Album List (general purpose plugin), but you're still getting errors?
What does the error message state now exactly, or is it just a freeze?

Try removing all references to Album List from your winamp.ini & plugin.ini files.
Also, goto : "Prefs -> Plugins" & click "Flush Plug-in name cache" button.
Basically, I uninstalled Winamp and removed the firdvtory completely before re-installing. Hence, a "Bare" install.

And the error message says the same thing, but the title's "Winamp Playlist: winamp.exe" instead of "Winamp Album List: winamp.exe". Same error message, although the memory locations move around (Although the Instruction location is always the same as the Memory location on the first error, even if they're not 0x00000000, IYSWIM)
  Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2001, 02:17   #24
Winsane
Moderator Alumni
 
Winsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: U.S. (eastern time zone)
Posts: 2,598
What the heck is a firdvtory?
Winsane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2001, 13:27   #25
Anakha
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally posted by Winsane
What the heck is a firdvtory?
It's "Directory" misspelled late at night on a laptop keyboard.
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2001, 13:29   #26
Twilightseer
Frenchoderator
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Lavabo, fond du couloir, 3è porte à droite
Posts: 6,309
Were you really that tired ?
Twilightseer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2001, 13:32   #27
Anakha
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally posted by Twilightseer
Were you really that tired ?
It was about 3:00am, and I had to get up at 5 to get into work. Yeah, I was that tired!

And a damned laptop keybag (Intentional) really don't help when you can't see straight and you're browsing the forums.
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2001, 13:34   #28
Twilightseer
Frenchoderator
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Lavabo, fond du couloir, 3è porte à droite
Posts: 6,309
These forums are addictive, for sure
Twilightseer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2001, 13:38   #29
Anakha
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
You got that right. And we're moving into the realms of "General Discussions"... So, d'yknow if they're gonna sort this, or just leave it out for WA3.0
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2001, 13:40   #30
Twilightseer
Frenchoderator
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Lavabo, fond du couloir, 3è porte à droite
Posts: 6,309
What you should do, imho, is post a topic in the Bug Report forum, with a link to the topic here. This is the thing to do to make sure the Nullsoft team will look at it.
Twilightseer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2001, 13:44   #31
Anakha
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
AFAICS, this IS the "Bug Report" forum.
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2001, 13:47   #32
Twilightseer
Frenchoderator
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Lavabo, fond du couloir, 3è porte à droite
Posts: 6,309
My mistake, I could have sworn we were in Gen Disc
So, your work is done. I'm sure the guys now know about this problem.
Twilightseer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Bug Reports

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump