Old 15th May 2002, 15:37   #1
jeff evans
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Northport,NY
Posts: 6
Output plugins don't seem to work....

I'm running Winamp v2.80 in Windows XP Pro. None of the output plugins I have installed seem to work.

For example...I select Chun-Yu's MP3 writer plugin-in and configure it. But when I play the selection I want to encode it plays real time through my sound card rather than being written to an .mp3 file.

Any help/suggestion's please?

TIA

--jeff
jeff evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2002, 16:13   #2
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,824
Let's hazard a wild guess...
You're trying to rip AudioCD's with Winamp, yes?

TSGH -> AudioCD to WAV / MP3

Basically, you need to replace the default in_cdda.dll plugin with CDReader
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2002, 20:58   #3
jeff evans
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Northport,NY
Posts: 6
Ah...yep. That's what I'm trying to do.

Thanks for the prompt answer. I'll try the fix as soon as I have a minute.

--jeff
jeff evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2002, 21:28   #4
guitguy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 8
same with me...

I'm having the same problem. I've downloaded the cd reader thingy...but it just won't play for me and an error message pops up about some Input/output device problem.
guitguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2002, 21:37   #5
jeff evans
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Northport,NY
Posts: 6
I always try to avoid reinventing the wheel when someone else has already done it.

I'm going to try one or two of the apps that Sawg 2.0 recommended in his well written article before I dig in and try to make Winamp do what I want to get done.

I'll try to report back with success or failure either way.

--jeff
jeff evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2002, 21:45   #6
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,824
Yes, you're best using a dedicated ripper like CDex or EAC

@guitguy
If you still want to use CDReader, then...
1) Did you read the readme.txt which explains how to enable it?
You've got to disable the default in_cdda.dll plugin first,
otherwise the two plugins will cause a conflict
(2 input plugins installed which both handle the same filetypes/media)

If the problem persists, include sys specs and full details of error message.

Though I recommend you also use one of CDex or EAC instead
(links c/o above url in my 1st post)

CDex is easiest to use, EAC is more advanced but the best quality possible.


[EDIT]
Doh!
Crosspost alert!
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=87837
Quote:
I finally figured out how to download a plug-in and all that, but when I hit play to convert it into an MP3, it says this:

Win32 error:0x45D (the request could not be performed because of an I/O device error).

I know this means input/output device error, but how do I fix it? PLEASE!!!!!!!! HELP ME!!!!
...Locking the other thread to avoid any confusion.


Further help/info:
RE: ASPI Driver problems & downloads (CDReader related)
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=29809
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=35623
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=31694
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=48436
http://www.ping.be/satcp/softwaretools01.htm#ASPI (Win9x/ME/2k/XP)
http://www.nu2.nu/aspi/ (Win2k/NT/XP)
http://xp.xyu.ca/tweaks.htm (Win2k/XP)
http://cdexos.sourceforge.net/download/nt_wnaspi32.zip (Win2k/XP)
http://softwarecenter.net/cdex/download/wnaspi32.zip (Win2k)
http://www.windac.de/eng/sup02.shtml
Adaptec | Support | Downloads | aspichk.exe | ASPI Updates

Special cases for top n00bs
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=68314
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=75391

DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2002, 22:28   #7
guitguy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 8
So I'm guessing I have to change the input setting as well? I saw what you were talking about under the input menu, (in_cdda.dll) but I don't know how to disable it. How do I disable it?

please excuse my extremely sparse education on the matter...I get all confuzzled when it comes to compooters.
guitguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2002, 22:39   #8
jeff evans
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Northport,NY
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally posted by DJEgg
CDex is easiest to use, EAC is more advanced but the best quality possible.
DJ....

I see EAC is still in beta. Any problems with it and WinXP?

--jeff
jeff evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2002, 01:16   #9
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,824
@jeff evans
Not sure, I don't have WinXP (don't want it either)
Works sweet on Win98 & ME though...
Why not download both programs and give them a try...

@guitguy
It's explained in the CDReader readme.txt and on the CDReader website.

Close Winamp.
Install CDReader v1.95 plugin.
In Explorer, goto the "C:\Program Files\Winamp\Plugins" dir
Locate: in_cdda.dll
Rt click it and select "rename"
Rename it to: in_cdda.dll.off

If you can't see any .DLL files
Goto: Windows Folder Options -> View tab
1) Checkmark: Show hidden files & system files (this varies under different OS's, could be "show all files", or "show hidden files & folders", etc, but it's listed under "Hidden Files")
2) Uncheck "hide extensions for known filetypes"

You can always put these settings back after.

When you've successfully renamed & disabled the plugin,
open Winamp,
goto: Prefs -> Plugins -> Input
Nullsoft CD/Line Plugin (in_cdda.dll) should no longer be in the list
and CDReader Plugin (in_cdreader.dll) should be listed instead.

This should fix at least some of the problem...
but I've a feeling you're gonna be back for more.
Check out those ASPI links above for details/fixes for Win32 errors.
It means the ASPI Layer either isn't installed on your system, or you need to configure CDReader plugin correctly to use ASPI Interface instead of Win32 Interface (as explained in those links).

btw, both EAC and CDex require use of the the ASPI Layer too.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2002, 01:31   #10
jeff evans
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Northport,NY
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally posted by DJEgg
[B]@jeff evans
Not sure, I don't have WinXP (don't want it either)
Works sweet on Win98 & ME though...
Why not download both programs and give them a try...
Well, DJEgg...all I can say is you don't know what you're missing. XP-wise that is.

I go months at a time without rebooting. I think the last time my wife rebooted her machine was....well...it was before Christmas. It doesn't matter how many applications I'm running at a time...including burning CD's. XP is sooooo stable and manages memory so well. XP isn't perfect but I grimace when I'm asked to help someone with a Win98 or ME machine. But that's a little off thread.

I appreciate your time and help, but here's what I've found.

I Did try both programs. They both seem to need an ASPI layer that isn't native to XP to recognize my Teac 540e CD reader. I am reluctant to add ASPI to my system and possibly damage it's unbelievable stabily just for either of those programs.

Also, I've been having great luck burning CD's with NTI's CD-Maker Pro and my Plextor 16/10/40a. In looking a little harder at CD-Maker Pro I found it rips audio CD's to .wav filess and it supports both my CD drives without any additional ASPI drivers.

So I'm blissfully ripping, and back to using Winamp for what I've been using it for for years...listening to music on my computer.

Again...thanks.

--jeff
jeff evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2002, 01:50   #11
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,824
Quote:
Originally posted by jeff evans


Well, DJEgg...all I can say is you don't know what you're missing. XP-wise that is
Yes I do, I've seen XP in action, and I'm NOT impressed. Half the software I'm running now (and for many happy years) would be incompatible with "in-yer-face, I want to do everything for you and will take up nearly 3Gb of hard disk space in order to do so" WinXP... but hey, we won't go into that here... I could go on for pages and pages about it, hehe.

btw, I can go weeks without needing a reboot too. You don't need XP for that. Just a stable system/registry and decent hardware/drivers. But then again, not everyone knows how to tweak their system like me.

So, no ASPI Layer with WinXP, eh ?!

Anyway, if your burner software works ok for ripping to WAV (with Win32 interface), then you can always encode those WAV's to MP3 nice and easily with CDex/EAC (using LameEnc), or Winamp (with an MP3 Output plugin).
I recommend CDex for WAV to MP3.

Anyway... good luck (with XP 'n all that)
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2002, 02:11   #12
jeff evans
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Northport,NY
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally posted by DJEgg
Anyway, if your burner software works ok for ripping to WAV (with Win32 interface), then you can always encode those WAV's to MP3 nice and easily with CDex/EAC (using LameEnc), or Winamp (with an MP3 Output plugin).

I recommend CDex for WAV to MP3.

Anyway... good luck (with XP 'n all that)
I've had good luck with Chun-Yu's mp3 plug-in for Winamp Egg...so that's what I'm doin'. Ripping with CD-Maker Pro (which will rip directly to .mp3 too, btw), and encoding to .mp3 with Winamp.

Thanks once again. Glad we can get some grins out of these problems too.

--jeff
jeff evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2002, 03:41   #13
guitguy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 8
Hey, thanks for the help. I gave your suggestion a try, and it worked...the option on the input menu disappeared, but the same error message pops up. I'm just beginning to think it's hopeless. It seems like everytime I go to download another program to support one I already have, I have to go downloading one to support IT. And it's just really getting frustrating. I'm sure I'll screw something up along the way...so just don't worry about it. Thanks for the help thus far.
guitguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2002, 10:51   #14
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,824
@jeff evans
Cool
Glad to hear you're happy & everything worked out ok

@guitguy
If you need further help, please include some relevant sys specs, eg. Windows OS, soundcard (System Control Panel -> Device Manager -> Sound...Controllers) and CD-ROM Drive make, model & speed.

Also, does the error message appear even if you just try to play a CD with one of the Output plugins used for normal playback selected (WaveOut or DirectSound Output) ?
Or does it only occur when the MP3Output or DiskWriter Output plugin is enabled?

If you want to forget about trying to get CDReader to work, then just reverse what you did to re-enable the default plugin, eg. rename it back to in_cdda.dll and delete in_cdreader.dll
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2002, 15:38   #15
guitguy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 8
Yeah, it just pops up when I try to play a cd regularly.
guitguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump