Old 27th March 2013, 19:16   #1
degenerate
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 9
Winamp Global Hotkeys keep disabling automatically

Hi, my global winamp hotkeys keep turning off by themselves.
There is no pattern (just happens randomly)

I can go into preferences and check the "enabled" box, then I have to restart winamp and it works again... until it disables again, for no reason

Does anyone else experience this?
degenerate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2013, 16:39   #2
degenerate
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 9
I am using winamp 5.63 on Windows 7 64-bit by the way. Still experiencing this problem even after a reinstall of winamp. Hmm.
degenerate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2013, 18:58   #3
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,650
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
try the newest beta, and also tell us what firewall/AV u use, and post your info tool report.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2013, 17:49   #4
degenerate
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 9
I found out the problem. It has to do with Windows 7 and administrator priveliges.

If I was opening winamp by double clicking an mp3, the global hotkeys were fine. But if I opened the winamp shortcut (from desktop or start menu) it was disabling the global hotkeys because I didn't "run as administrator".

I guess opening an mp3 auto-assumes you are administrator? Who knows. But the fix is to make the winamp shortcut always run as administrator:

http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windo...windows-vista/

After doing that, my global hotkeys don't disable themselves anymore
degenerate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2013, 18:12   #5
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,650
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
good detective work, but I think there are downsides to always running winamp in admin mode.

sounds like something needs done on the winamp side to fix...?

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2013, 18:30   #6
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
there is nothing that can be done if access level of the origin process is different. that is how it all works and if there's a mis-match then Winamp has to follow things and anything which can be done to improve things between the process access rights has already been done.
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Tags
global, global hotkeys, hotkeys

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump