Old 7th December 2011, 02:41   #1
agoramilio
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 8
unable to connect to server

Hi,

I am relatively new to shoutcast and am trying to setup a server. I have downloaded all the files needed and went to the winamp preferences....once there i put in the password i picked and clicked connect; but when i do, it blinks for a split second and disconnects....
agoramilio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2011, 10:50   #2
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
is the DNAS running?
what version of the DNAS are you running?
is the DSP in the correct mode for the version of the DNAS being used?

you might want to enable the logging option in the DSP and post that as it may give a better idea of what it's doing. also would make sure to check what is reported in the DNAS server's log as well.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2011, 02:58   #3
agoramilio
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 8
yes
DNAS 2.0
yes

and heres the log file that i got when trying to connect


2011-12-08 20:57:15 Logging starting
2011-12-08 20:57:24 Connecting
2011-12-08 20:57:26 Disconnecting
2011-12-08 20:57:26 Not Connected
agoramilio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2011, 05:52   #4
jaromanda
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Under the bridge
Posts: 2,289
I see the problem

it's disconnecting 2 seconds after connecting


"If you don't like DNAS, write your own damn system"

So I did
jaromanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2011, 10:38   #5
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
i'd go with the DSP trying to connect to the wrong location or port (is what is sent to the log when i've just done the same thing to a non-running DNAS).

so making sure the DNAS is correctly running and that you've made sure it's set to use the correct address / port is all that can be currently suggested.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2011, 12:04   #6
agoramilio
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 8
so0 i have an embarassingly noob question...what do i use for the address??
agoramilio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2011, 12:06   #7
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
if you're running it on the same machine as the DNAS is being run on then 'localhost' or '127.0.0.1' should be all that's needed and that you use the correct port e.g. 8000 or what has been set for 'portbase' in the DNAS's configuration file.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2011, 18:46   #8
agoramilio
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 8
thats what i have in the settings but it still doesnt connect...
agoramilio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2011, 20:26   #9
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
is the DNAS _definitely_ running, i.e. you've got a console window which is staying open and showing something like
Quote:
2011-12-09 16:53:35 I msg:[MAIN] SHOUTcast DNAS/win32 v2.1.0.47 (Dec 9 2011) starting...
2011-12-09 16:53:35 I msg:[MAIN] PID: 6484
2011-12-09 16:53:35 I msg:[MAIN] Loaded config from sc_relay.conf
2011-12-09 16:53:35 I msg:[MAIN] Calculated CPU count is 4
-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump