Old 18th May 2013, 20:20   #1
NiMareQ
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 17
history not showing

Hello, I have this issue (see attachment), changing the skin didn't work (just in case).

Everything was ok, but suddenly this happened. I haven't made any changes in all settings.
I thought it coould be because my history was long (around 5k+ items, 1 year), but I can't know.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	winamp history error.png
Views:	441
Size:	86.0 KB
ID:	50516  
NiMareQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2013, 03:04   #2
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,752
Hi NiMareQ,

I don't think there is a restriction on the size of the history database (as long as there is space available on the hard drive). Some users lose 1 or more their Winamp database files for various reasons. It could be file corruption associated with how a Winamp session was shutdown or if a crash occurs. This is why it is a good idea to periodically backup stuff. There is a utility that makes this fairly easy to do for Winamp specific data (link below).

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?t=317153

Winamp Pro v5.666.3516 fully-patched - Quinto Black CT v3.1 skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit v2004 desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2013, 04:23   #3
lostinsound
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 139
Does the current Backup Tool work on the beta? I haven't tried it but I thought since the location of playlists and artwork files have changed (among others) in the new beta it might not work properly. Although I'm sure it would backup the library database files since those are still in the same place.
lostinsound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2013, 04:53   #4
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,752
Quote:
Originally Posted by lostinsound View Post
Does the current Backup Tool work on the beta?
Hi,

According to post #252 in the thread provided above, Koopa has a beta for the 5.7 version. You can PM him for a copy to check out. A full update of the backup tool will be released soon after the stable version of 5.7 is released.

Winamp Pro v5.666.3516 fully-patched - Quinto Black CT v3.1 skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit v2004 desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2013, 09:32   #5
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
I already made an internal new build with updated backup/restoration code for Winamp 5.7.
Because of the huge amount of changes in Winamp 5.7, I still must write some additional code to force the users to create a new backup, before they can use the restore/transfer mode. This would be based on the integrity file, which is already part of all backups.

Though, the average feedback I got from my posting was 0 and without testers it makes not much sense to release a newer public version.
Koopa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2013, 19:34   #6
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,722
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?t=347659

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2013, 10:41   #7
NiMareQ
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 17
Oh, I might've as well said that the "Recently Played" tab is working normally and there are items since three years ago..
NiMareQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2013, 18:38   #8
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,722
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
recently played and history use different DBs to do their thing.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Bug Reports

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump