Old 5th June 2014, 01:57   #1
csc2ya
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 25
YP and authhash issues

I've had 2 shoutcast servers running for a while now, one on a windows server, and the other is on an ubuntu server.

The windows install of shoutcast is fine, but the linux install is now reporting no yp connection.

I am also getting the following errors when viewing the console on the server:

code:
2014-06-05 02:47:17 I msg:[YP2] Connecting to yp.shoutcast.com
2014-06-05 02:47:47 W msg:[YP2] Timeout waiting for data (1401929267 1401929237[30] ) retrying
2014-06-05 02:47:47 I msg:[YP2] Connecting to yp.shoutcast.com



In addition, I also cannot remove or update the authhash for this server anymore.

When trying, I get:

code:
Processing...
This may take a while



Which never ends.

Is this an issue at the yp end, or is it my shoutcast install?

The only thing that's changed is that the linux box has been rebooted earlier today.

Edit: Looks like it managed to connect once, but then failed again:

code:
2014-06-05 02:56:47 E msg:[DST 37.59.27.98:54680 sid=1] SHOUTcast 1 client connection rejected. Stream not available. SHOUTcast Directory Tester
2014-06-05 02:56:47 I msg:[DST 37.59.27.98:54680 sid=1] SHOUTcast 1 client connection closed (0 seconds) [Bytes: 0] Agent: `SHOUTcast Directory Tester'
2014-06-05 02:56:48 I msg:[YP2] Connected to yp.shoutcast.com. The station should now be listed in the SHOUTcast Radio Directory (YP).
2014-06-05 02:56:48 I msg:[YP2] Connecting to yp.shoutcast.com
2014-06-05 02:57:18 W msg:[YP2] Timeout waiting for data (1401929838 1401929808[30] ) retrying
2014-06-05 02:57:18 I msg:[YP2] Connecting to yp.shoutcast.com
2014-06-05 02:57:48 W msg:[YP2] Timeout waiting for data (1401929868 1401929838[30] ) retrying
2014-06-05 02:57:48 I msg:[YP2] Connecting to yp.shoutcast.com
2014-06-05 02:58:18 W msg:[YP2] Timeout waiting for data (1401929898 1401929868[30] ) retrying

csc2ya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2014, 10:18   #2
csc2ya
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 25
This now appears to have resolved itself.

I have been able to update the authhash, and the server is now listing correctly.
csc2ya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2014, 15:31   #3
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
you need to update the build of the DNAS you're using as that log output is from a v2.0 release instead of the current v2.2.x release (see http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?t=324877 for a link where to get the current DNAS release).

as for the issues you were having, there may have been some platform connectivity issues at the time
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2014, 15:39   #4
csc2ya
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 25
In all honesty, I prefer not to touch a working install once it's up and running.

It's working fine for now, so i'll leave it unless it stops working properly.

Just seemed odd that it only affected my linux install, and not my windows install.

Thanks anyway DrO
csc2ya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2014, 15:46   #5
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
that might be so, but there's a mass of issues with the v2.0 DNAS which is what was leading to the persistent processing message as a start point. also if something does happen with the YP i.e. connectivity is lost to it, the version of the DNAS you're using will prevent listeners connecting (which v2.2.x does not have that issue).

obviously it's your call, but with over 100+ noted changes between v2.0 and v2.2.x, keeping using a v2.0 install is not a good thing to be doing imho.
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2014, 01:20   #6
csc2ya
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 25
I've now upgraded both installs, the windows version went fine, as did the linux install initially.

However, I now cannot start the linux install as a normal user. I have to use sudo.

Attempting to start it as a normal user gives me this error:

code:
2014-06-10 02:28:24 ERROR <***> Logger could not open the log file "/tmp/sc_serv.log" for writing. Check the directory exists and another instance is not already running.



Only my user account has sudo access, but I still don't feel comfortable running shoutcast as root, and I shouldn't need to.
csc2ya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2014, 08:49   #7
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
try changing the path for the log folder in the config file to a location you don't Ned root access (and that you've definitely not got any other DNAS instances still running - which is the most common cause of that message).
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2014, 13:57   #8
csc2ya
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 25
I've tried setting the log location, but it doesn't seem to work:

adminpassword=
maxuser=500
password=
requirestreamconfigs=1
streamid_1=1
streamauthhash_1=
LogFile=/logs/sc_serv.log

It is my understanding that the last line in the above should set the logfile to a file named sc_serv.log in the logs folder located in the same directory as shoutcast.

However, it's still looking in the original location when I try to start it:

code:
vista@ssh:~/sc_serv$ ./sc_serv
2014-06-10 14:54:37 ERROR <***> Logger could not open the log file "/tmp/sc_serv.log" for writing. Check the directory exists and another instance is not already running.



code:
vista@ssh:~/sc_serv$ ./sc_serv
2014-06-10 14:52:28 ERROR <***> Logger could not open the log file "/tmp/sc_serv.log" for writing. Check the directory exists and another instance is not already running.

csc2ya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2014, 14:06   #9
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
that's just not making sense with how i'd coded the feature. unless you need to re-create the folder with the correct user privileges to run it without root access (is the only thing i can currently think off). otherwise you may need to set it to a different tmp folder for the version of linux you're using i.e. /tmp/* isn't viable for what you're using.
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2014, 14:30   #10
csc2ya
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 25
I've fully removed and redownloaded it (after removing and recreating the folder it's in), and am still getting the same errors.

When trying to either start the server or the configuration builder, it gives the error regarding logging unless I use sudo to start it.

I could PM ssh details for the box to you if you wanted to have a look at it.

The server itself is running Ubuntu Server 12.04.4
csc2ya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2014, 22:43   #11
csc2ya
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 25
Is there any update to this?

At the current time, I consider shoutcast to be a major security risk, at least on my linux server, since it should not need to run as root, yet that seems to now be the only way to get it to run at all.

I am aware it's only my server that this is happening on, but even so, it should not happen.

Can I also get the [Resolved] removed from the topic title. I will only consider this resolved once shoutcast is properly running as an unprivileged user.
csc2ya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2014, 22:51   #12
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
i've got no update as there's little else i can suggest (or do for that matter) as to why your setup needs root access to be able to do the log aspects.

whether it's an ubuntu specific - which is not an OS that was ever actively tested against - or something else i just cannot say as i've never seen it happen unless the folder was created with the wrong permissions to begin with.

maybe explicitly setting the full path for the log folder may help, but i suspect not and considering it was ok with v2.0 (which had a load more issues with paths), then maybe it's a new v2.2 bug and would have to be something looked into when there's an active developer on the SC tools. or just forget i ever said to update the DNAS and revert back to 2.0 (and deal with the issues it otherwise has).
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2014, 23:21   #13
csc2ya
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 25
I've now switched to shoutcast v1 on that machine (which has it's own issues that I am sure you are aware of)

I would love to revert back to 2.0, except I can't find a working download link.

I guess the saying 'never change something that works' has rung true in this case.
csc2ya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2014, 23:26   #14
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
i never expected you to experience such an issue with moving to the current DNAS release (as v1.x and v2.0 aren't supported) so i'm sorry i screwed up your setup and will stop trying to help with such issues as clearly i've caused more trouble than ever should have happened.
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2014, 23:32   #15
csc2ya
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 25
I apologise for how that may have sounded.

I did not mean to have a go at you. I am well aware you were trying to help (as much as you are able to anyway).

You didn't screw my install up....I did by upgrading it.

That was my own risk which of course didn't work.

I'm currently trying to find a working download link for 2.0 (which I am aware is not supported), but am not having any luck, hence why I switched back to v1 (I can find download links for that easily)
csc2ya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2014, 21:00   #16
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by csc2ya View Post
I could PM ssh details for the box to you if you wanted to have a look at it.
is this still an option? as i've been assigned some time to look into some of the v2.x issues so we can look to provide an updated build and would be good to try to track down the cause of what you were seeing if possible.
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2014, 21:19   #17
Bryon Stout
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 377
Yay!.. Glad you are working on it again.


Quote:
Originally Posted by DrO View Post
is this still an option? as i've been assigned some time to look into some of the v2.x issues so we can look to provide an updated build and would be good to try to track down the cause of what you were seeing if possible.
Bryon Stout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2014, 22:20   #18
csc2ya
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrO View Post
is this still an option? as i've been assigned some time to look into some of the v2.x issues so we can look to provide an updated build and would be good to try to track down the cause of what you were seeing if possible.
Yes...that's fine....i'll PM logon details to you now.

I would love to get v2 working again...I'm only using v1 as that currently works with no issues.
csc2ya is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump