Old 9th September 2001, 20:09   #1
Solotune

Send a message via AIM to Solotune
"Transparent" skin

Hi folks;

I'm fairly new to the Winamp thing, but I discovered something
that I thought I'ld share with everyone. I imagine the Winamp veterans
already know about this, but here it is anyway.

To create a "transparent" Winamp skin:

1. Open your favorite wallpaper in your favorite graphics editor.

2. Cut out a 275 x 365 section, from the area where you want
Winamp to sit.

3. Open your favorite "skinner" and use this cut-out to make a
pic-amp.

4. Save it with a name that matches the wallpaper name.

5. Open WinAmp, select this skin, and place it strategicaly over
the wallpaper so that the edges line up.

6. Voila . . . transparent skin!

This whole process takes about five minutes, and is a good use of
a "skinner" program.

To see a screenshot of one of my desktops, check out:

Solotune's Home Page

Click on the link labeled: WinAmp example.

I've made half a dozen wallpaper/winamp skins combo's. It works great!

See ya all, Solotune.
Solotune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2001, 20:19   #2
Mr Jones
Nothing to say...

What happens when you want to move winamp, or have it positioned over the top of another window, or put it in winshade mode, or turn the EQ off???????/

Seems like a lot of work for minimal effect
Mr Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2001, 20:34   #3
Solotune

Simple: You don't move it, you don't position it over the top of another window, you don't put it in winshade mode, and turning off the EQ simply reveals the identical portion of the wallpaper underneath. No problem.

Like I said, the whole process takes about five minutes, so its the
least amount of work you can do to create a nice skin.

Its main use, at least to me, is just to have on the desktop when
all I'm doing is listening to some "tunes". Under those circumstances
its just "nice".

Old 9th September 2001, 20:36   #4
Mr Jones
Nothing to say...

Quote: