Old 4th June 2022, 23:44   #1
FormulaFox
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 16
Winamp won't resume after pausing...

This has come out of the blue in the past couple of days - there have been no changes to my hardware, no Windows updates, nothing *I* can find to explain it, but my copy of Winamp(5.666) will no longer play audio if the program has sat idle for more than about ten seconds. Whether I just opened it, paused a file, or what, it will simply sit there and do nothing.

It can play files as long as I open them fairly quickly after loading. If I load a playlist it will play it going from song to song with absolutely zero issues. But if I pause or stop playback for more than a handful of seconds, it will refuse to play again until I close and reopen the program.

I have uninstalled and reinstalled multiple times, even removing user settings, and the problem persists. Anyone have any idea what the issue may be?
FormulaFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2022, 18:52   #2
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,857
The following suggestions may not help, but they can't hurt.

1. Shutdown Winamp, then use the Windows task manager to make sure all the Winamp related processes actually closed. Right-click on any that you see and select the "End task" command. Also delete the files in your system Temp folder. You will not be able to delete files in use or otherwise locked. Reboot and try to delete these temp files again.

2. You say that you have uninstalled and reinstalled multiple times. Depending on how you uninstalled, you may have left some isolated files or corrupt registry entries behind. The uninstaller that comes with Winamp will not remove everything. What's left behind is not supposed to interfere with anything, but you never know. I suggest you use the free version of Revo Uninstaller (or something like it) to be sure all Winamp related program files and registry entries are removed.


Good luck

Winamp v5.9.0.9999 - Quinto Black CT v3.6 skin
Windows 11 Home 64-bit v21H2 desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2022, 18:58   #3
FormulaFox
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 16
Task Manager entries were remaining for a while after closing, but they're not causing them - I made sure they were either gone or killed them myself after closing while testing, so I know unclosed processes are not the issue.

I'll try Revo to see what happens.
FormulaFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2022, 19:28   #4
FormulaFox
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 16
Tried Revo first. Cleared registry inputs and all leftover files(backed up my skin files first). Reinstalled. Problem persists.

Uninstalled with Revo and cleared registry/files again then followed temp files clearing steps. Rebooted before reinstalling Winamp. Problem persists.
FormulaFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2022, 15:49   #5
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,806
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
sounds more like a driver issue to me.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2022, 16:52   #6
FormulaFox
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSinatra View Post
sounds more like a driver issue to me.
How so?
FormulaFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2022, 17:09   #7
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,806
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
bc whatever the problem is, it is unique to you. ergo, assuming you have run winamp in safe mode and ruled out 3rd party plugins as an issue, the audio card driver would be the next thing i looked at. after that, maybe antivirus. but whatever it is, its something unique to you and not common to other winamp users, or else others would be reporting it / we'd have heard similar reports or had similar experiences.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2022, 17:14   #8
FormulaFox
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSinatra View Post
bc whatever the problem is, it is unique to you. ergo, assuming you have run winamp in safe mode and ruled out 3rd party plugins as an issue, the audio card driver would be the next thing i looked at. after that, maybe antivirus. but whatever it is, its something unique to you and not common to other winamp users, or else others would be reporting it / we'd have heard similar reports or had similar experiences.
I meant, what driver, and how is said driver causing an issue with Winamp but nothing else?

Also, I don't have a sound card.
FormulaFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2022, 17:22   #9
NJK
FRISIAN (MOD)
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: in a house
Posts: 16,335
which output plugin do you use?

have a look at this https://winampheritage.com/plugin/nu...t-plugin/28451
NJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2022, 17:23   #10
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,806
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
Quote:
Originally Posted by FormulaFox View Post
I meant, what driver, and how is said driver causing an issue with Winamp but nothing else?

Also, I don't have a sound card.
i'm not trying to be rude, so bear with me...

if your computer makes sound u can hear, it has an audio driver, which is software the OS uses to tell hardware in the computer how to actually make sounds on your speakers.

based on literally DECADES of experience, i can tell you, that it isn't uncommon for a driver update to fix weird issues. it is worth a try from the info you have shared, is all i am saying. you can either do so, or not. your choice.

it also would be worthwhile to make sure you are using the directx plugin for output in winamp.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2022, 17:29   #11
FormulaFox
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSinatra View Post
i'm not trying to be rude, so bear with me...

if your computer makes sound u can hear, it has an audio driver, which is software the OS uses to tell hardware in the computer how to actually make sounds on your speakers.

based on literally DECADES of experience, i can tell you, that it isn't uncommon for a driver update to fix weird issues. it is worth a try from the info you have shared, is all i am saying. you can either do so, or not. your choice.

it also would be worthwhile to make sure you are using the directx plugin for output in winamp.
I know what a driver is. I am asking WHICH driver? The standard Windows sound drivers don't seem to be the problem and have no updates available.

And for the record, my install of Winamp lists no DirectX plugin for output. Never has - I have always used the DirectSound Output driver.
FormulaFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2022, 17:30   #12
FormulaFox
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJK View Post
which output plugin do you use?
Nullsoft DirectSound Output

Just gives a "Cannot open Out_Null.dll for writing" error when I try to install it.
FormulaFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2022, 17:33   #13
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,806
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
Quote:
Originally Posted by FormulaFox View Post
I know what a driver is. I am asking WHICH driver? The standard Windows sound drivers don't seem to be the problem and have no updates available.

And for the record, my install of Winamp lists no DirectX plugin for output. Never has - I have always used the DirectSound Output driver.
thats the directx one, so good.

and if you look in your device manager, you will find the audio driver, and maybe, hopefully, whoever made the audio hardware device will have a newer driver you can DL from their site.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2022, 17:40   #14
FormulaFox
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSinatra View Post
thats the directx one, so good.

and if you look in your device manager, you will find the audio driver, and maybe, hopefully, whoever made the audio hardware device will have a newer driver you can DL from their site.
I've already tried that, but just to be sure I'll do it again.

So I'll see you in about 12 hours since RealTek insists on transferring the files at dialup speeds.
FormulaFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2022, 20:41   #15
FormulaFox
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 16
After uninstalling/resintalling audio drivers, problem persists as before.
FormulaFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2022, 20:50   #16
FormulaFox
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJK View Post
which output plugin do you use?

have a look at this https://winampheritage.com/plugin/nu...t-plugin/28451
After looking around I found a copy of the plugin that I can actually install(for the record the linked installer is trying to add an extra \ before the plugin folder in it's filepath, which is likely why it won't install), and the result I get is Winamp attempting to play files, but I get absolutely no audio whatsoever. The progress bar moves, the timer counts as normal, the visualization shows playback, but absolutely no sound to the speakers.
FormulaFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2022, 21:20   #17
FormulaFox
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 16
Okay, I found the problem! Y'all ready for this?

After installing the Null plugin suggested earlier and getting nothing, I went to try and configure it in Winamp Preferences, only for nothing to come up. I went to configure the DisrtShow plugin just to make sure this wasn't another glitch in Winamp, and it opened up in the Device tab as normal. But as I looked at the set device(01: Primary Sound Driver) something clicked. I have never had multiple drivers or devices due to lack of need for it, so I have always left it at this setting. But just to cover all overlooked bases, I clicked on it, and set it to "02: Speakers (Realtek High Definition Audio)"

And guess what's now running without any issue?

The short-term test(1 minute) had playback run fine. A longer wait(5 minutes) also ran fine. I am in the process of letting it sit for an hour or more to be sure at this time.

I kinda had an inkling it would be some stupid and easily overlooked thing that nobody would think of. Why this suddenly became an issue I will never understand, but here it is.
FormulaFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2022, 23:24   #18
FormulaFox
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 16
Extended test done. Problem is solved. Problem can be reliably(and immediately) reproduced by switching the aforementioned setting back to where it originally was.

The mystery now is why that setting, which had been a non-issue until now, is suddenly causing this.
FormulaFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2022, 01:03   #19
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,857
Quote:
Originally Posted by FormulaFox View Post
...

But as I looked at the set device(01: Primary Sound Driver) something clicked. I have never had multiple drivers or devices due to lack of need for it, so I have always left it at this setting. But just to cover all overlooked bases, I clicked on it, and set it to "02: Speakers (Realtek High Definition Audio)"
This happened to me years ago. I have some old posts on this forum about this. Some users can use the Primary Sound Driver option (which is the default) and some can't. I, like you, have to use the Speakers (Realtek High Definition Audio) option. My mobo has a Realtek audio chip. I never was able to find a reason for this (an issue with Winamp or the OS?).

Every time I update the Realtek driver and sometimes after the monthly OS update, I need to re-select the Speakers (Realtek High Definition Audio) option in Winamp to get sound working.

I didn't think to suggest this fix because your 1st post said sound stopped after putting Winamp in idle mode for ten seconds or more. Do you know if Winamp was set to use the Primary Sound Driver option at that time? In my case the Primary Sound Driver option never works no matter how I start playback.

Winamp v5.9.0.9999 - Quinto Black CT v3.6 skin
Windows 11 Home 64-bit v21H2 desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2022, 01:05   #20
FormulaFox
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aminifu View Post
I didn't think to suggest this fix because your 1st post said sound stopped after putting Winamp in idle mode for ten seconds or more. Do you know if Winamp was set to use the Primary Sound Driver option at that time?
Without question it was - prior to changing it for this fix, it has always been set that way.
FormulaFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2022, 01:11   #21
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,857
Sorry we didn't help you find an answer, but I'm glad you were able to solve this issue yourself. Good luck going forward.

Winamp v5.9.0.9999 - Quinto Black CT v3.6 skin
Windows 11 Home 64-bit v21H2 desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2022, 01:15   #22
FormulaFox
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aminifu View Post
Sorry we didn't help you find an answer, but I'm glad you were able to solve this issue yourself. Good luck going forward.
No apologies necessary. The steps given here pointed me in the direction that allowed me to find it - that's just as helpful as actually having the answer provided.
FormulaFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2022, 11:12   #23
verysingh45
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Posts: 2
I kinda had an inkling it would be some stupid and easily overlooked thing that nobody would think of. Why this suddenly became an issue I will never understand, but here it is.
verysingh45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump