Old 6th January 2006, 01:39   #1
Babylon-warp
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 116
Split screen multiprocessing?

Is it a good idea to implement a multiprocessing of avs in Winamp by splitting the display into two halves and sending each half to one of the processors ? wouldn't it be easier to program than the current multiprocessor model?

This would be great, at least for full-screen display.
Babylon-warp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2006, 03:50   #2
JFASI
Major Dude
 
JFASI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: I was hoping you could tell me
Posts: 1,350
Hm...That is a very good idea.

I think that that might be tad tricky to implement, but that is really a cool thought.

Certified Spam Connoisseur.
JFASI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2006, 18:20   #3
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
but then between the two halves you'd need to make all of the effects blend over/interact/etc which would really over complicate things i believe. nice idea though

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2006, 19:12   #4
PAK-9
Major Dude
 
PAK-9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,374
aka Scan Line Interleaving, its an idea they first introduced with the 3DFX cards. For AVS it probably would be quite effective, but only on dual processor (or dual core) machines... and most computers aren't. There wouldnt be any particular benefit on a single core hyperthreaded cpu.

http://PAK-9.deviantart.com

...innit
PAK-9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2006, 22:59   #5
Warrior of the Light
Forum King
 
Warrior of the Light's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 4,070
PAK, it could be an option like SMP support is now

Jesus loves you [yes, you] so much, he even died for you so that you will not need to die, but live forever
Warrior of the Light is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2006, 04:26   #6
Tuggummi
Bin King
 
Tuggummi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,173
Quote:
Originally posted by PAK-9
dual processor (or dual core) machines... and most computers aren't.
But isn't your favourite CPU manufacturer "blowing the horn" for the next big thing to be multiple processors? Might as well jump into the bandwagon early

Texer Resources

Im retarded... err i mean retired!
Probably both...
Tuggummi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2006, 15:00   #7
JFASI
Major Dude
 
JFASI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: I was hoping you could tell me
Posts: 1,350
Well, Intel announced a four core CPU by 2007. That look decent.

Certified Spam Connoisseur.
JFASI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2006, 00:45   #8
jheriko
Forum King
 
jheriko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: a twist in the fabric of space
Posts: 2,150
Send a message via ICQ to jheriko
WotL: SMP support just passes a flag to apes saying they can use the SMP entry point. mostly APE developers dont use it
since the apes predated that feature, and rewriting afterwards is a pain. or, globmgr.ape for instance, there is no easy way to speed it up with multiprocessing since all it does is run evallib code.

evallib code infact pretty much rules out converting most of the existing components too, like superscope for instance, since each point can be depedent on the last through code, although it could speed up the renderer, the bottleneck is really the evallib stuff written in the preset so it wouldnt help.

on the other hand, convolution is a pretty obvious candidate for multiprocessing. its pretty trivial to split up the work for that one...

-- Jheriko

'Everything around us can be represented and understood through numbers'
jheriko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2006, 14:01   #9
Babylon-warp
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 116
In any case, you would want to have 2 exactly the same versions of the avs running on either processor, it's just that on one instance it only processes x=0-0.5 and the other instance processes x=0.5-1. all it has to do is map a function over half the area.

The other option is to have two different versions of avs working from the same algorithm, on either processor, just that the frames are alternated and merge on the way to the graphics card.

It's normally really easy to send information 2 ways at one end of a program and to merge it at the other end.
Babylon-warp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2006, 11:09   #10
jheriko
Forum King
 
jheriko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: a twist in the fabric of space
Posts: 2,150
Send a message via ICQ to jheriko
Don't let me stop you from making it... just don't come back crying when you realise the ACTUAL implications of what I said. I wansn't particularly clear last time so I will rephrase it into simple short statements.

AVS isn't slow because of its software rendering. (from experience and testing)

AVS is slow from evallib evaluation. (from experience and testing)

Evallib evaluation is roughly equivalent to running byte code. (easily inferred from viewing source code)

There is no general solution for splitting up byte code into chunks for running in parallel if you want a speed increase (experience, + heavily supported on internet)

-- Jheriko

'Everything around us can be represented and understood through numbers'
jheriko is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Visualizations > AVS > AVS Wishlist

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump