Old 24th November 2003, 18:05   #1
zerker

Cool Fusion Jazz

What are people's opinions on Fusion music? I've been to see a few bands such as The Dave Weckl Band, The Mike Stern Band and the Yellowjackets and loved it.

Altough it's taken me a while to get into this sort of music, it's incredible once you start to get used to it. I'm a drummer, and the drumming in fusion tends to be unbelievably complex and amazing to watch live.

However when I've spoken to other people about this genre, they've hated it and think there's far too much going on!

What dya think?
zerker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2003, 18:11   #2
NJK
The Frisian Spamfighter

how about providing some links to the bands you mentioned?

or some sample?

and yes i can apriciate jazz music

Each Thursday a new show on Celtica Radio with Darkwave music.
FORUMRULES
WINAMP
SHOUTCAST
NJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2003, 02:59   #3
night_rain

Thumbs up

Honestley I like fussion it has a lot of complex musical ideas but they make sence if you know what you're listening to. some fusion I agree is harder to grasp then others but when you get it it's wonderful. If I knew any of the band names that I've heard I would tell them for you ut really I just listen to whatever my sister puts in. The stuff that they play can be just mind blowing though.

You said you were a drummer? My dad once went to a concert and saw a drummer play for an hour and a half with just a symbol type thingy and a stool. He beat on everything and for half an hour not once was my dad bored.

Like I said Fusion music is mind blowing when you relize what the people are actually doing.
night_rain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2003, 08:28   #4
zerker

Quote:
Originally posted by night_rain