Old 4th July 2004, 16:35   #1
carmatic
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 53
Send a message via ICQ to carmatic
wishlist thing...

umm
time between transitions is based on beatmatching , not based on a fixed number of seconds???

did what i just said make any sense to you?
carmatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2004, 21:32   #2
hungryskull
Major Dude
 
hungryskull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Somewhere in Canada
Posts: 776
Beatmatching?

Could you at least try to write something that makes sense?

Darn, I can't think of anything to put here.
hungryskull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2004, 00:40   #3
carmatic
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 53
Send a message via ICQ to carmatic
sorry hung out with too many dj's and club tech heads....

you know the bpm counter in the avs editor? how some scenes have a feature in them that ticks at the same rate as the bpm counter? thats what i meant by 'beat'

by matching, like, i meant it would work on after a set number of beats has passed, like normally a power of 2 ... 4,8,16,32 etc etc
it would make it much easier for a club vj working alongside a dj playing music
pressing the 'random scene' key would reset the number of beats to zero, so the structure of the music can be followed more cohesively
also for songs which have a beat that is impossible to detect, there should also be a manual bpm feature , like we just tap on a key (is there a feature like this already?)

knew my sig would come in handy

did what i just said make any sense to you?
carmatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2004, 18:53   #4
GXTi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 6
Send a message via AIM to GXTi
Does the Custom BPM component help yo u any? It lets you skip beats, so if you skip 3 out of 4 beats, you effectively get 1/4 the BPM. I really have no idea what you're after though I'm looking for the key tapping thing as well, so you aren't alone.
GXTi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2004, 23:37   #5
carmatic
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 53
Send a message via ICQ to carmatic
mmmmhhhhh this is tougher than i thought

i meant like... uhh you know how music goes 1-2-3-4 1-2-3-4 and so on and so on, well the 4-beat songs anyway, songs like seal-kissed by a rose are 3 beat , like 1-2-3 1-2-3

right lets say that everytime you reach 1, the scene changes
but that would make it too frequent, so make it change the scene every other time it hits 1
but if that's too frequent as well, make it change the scene every 4 times it goes back to one
then, if you have a song which has some interesting features in it , like a dramatic build up and you want to follow with it, you can change the scene manually (like you can do that now) but the thing in avs that counts 1-2-3-4 1-2-3-4 with the music gets reset , so it flows more naturally...

did what i just said make any sense to you?
carmatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2004, 01:24   #6
Tuggummi
Bin King
 
Tuggummi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,173
If you mean the Transitions when a preset loads randomly? I Believe that's based on milliseconds indeed, since the speed bar is between 250ms - 8s

You can always manually load a random preset by hitting the space bar, but i really don't think it's going to be changed into beat matching...

Texer Resources

Im retarded... err i mean retired!
Probably both...
Tuggummi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2004, 01:38   #7
carmatic
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 53
Send a message via ICQ to carmatic
awww pretty pretty pleeaassee??
like the 'speed bar' that changes automatically to be equal to a multiple of the determined beat length...

did what i just said make any sense to you?
carmatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2004, 05:02   #8
Mr_Nudge
Major Dude
 
Mr_Nudge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: melbourne, australia
Posts: 655
you could have an option to change presets every 10 seconds or every n beats.

Life's a game, break the rules
Click here
Mr_Nudge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2004, 14:59   #9
carmatic
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 53
Send a message via ICQ to carmatic
yeah every n beats

did what i just said make any sense to you?
carmatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2004, 00:54   #10
carmatic
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 53
Send a message via ICQ to carmatic
no wait not only that, i only realized the 250ms to 8 second one was the length of the transition... what i am referring to is the setting that is actually under 'presets' , like switch to random preset every (insert number here) seconds
i would like to have the option , to also change the scene every n beats

yeah just like what mr nudge said

::edit:: love those sponsor tags!! BPM = business project management heheheh

did what i just said make any sense to you?
carmatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th July 2005, 21:51   #11
carmatic
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 53
Send a message via ICQ to carmatic
i hope its not against the rules to dredge up old threads like this... im not trying to boost my post count or something, i just only realized the more correct term for what im trying to say is :

on-beat scene changing, where the bpm from the beat detection is converted to units of time

lets say, 130bpm ...

number of beats in a second = 130 / 60 = 2.167
time taken for one beat = 1/2.167 = 0.4615 seconds
time taken for n beats = n * 0.4615 = the time it takes to change between scenes

like n should be specifiable , so instead of the tickbox that says every (insert number) seconds , within the preset/hotkey page in the avs editor, it should be radio buttons letting you choose between the box that lets you enter the number of beats ,or the current box for the length of time for the preset changes
this will be ideal for long fade times where the scenes gradually change with the music ...or another way is to use something like the scenes' on-beat feature where special things happen in scenes at points in time when the beats of the music are, where avs simply counts the number of detected beats before they add up the the specified 'n' number of beats and the scene changes

once again im sorry if im not supposed to be posting in this thread anymore, i just thought i'd type something in it properly for once...

did what i just said make any sense to you?

Last edited by carmatic; 9th July 2005 at 22:08.
carmatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2005, 10:43   #12
MaTTFURY
Major Dude
 
MaTTFURY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Australia,
Posts: 1,356
well AVS is open-source, do it yourself...
and since this must be an update to the wishlist....

# flash vector rendering technology (yeah i don't know if it's possible or not)

i am not normal, no really.
MaTTFURY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2005, 23:29   #13
Jaak
Major Dude
 
Jaak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Estonia.
Posts: 851
could you tell us more about this before we rush to implement this obviously amazing and totally useful feature!

Phi = (1+sqrt(5))/2
Jaak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2005, 11:04   #14
carmatic
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 53
Send a message via ICQ to carmatic
eh i thought i was the only one who didnt know what vector rendering technology is...

is it something like what they use for flash animations or whatever?

did what i just said make any sense to you?
carmatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2005, 11:13   #15
Warrior of the Light
Forum King
 
Warrior of the Light's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 4,070
Vector = A line from .A to .B
Rendering = Drawing something to the screen
Technology = How to do something
Flash = An external tool to create (interactive) stuff (internet games for example)

In other words: how to draw a line the difficult and SLOW! way, which could be done with an SSC 20 times faster and better.

Jaak was being sarcastic, I was enough of an idiot to actually explain it.

Jesus loves you [yes, you] so much, he even died for you so that you will not need to die, but live forever
Warrior of the Light is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2005, 11:30   #16
carmatic
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 53
Send a message via ICQ to carmatic
no i really heard before something that uses vector graphics on the internet and stuff... i am pretty sure that flash uses vector graphics???

and i think that you people think that im trolling here, i was about to ask what does 'ssc' stand for but i dont feel like it anymore

did what i just said make any sense to you?
carmatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2005, 16:13   #17
Jaak
Major Dude
 
Jaak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Estonia.
Posts: 851
not only lines, all basic 2D primitives.

...anyways, svg implemention would be like totally useless for vis., especially for one that doesn't use hardware acceleration.

Phi = (1+sqrt(5))/2
Jaak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2005, 20:22   #18
Warrior of the Light
Forum King
 
Warrior of the Light's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 4,070
ssc=superscope

edit:
vector

Jesus loves you [yes, you] so much, he even died for you so that you will not need to die, but live forever

Last edited by Warrior of the Light; 12th July 2005 at 21:18.
Warrior of the Light is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2005, 21:08   #19
carmatic
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 53
Send a message via ICQ to carmatic
ah right the forums arent indexed in google
i thought the 'a to b' line drawing thing is used in alot of scenes,like anything that has any sort of solid shapes in them,or the 3d looking wireframe thingies that people seem to like to dohttp://www.skinbase.org/files/shots/...A-Arousing.JPG

speaking of a whishlist, what do i blame when my computer crashes when running avs.... my computer, or avs? if it was my computer, then i wish that AVS can help me troubleshoot my computer problem somehow, and if its AVS thats the problem, then i wish that it would stop crashing

::edit:: i'll check out the wikipedia thing later, my brain doesnt work when i had this little sleep... maybe by reading the maths pages i can get a grasp on how to make scenes easily

did what i just said make any sense to you?

Last edited by carmatic; 12th July 2005 at 22:00.
carmatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2005, 11:55   #20
jheriko
Forum King
 
jheriko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: a twist in the fabric of space
Posts: 2,150
Send a message via ICQ to jheriko
avs crashes.. because it is a pile of voodoo hax. get used to it

changing preset every n beat should be peanuts to add to the avs when work starts on it. i'm sure someone will do it.

'vector graphics' suggestions are totally redundant anyway, since AVS uses vectored graphics for all intents and purposes. a superscope changes in resolution with the screen to become a better approximation of its points, a triangle render etc.... anything more complicated would be SLOW.

EDIT: I looked inside superscope recently and it uses a pretty tight bresenham type line drawing algo... its also why we get those lovely jaggies as it sets line width or height based on the current gradient. Anything that works better would pretty much HAVE to be slower.

-- Jheriko

'Everything around us can be represented and understood through numbers'
jheriko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2005, 12:10   #21
carmatic
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 53
Send a message via ICQ to carmatic
also how does avs use smp... is it like one processor does one scene while the other processor is doing another scene as avs fades between scenes?

did what i just said make any sense to you?
carmatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2005, 06:55   #22
MaTTFURY
Major Dude
 
MaTTFURY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Australia,
Posts: 1,356
The source code is available maybe you should look into c++/c coding your self?

i am not normal, no really.
MaTTFURY is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Visualizations > AVS > AVS Wishlist

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump