Old 11th February 2003, 19:13   #1
klumy
Senior Member
 
klumy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 383
3DMark 2003 released

www.futuremark.com
klumy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2003, 21:46   #2
fwgx
Rudolf the Red.
(Forum King)
 
fwgx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 9,314
I was just going to post this. damn you!
Finding a server to d/l it from is fun

"We think science is interesting and if you disagree, you can fuck off."
fwgx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2003, 03:27   #3
SNYder
Forum King
 
SNYder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 4,432
YES!!!!! kick booty! /me downloads

[edit]took me 7 minutes to find a server. downloading at 10.7KBps.

[edit] now getting from a second place at similar speeds, but seems to be going up in speed very slowly.

[edit]now the first one is up to 11.5 and the second one is up to 13.7!

but I just noticed something on one of these sites. It said, minimum requirement was a directx 9 compatible card. i have a geforce mx 420 which isn't capable of directx 9. will this new version not work on mine?

[edot] ooo.. 13.9!

Last edited by SNYder; 12th February 2003 at 03:52.
SNYder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2003, 13:48   #4
binary hero
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 7,004
Send a message via ICQ to binary hero
you just have to have dx9 installed. the card doesn't have to be fully dx9 compatible.
binary hero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2003, 17:09   #5
fwgx
Rudolf the Red.
(Forum King)
 
fwgx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 9,314
If I install Dx9 will games that work with Dx8 still work on my card which is not Dx9 compatble?

"We think science is interesting and if you disagree, you can fuck off."
fwgx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2003, 18:09   #6
apollos
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Canterbury & Plymouth
Posts: 4,176
um, if you are having problems download it, go to http://www.betanews.com/article.php3?sid=1043824380 and download it from there.
apollos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2003, 18:10   #7
apollos
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Canterbury & Plymouth
Posts: 4,176
Quote:
Originally posted by Phily Baby
If I install Dx9 will games that work with Dx8 still work on my card which is not Dx9 compatble?
Yes. at the most you will have to download a small patch for one or two games that will let it accept DX9 but your card should have no problem with DX9.
apollos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2003, 22:34   #8
Atmo
The Freak
(Forum King)
 
Atmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 9,399
171mb...this is gonna take a while on 28k...
Atmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2003, 23:47   #9
apollos
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Canterbury & Plymouth
Posts: 4,176
It would take 10 hours for me to download with 56k, my friend has broadband so I will have it when I go to school tommorow.

I hope there are some EAX environment sound tests too
I have high hopes for this new release.
apollos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2003, 07:45   #10
Wish
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 702
GF4 MX users shouldn't bother to download this. You can only run 1 game test and some of the individual tests. Basically, anyone with a GF4 MX, GF2 and lower won't get much satisfaction from this new edition of 3dmark.

Ditto with Radeon 7500 and lower owners, as well as Kyro2 owners.

With a GF3/GF4 or Radeon 8500/9000/9100, you can run 3 of the game tests and most of the individual tests.

Only with a DX9 card such as a 9500/9700 or FX, then only you can run all of the tests.
Wish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2003, 09:30   #11
fwgx
Rudolf the Red.
(Forum King)
 
fwgx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 9,314
I tried running one of the test but it just bombed straight out after the title screen. Me GF4MX can run every other game I have installed perfectly though.

"We think science is interesting and if you disagree, you can fuck off."
fwgx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2003, 12:01   #12
apollos
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Canterbury & Plymouth
Posts: 4,176
What can I run with a Geforce 4 Ti 2200?
[edit/] sorry, wrong thing uploaded

/me kicks Bill gates [edit]
Attached Files
File Type: zip file.zip (8.8 KB, 94 views)
apollos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2003, 13:11   #13
Atmo
The Freak
(Forum King)
 
Atmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 9,399
Quote:
Originally posted by Wish
GF4 MX users shouldn't bother to download this. You can only run 1 game test and some of the individual tests. Basically, anyone with a GF4 MX, GF2 and lower won't get much satisfaction from this new edition of 3dmark.

Ditto with Radeon 7500 and lower owners, as well as Kyro2 owners.
I thought as much, considering those are all dx7 and lower cards without pixel shaders etc. But even a tnt2 was able to run most of the 3dmark 2001 tests, and it was a dx6 card.
Atmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2003, 18:57   #14
apollos
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Canterbury & Plymouth
Posts: 4,176
Hmm, how dissapointing. The tests in this version were minimal, repeated tests occured and hmm, they outdone themselves? I think NOT.

Unless you have a fricken MX card, the tests will not give you good frame rates. I got 3fps on the third test for a while and only got about 150fps in areas of the first aeroplane test.
apollos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > Breaking News

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump