Old 13th May 2005, 13:43   #1
bodisan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Romania
Posts: 22
Send a message via Yahoo to bodisan
Is my DSP worth publishing?

Is it? Give me feedback please.
Attached Files
File Type: zip bodisan - headphones enhancer 1.6.zip (1.3 KB, 342 views)
bodisan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2005, 13:52   #2
d0rk
I contribute nothing.
(Forum King)
 
d0rk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Virgacalementoflagantionio
Posts: 3,030
Well, no idea what your talking about. But it doesn't contain a virus for anyone who does.

I came for the hatred.
I stayed for the ballbag.
d0rk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2005, 13:54   #3
bodisan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Romania
Posts: 22
Send a message via Yahoo to bodisan
It's a preset for the Winamp's DSP (digital signal processor)
bodisan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2005, 14:31   #4
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,457
An SPS preset, to be precise.

It works very well.*

The only thing I noticed: wouldn't it be better to use separate bass and treble sliders instead of bass/treble and wet/dry?
This would allow people with bad speakers to boost both high and low frequencies (I still see DSPs mainly as a crutch for people with insufficient hardware. ).
gaekwad2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2005, 14:44   #5
bodisan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Romania
Posts: 22
Send a message via Yahoo to bodisan
Well, thanks for your answer.

I could do that, but then I would have to give up at one of the other 2 sliders, and that's because of the way my sps works... Maybe I'll figure it out, we'll see. And it works pretty well like this, I mean if you want to boost the bass you set the first slider up, if you want the treble you set it down. Or if you want both of them to be boosted, you set it somewere in the middle.

And what you said about DSP's, I agree with you, at least partially. I don't use it on my stereo line, or if I use it I don't alter the sound so much. But for a bad to medium pair of headphones, or computer speakers, or even for someone that has nice hardware but is a bass (or treble) freak, this SPS works fine. Anyways, you get much better results than trying to do this from the Winamp equalizer.

bodisan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2005, 14:46   #6
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,457
Well, I got the first two sliders to work pretty well as is, but how do you set it so it doesn't mess with the song's dynamics? Just set boost to zero?

And you should mention that the treble setting does "noise sharpening", it's the current craze (I just submitted some noise sharpening presets).
gaekwad2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2005, 14:49   #7
Leonhart
Senior Member
 
Leonhart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: England
Posts: 312
Send a message via AIM to Leonhart Send a message via Yahoo to Leonhart
How do you install it or what ever you do with it

"To Be Forgotten Is Worse Than Death"
Leonhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2005, 14:53   #8
bodisan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Romania
Posts: 22
Send a message via Yahoo to bodisan
If you set boost at 0, there still remains some dynamics control, but very very little, so you won't notice it. I made it like this so it doesn't clip. Even if you get a sudden bass, the volume normalizes itself.
bodisan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2005, 14:55   #9
zootm
Forum King
 
zootm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: the nether reaches of bonnie scotland
Posts: 13,375
Wow, that noise sharpening is pretty neat (just installed on foobar).

zootm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2005, 15:01   #10
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,457
Quote:
Originally posted by Leonhart
How do you install it or what ever you do with it
Unzip to Winamp\plugins\DSP_SPS, then in Winamp go to Preferences > Plug-Ins > DSP/Effect, select Nullsoft Signal Processing Studio, Configure and load the preset.
gaekwad2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2005, 15:02   #11
Leonhart
Senior Member
 
Leonhart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: England
Posts: 312
Send a message via AIM to Leonhart Send a message via Yahoo to Leonhart
It sounds very interesting and something i would want to see if i knew how to

"To Be Forgotten Is Worse Than Death"
Leonhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2005, 15:03   #12
bodisan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Romania
Posts: 22
Send a message via Yahoo to bodisan
You unzip it, and put it in winamp/plugins/DSP_SPS. Then you select the Sound Processing Studio Plugin from winamp and load my preset.

P.S. What is noise sharpening in fact? Because when I hear "noise" I'm thinking about ugly hisses and stuff. Oh and the code... I invented it myself, I even wonder how I got it to work
bodisan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2005, 15:05   #13
bodisan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Romania
Posts: 22
Send a message via Yahoo to bodisan
Damn, we're all posting the same time
bodisan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2005, 15:08   #14
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,457
The term noise sharpening was made up by ssamadhi97 who wrote the plugin for foobar (originally a toy plugin to convert PCM to DPCM and back), it reminded him of image sharpening filters.
gaekwad2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2005, 15:08   #15
Leonhart
Senior Member
 
Leonhart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: England
Posts: 312
Send a message via AIM to Leonhart Send a message via Yahoo to Leonhart
yay thanks guys, lets give it a try

"To Be Forgotten Is Worse Than Death"
Leonhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2005, 18:03   #16
bodisan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Romania
Posts: 22
Send a message via Yahoo to bodisan
All I have to do now is to create a neat picture for the SPS and come up with a good name for it.
bodisan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2005, 18:45   #17
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,457
Enhancer is already taken and I'd also drop the 'headphone' part (I first thought it was some kind of stereo crossfeed, as that's what's usually being advertised for headphones) since it's also useful with speakers.

Sorry that I can't come up with any positive suggestions.
gaekwad2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2005, 12:03   #18
bodisan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Romania
Posts: 22
Send a message via Yahoo to bodisan
Well, last night before I went to bed, it struck me: how aboute "Sound Colorizer"? OR "Simple Sound Colorizer" or something like this... because this name is definetly not taken. And in the end, that's what my sps does: it colorizes low and high frequencies...
bodisan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2005, 12:06   #19
MaTTFURY
Major Dude
 
MaTTFURY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Australia,
Posts: 1,356
why isnt there a sps/dsp forum?

i am not normal, no really.
MaTTFURY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2005, 12:14   #20
bodisan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Romania
Posts: 22
Send a message via Yahoo to bodisan
Well... that's what I asked myself yesterday, when I posted this. If I didn't find a SPS section, i just posted in the most visited section

Anyway, it would be good if one would be made, probably there isn't one because SPS is relatively new in WINAMP.
bodisan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2006, 20:50   #21
al.ish
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9
How do I install it? I've put it in Winamp/Plugins folder and nothing happend. I do not have any DSP_SPS subfolder under Plugins. Should I make one?
Thx.
al.ish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2006, 21:04   #22
mysterious_w
Forum King
 
mysterious_w's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Good ol' Britain
Posts: 2,750
Wow, odd thing to bump.




mysterious_w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2006, 21:44   #23
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,457
Quote:
Originally posted by al.ish
How do I install it? I've put it in Winamp/Plugins folder and nothing happend. I do not have any DSP_SPS subfolder under Plugins. Should I make one?
Thx.
You can also load it from the plugins folder.

You do have Nullsoft Signal Processing Studio listed under Preferences > DSP/Effect? Otherwise reinstall Winamp (Full or Pro, over your existing one) and make sure it's checked in the installer (under Extra Audio Output/Effect Support).

Or did you put the zip into the plugins folder?
gaekwad2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2006, 22:36   #24
al.ish
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9
Quote:
You do have Nullsoft Signal Processing Studio listed under Preferences > DSP/Effect?
No, I don't and that was the reason

Thx, it's working now
al.ish is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump