Old 19th January 2003, 00:20   #1
anarchy-inc.org
Junior Member
 
anarchy-inc.org's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Planet P3X-774
Posts: 30
Send a message via ICQ to anarchy-inc.org Send a message via Yahoo to anarchy-inc.org
SQR crossfader

Been having problems with the stream cutting out every 20 secs for 2-3 secs. I know the first thing people say is, how good is the connection. I have been testing the output by connecting to 10.0.0.9:8000 (since I can't connect externally to myself without a dialup). In theory, my lan should provide enough bandwidth for any stream.

The only solution has been to remove the SQR Advanced Crossfader plugin. Since I took that out, all is well. It's a shame really, because apart from the gaps, the plug-in sounds great. Anyone found a way to get this thing to work without cutting out?
anarchy-inc.org is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2003, 08:36   #2
ClassicRox
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 218
What kind of computer are you using? e.g., amount of RAM, processor speed, etc.

SqrSoft, while a very good crossfader, takes up a lot of system resources. I could be wrong, but that sounds like what's going on with your system.


Click banner to tune in! Broadband only!
ClassicRox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2003, 10:15   #3
anarchy-inc.org
Junior Member
 
anarchy-inc.org's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Planet P3X-774
Posts: 30
Send a message via ICQ to anarchy-inc.org Send a message via Yahoo to anarchy-inc.org
Quote:
Originally posted by ClassicRox
What kind of computer are you using? e.g., amount of RAM, processor speed, etc.

It's a PIII-550 with 128 on W98, with only Winamp and the Shoutcast server running.

SqrSoft, while a very good crossfader, takes up a lot of system resources. I could be wrong, but that sounds like what's going on with your system.
Any ideas how much RAM you need for SQR?
anarchy-inc.org is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2003, 11:19   #4
vboogieman
Senior Member
 
vboogieman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: California
Posts: 182
Send a message via AIM to vboogieman Send a message via Yahoo to vboogieman
sqrsoft crossfader

What version of the crossfader are you using?

I was having that issue until I found 1.75 of the sqrsoft crossfader.

Also, I had some minor issues when I was broadcasting from an 800mhz system with 512 megs of ram. Now that I have a new system the sqrsoft crossfader and the sqrsoft compressor/limiter work awesome!
vboogieman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2003, 11:39   #5
anarchy-inc.org
Junior Member
 
anarchy-inc.org's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Planet P3X-774
Posts: 30
Send a message via ICQ to anarchy-inc.org Send a message via Yahoo to anarchy-inc.org
Well, I guess that just means that my machine is on the edge of working. I was using version 1.75, but on a PIII550 and only 128 of ram.

Shoutcast works fine without SQR running on that machine so I can't complain really. It would just be nice to have the crossfading.
anarchy-inc.org is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2003, 12:00   #6
vboogieman
Senior Member
 
vboogieman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: California
Posts: 182
Send a message via AIM to vboogieman Send a message via Yahoo to vboogieman
crossfader

Yeah, it makes a huge difference in how professional your broadcast sounds.

Also using the compressor/limiter has really leveled out the volume differences in my mp3's.

I attribute the increase I have in listenership to setting up the crossfader and compressor/limiter because nothing else has changed and I went from hitting 20 to 25 listeners during the day to pushing 60 on a 24k mono stream.

I also notice when I have live DJ's that work on my station go on during the day that are not running the the crossfader and compressor/limiter I can see the trend go back to pushing 30 listeners during the day. dilema for me because I want to get to a point where I have live DJ's 24/7 .
vboogieman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump