Old 21st March 2003, 10:13   #1
Mr Jones
Nothing to say...
 
Mr Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 23,091
Calling all skinners WA2.9 is here.

Yes, in case you don't go into GD, you can now pick up WA2.9 from here.

http://www.nullsoft.com/cookie

Read more about it here.

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....hreadid=129231

Attached is a quick zip of the extra bitmaps you will now need to make your skins compatiable with the new windows, plus a bit of a text file telling you how the gen.bmp/genex.bmp works.

Please bear in mind that...

These skin specifications are subject to change, so don't distribute any new skins that widely.

Questions...
Attached Files
File Type: zip skinbits.zip (9.0 KB, 847 views)
Mr Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2003, 15:19   #2
xenosomething
Major Dude
 
xenosomething's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: ?
Posts: 1,473
hmm....interesting
xenosomething is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2003, 15:33   #3
neversun
Banned
 
neversun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: 12 inches from the monitor
Posts: 72
[akura] fully supports it now..

do i get a cookie mr jones?
neversun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2003, 18:22   #4
e-raser
Major Dude
 
e-raser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 1,048
Send a message via ICQ to e-raser Send a message via AIM to e-raser
fun, fun, more stuff to skin
e-raser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2003, 18:22   #5
StillWater
Forum King
 
StillWater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Nov 1978
Posts: 3,883
Of course, I'm sure everything is just speculative right now, but is there a general idea as to when the beta phase will be over? ie. I'll probably want to update most of my skins all at once, and won't want to have to change them once I do. Any ideas when it will be 'safe' to start updating without worrying about the requirements changing?

Sow a thought, reap an action; sow an action, reap a habit; sow a habit, reap a character; sow a character, reap a destiny.

All my skins: @ winamp.com @ 1K1WS @ Deviantart.com

My latest Flash Project: BreathingEarth.net
StillWater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2003, 18:37   #6
binary hero
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 7,004
Send a message via ICQ to binary hero
found some skinning bugs, don't know where to put them.
1. the ml window stretches the sliders. this is crap if you want any fine detail on them. even gradients can look awful.
2. my ml window title goes...nasty, the font looks fine in gen.bmp, but seems to be all squished together in use
3. the ml, in the bottom part, can't the centre be a tile, not a single pixel colour? or have i got something wrong?
4. no pixelshift bugs. please put some in, skinning is annoying without them

db - i assume it is safe for us to skin them, after we weren't allowed them until now because they could change. but hopefully my bugs will be taken care of
binary hero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2003, 18:37   #7
Mr Jones
Nothing to say...
 
Mr Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 23,091
Nope, no idea,wa2.90 should be out next week, 2.91 shortly after that, then who knows.

I've taken the view of preparing the ground already by updating to the new windows, way I see it , any future changes may only be minimal, so won't require much of a change from what it is now.

Example. The video skin, up to this beta release, had no controls other than full screen, but it's only taken a few minutes for each skin to add them in.
Mr Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2003, 21:41   #8
Atmo
The Freak
(Forum King)
 
Atmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 9,400
I think for now i'm only going to update gamusion and after midnight. Will wait until the final release to decide if i'll do the others.
Atmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2003, 22:27   #9
Joel
Debian user
(Forum King)
 
Joel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Arch land
Posts: 4,917
wao ! I'm starting to understand Winamp 2.8X, more stuff to
know , good work guys !


* PC: Intel Core 2 DUO E6550 @ 2.33 GHz with 2 GB RAM: Archlinux-i686 with MATE.
* Laptop: Intel Core 2 DUO T6600 @ 2.20 GHz with 4 GB RAM: Archlinux-x86-64 with MATE.
Joel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2003, 23:05   #10
FooMonkey
Listens to Chicago!
(Major Dude)
 
FooMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Shwhah?
Posts: 975
Send a message via ICQ to FooMonkey Send a message via AIM to FooMonkey Send a message via Yahoo to FooMonkey
oh no, not more crap to skin!

oh well, it's not like I ever finish a skin anyway, why am I complaining

[website](foomonkey)|(Winamp|DevArt)[skins]
I'm so hip I have trouble seeing over my pelvis.
Jellby's Skiners' Atlas
FooMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2003, 01:36   #11
Christophe
Sexaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally posted by binary hero
1. the ml window stretches the sliders. this is crap if you want any fine detail on them. even gradients can look awful.
Yeah I know, but that was the only right solution for having the little thing in the middle of the sliders to appear right. Anybody has a better suggestion for the sliders?

-Christophe

- time heals but i'm forever broken
Christophe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2003, 01:47   #12
Krynis
Major Dude
 
Krynis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Canada B.C. Posts: 666
Posts: 771
Send a message via ICQ to Krynis Send a message via AIM to Krynis Send a message via Yahoo to Krynis
Swe---et it comes with a lite :P
Krynis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2003, 02:32   #13
StillWater
Forum King
 
StillWater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Nov 1978
Posts: 3,883
I've just played around with the Media Library, and I like it. Winamp just got way better

but:

-why does the vertical strip that separates the two subwindows in the ML have to be skinned the way it is (by choosing the colours but not being able to change its actual design)? Why can't it be skinned like the outside borders, allowing the skinner to customise the ML more holistically?

-The stretching sliders will probably be a bit of a pain to skin - not very flexible and they'll have to look very similar on every skin (pretty boring). Why can't they just work similarly to how the slider in the PL works?

-Is there any way to change the font used in the left-hand subwindow and the buttons on the bottom?



-you've added cursor support for the MB and AVS

Sow a thought, reap an action; sow an action, reap a habit; sow a habit, reap a character; sow a character, reap a destiny.

All my skins: @ winamp.com @ 1K1WS @ Deviantart.com

My latest Flash Project: BreathingEarth.net
StillWater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2003, 02:48   #14
Christophe
Sexaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally posted by ¤db¤
-The stretching sliders will probably be a bit of a pain to skin - not very flexible and they'll have to look very similar on every skin (pretty boring). Why can't they just work similarly to how the slider in the PL works?
Because their size change (better UI response, Windows like) and the PL's one doesn't (BAD )

-Christophe

- time heals but i'm forever broken
Christophe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2003, 04:30   #15
flatmatt
Iron Chef
(Reviewer)
 
flatmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Winamp Island
Posts: 3,039
Hrmmm, my Winamp just quit. All I did was open AVS, resize it, and task switch over to here. Dammit!

AVS skin... All... Gone.
flatmatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2003, 05:33   #16
flatmatt
Iron Chef
(Reviewer)
 
flatmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Winamp Island
Posts: 3,039
Whoa, this is cool. I've already killed the title and made the middle section as narrow as possible by making all the letters 1 pixel wide matching the background color.

Hey, what's this blue square under the lower-right resize on gen.bmp do anyway? I can't figure it out...
flatmatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2003, 05:57   #17
flatmatt
Iron Chef
(Reviewer)
 
flatmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Winamp Island
Posts: 3,039
I must stop adding posts all in a row... But this one has an attachment, and I'll leave off my sig. So ha!

Anyway, too bad a couple things aren't customizable, i.e. dropdown scrollbars, selections in ML (Hint for release version?).

Anyway, here's the new Redefine library...
Attached Images
File Type: png library.png (7.9 KB, 294 views)
flatmatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2003, 08:50   #18
net-cruizer
Senior Member
 
net-cruizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: BC, CANADA
Posts: 367
Anyone have the defaualt bitmap for the new vis plugin in WA 2.9?
I have checked the winamp.exe and the vis_avs.dll and can't find any bitmaps that would be asociated.

Last edited by net-cruizer; 22nd March 2003 at 09:18.
net-cruizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2003, 08:54   #19
Mr Jones
Nothing to say...
 
Mr Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 23,091
It uses the new gen.bmp file to make the frame.
Mr Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2003, 09:19   #20
net-cruizer
Senior Member
 
net-cruizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: BC, CANADA
Posts: 367
Quote:
Originally posted by Mr Jones
It uses the new gen.bmp file to make the frame.
Thanx.
net-cruizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2003, 09:34   #21
skinme!
Forum King
 
skinme!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: 127.0.0.1 Website: skinme.net
Posts: 3,352
OK, I like this version so far. I haven't looked at how to skin it yet. What happened to the whole WA5 thing or am I jumping ahead of myself?

He had decided to live forever, or die in the attempt
In America - a must see film
skinme! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2003, 09:45   #22
Mr Jones
Nothing to say...
 
Mr Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 23,091
Your jumping ahead, Codename WA5 will be sometime late summer (read summer 2005 probably )
Mr Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2003, 11:19   #23
skinme!
Forum King
 
skinme!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: 127.0.0.1 Website: skinme.net
Posts: 3,352
k. I'm happy now. Winamp 2.9beta is good and not convoluted yet.

He had decided to live forever, or die in the attempt
In America - a must see film
skinme! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2003, 11:23   #24
skinme!
Forum King
 
skinme!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: 127.0.0.1 Website: skinme.net
Posts: 3,352
Is there a thread for suggestions? Well here's one: a video-window-only Always-On-Top mode. That means that no matter how many Winamp wins you have open (eq,pl,ml,main,etc.) you can set it to only show the video window on top (of all other programs).

He had decided to live forever, or die in the attempt
In America - a must see film
skinme! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2003, 11:47   #25
Mr Jones
Nothing to say...
 
Mr Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 23,091
Prog suggestions are probably best in the GD thread I linked to up top, skin ones probably in here, as you guys are skinning it, I see Christophe has checked in here , so I guess he is aware of it.

If you have something that you feel is worth mentioning, bugs , suggestions etc etc, I can always forward it onto the beta mail list.
Mr Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2003, 12:20   #26
skinme!
Forum King
 
skinme!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: 127.0.0.1 Website: skinme.net
Posts: 3,352
Could you forward my thing then? Thankee.

// I'll post it in the GD thread as well.

// Now they tell me the EQ's range is +_ 12Db (not 20Db) grrrrrrrrrr

// no wait -- that's the new EQ. ignore me, i am but an idiot.

He had decided to live forever, or die in the attempt
In America - a must see film
skinme! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2003, 12:37   #27
ripe
Major Dude
 
ripe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Can't See Me
Posts: 726
Quote:
Originally posted by db
why does the vertical strip that separates the two subwindows in the ML have to be skinned the way it is (by choosing the colours but not being able to change its actual design)? Why can't it be skinned like the outside borders, allowing the skinner to customise the ML more holistically?
yeah, it would be better (certainly for the kind of skins I like to make) if the ML could be completely skinnable. The flat colour of the scrollbars, column headers and buttons doesn't match easily with the skinned areas.

Quote:
Originally posted by flatmatt
Whoa, this is cool. I've already killed the title and made the middle section as narrow as possible by making all the letters 1 pixel wide matching the background color.
I wonder what happens if you crop the bitmap to exclude the the letters?

Quote:
Hey, what's this blue square under the lower-right resize on gen.bmp do anyway? I can't figure it out...
I can't figure that one either. Hasn't Jellby got it mapped out yet?

Quote:
Hrmmm, my Winamp just quit. All I did was open AVS, resize it, and task switch over to here.
I'm occasionally having some display problems too, particularly when I resize the ML, the scrollbars go screwy and transparent and Winamp eventually freezes

The extra tiles that go around the top middle of the gen titlebar are a nice addition , and the AVS window is mo' bettah! Even the depressed X button works Has anybody found the ML button on main yet ?

ripe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2003, 12:44   #28
neversun
Banned
 
neversun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: 12 inches from the monitor
Posts: 72
Quote:
Originally posted by ripe
Has anybody found the ML button on main yet ?
yea, tis where the old winamp logo used to be
neversun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2003, 13:17   #29
CraigF
Passionately Apathetic
Administrator
 
CraigF's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Hell
Posts: 5,435
its an option, you can have it there, or not. old sk00l style i suppose

CraigF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2003, 13:30   #30
neversun
Banned
 
neversun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: 12 inches from the monitor
Posts: 72
moved for the sake of not being banned :P
neversun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2003, 13:40   #31
Mr Jones
Nothing to say...
 
Mr Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 23,091
Would you like to pimp that in your original thread, this is after all a thread on how to skin the new bits of WA2, not a "Look at my skin" style thread, oh, sorry, not your skin is it, I keep forgetting.....
Mr Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2003, 17:07   #32
StillWater
Forum King
 
StillWater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Nov 1978
Posts: 3,883
Quote:
Originally posted by flatmatt
Hrmmm, my Winamp just quit. All I did was open AVS, resize it, and task switch over to here. Dammit!
That sounds like one of the issues listed in the readme.txt. Did you have the AVS in fullscreen?

Quote:
Originally posted by Christophe
Because their size change (better UI response, Windows like) and the PL's one doesn't (BAD )

-Christophe
I have my doubts that the size changes of the scrollers is enough of a pro to outweigh the cons (ie. the ML skins will only ever look kind of 'half-skinned', since the scrollbars will almost always have that Windows look, rather than the look of the rest of the skin).


Once you have a couple of playlists imported into the ML, can you somehow save it so that the next time you load up winamp, they will all be there? If not, can someone explain to me the point of the playlist section in the ML


///when you have a video in a size other than 100% size, with winamp set to "repeat", the video seems to revert back to 100% each time it loops.

Sow a thought, reap an action; sow an action, reap a habit; sow a habit, reap a character; sow a character, reap a destiny.

All my skins: @ winamp.com @ 1K1WS @ Deviantart.com

My latest Flash Project: BreathingEarth.net

Last edited by StillWater; 22nd March 2003 at 18:11.
StillWater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2003, 17:10   #33
flatmatt
Iron Chef
(Reviewer)
 
flatmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Winamp Island
Posts: 3,039
Quote:
Originally posted by CraigF
its an option, you can have it there, or not. old sk00l style i suppose
Ah, I see. Option unchecked.

Whoa, so it never really was 20 dB? Holy bear! That's a heck of a typo!
flatmatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2003, 17:59   #34
skinme!
Forum King
 
skinme!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: 127.0.0.1 Website: skinme.net
Posts: 3,352
No it was 20Db... that got me too. They meant on the WA2.9 alpha I must assume, as WA2.9 has a new EQ which goes to 12Db whereas WA2.8 and co's went to 20Db. "Why?", I ask, "why must Nullsoft insist on confusing us all?". Is it their master plan to take over our minds? Who knows?

He had decided to live forever, or die in the attempt
In America - a must see film
skinme! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2003, 18:03   #35
Mr Jones
Nothing to say...
 
Mr Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 23,091
the +20/-20 on the base skin was the typo, 2.9 does feature new EQ processing goodies, but that isn't what has forced the base skin change.
Mr Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2003, 19:18   #36
net-cruizer
Senior Member
 
net-cruizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: BC, CANADA
Posts: 367
I love how the scrollbars can be skinned in the Media Library.
Attached Images
File Type: png library.png (11.9 KB, 279 views)
net-cruizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2003, 19:23   #37
binary hero
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 7,004
Send a message via ICQ to binary hero
Quote:
Originally posted by Christophe
Because their size change (better UI response, Windows like) and the PL's one doesn't (BAD )

-Christophe
well, having them stay the same sizer (like the pl) would keep old-school winampers happy, would create more unity for the windows in general, and would stop my ml looking crap (maybe an option "use windows style scrollbars", could you stretch the pl slider too? i assume so).
binary hero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2003, 19:32   #38
Mr Jones
Nothing to say...
 
Mr Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 23,091
I personally have no issue with how the ML scroll bars have been done, been skinning the WA3 ones in a similar way for the last 18 months or so, it's just a mind set you have to get yourself into...
Mr Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2003, 21:13   #39
FooMonkey
Listens to Chicago!
(Major Dude)
 
FooMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Shwhah?
Posts: 975
Send a message via ICQ to FooMonkey Send a message via AIM to FooMonkey Send a message via Yahoo to FooMonkey
haven't gotten arouund to trying to skin any of it yet....I don't like any of my old skins enough to search for the psp files and try to update them...I hope the ML won't turn out to be more annoying than the PL though..

/me waits patiently for Jellby to update Skinners' Atlas

[website](foomonkey)|(Winamp|DevArt)[skins]
I'm so hip I have trouble seeing over my pelvis.
Jellby's Skiners' Atlas
FooMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2003, 23:55   #40
667
Member
 
667's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Illinois
Posts: 78
Send a message via AIM to 667
:P I'll get Winamp 2.90 when it's out. BTW, what happened to Winamp 2.82-2.89?
667 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Skinning and Design > Classic Skins

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump