Old 9th March 2009, 17:46   #1
47napper

Missing Media Info

I am new to WinAmp so please be patient and tell me if this is the right forum for this question.

I bought WinAmp Pro and got rid of Windows Media Player. All of my music files are MP3 format (none are WMA). When I asked WinAmp to "Add Media to Library" and directed it to my existing Music directory it brought in all the tunes but missed the Artist, Album and Track information for about half the music. I have rerun the "Add" function 3 or 4 times without success. I ripped a new CD and it is fine.

What needs to be done to get this missing info?

Thanks Napper
47napper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2009, 22:22   #2
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator

Right click on the file(s) which miss(es) metadata in the Playlist or in the Library under 'Local Media' select 'Send to' --> 'Auto Tagger'. It will then download the tags from the Internet.

If you cannot find the Auto Tagger entry, run the installer again and make sure you've selected it.
Koopa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2009, 12:29   #3
47napper

Thank you Koopatrooper. I followed your instructions and it went through auto tagger process and told me it was complete. When I look in Media View, the Artist, Album and Track # columns are still blank for more than half the songs (I have over 2000). When I look at the files in Windows Explorer the Album name, artist info and track # show up just as they always have for every song so teh information is on the drive just not being displayed by WinAmp. Suggestions where I go from here, hopefully short of having to re rip every CD I have.
Old 10th March 2009, 22:06   #4
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator

Replied to wrong thread, hehe never mind.

Maybe your files were wrongly tagged, so that Winamp cannot read the tags. Is there any chance, that you could upload a file, which doesn't show artist correctly for you?
Koopa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2009, 22:35   #5
47napper