Old 3rd September 2012, 18:31   #1
stefu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
winamp plays 48khz mp3 slower & lower tuned

hi everybody,

i know this must be the 58927th time somebody complains about 48khz issues, but i can't help it, it doesn't work out.

first of all, i run winamp 5.63 (installed over version 5.622) with no additional plugins except ASIO (),
which goes out to my ESI U46DJ Interface and from there to my speakers.

i have a song in 48khz and one in 44.1khz enqueued in the winamp playlist. the 44.1khz song plays fine
but the 48khz song plays slower and lower tuned, like it was stretched in time and pitch.

the very same songs are played correctly in adobe audition, it also uses the ASIO plugin with the same preferences.

so, why does winamp not like 48khz mp3?
stefu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2012, 18:57   #2
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by stefu View Post
hi everybody with no additional plugins except ASIO ()
that is implying a contradiction as Winamp doesn't have a native ASIO plug-in. if you are using a 3rd party plug-in (as your post is implying despite the other part) then you need to seek an update for that plug-in and / or contact the plug-in author directly.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2012, 19:12   #3
stefu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
oops!

well, i thought saying no additional plugins EXCEPT asio would make it clear..

i already had the latest version of ASIO4ALL in this case. noticed it was beta, installed last stable over it, no changes. so i still think it's unlikely to be the plugin's fault regarding also the fact that it works perfectly well in adobe audition.
stefu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2012, 21:26   #4
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
you really cannot compare Winamp and a 3rd party plug-in to Adobe Audition. and from what i'm aware off about ASIO4ALL, that implies your audio driver doesn't have true ASIO support anyway which might be leading to the 3rd party output plug-in having issues with interfacing with things - definitely something you'd have to follow up on with the plug-in's author.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2012, 21:33   #5
stefu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
alright.. let's keep it a mystery for now and i'll see if i can get to someone from that asio plugin. anyway, thanks for discussing that!
stefu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2012, 05:44   #6
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,658
Hi stefu,

ASIO drivers usually provide their own control panel where the sample rate can be selected. Have you tried the songs with just the official WA plug-ins? If you provide them (on mindshare.com or something similar) I will test on my system. I don't use ASIO4ALL and if they play or don't play right on my system, it may provide further clues where the problem lies.

Winamp Pro v5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen v1.0 by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit v1809 desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2012, 15:24   #7
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,658
Hi stefu,

I meant to write "mediafire.com" instead of "mindshare.com" in post number 6.

Winamp Pro v5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen v1.0 by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit v1809 desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2012, 17:43   #8
stefu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
hi aminifu, thanks for helping on this.

as you can see in the picture, no sample rate can be selected from the controls. i tried with that 44.1<->48khzbox ticked and without. what makes me wonder is that in the windows device control of my ESI interface, i can't change the default samplerate and bit depth settings, which are set to 16bit, 44100Hz. maybe that is where the problem comes from. which would make me wonder even more why it works in audition then.

i can't use the direct sound plugin in winamp, i get the magical "error creating direct sound buffer" error. i don't know if it worked on a fresh winamp install without the asio plugin, i installed the latest winamp over 5.622 and it inherited the asio plugin.

aminifu: i uploaded all my output plugins that i can choose from in winamp:
http://www10.zippyshare.com/v/27408593/file.html

thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	a4a_control_snip.JPG
Views:	392
Size:	45.7 KB
ID:	49869  
stefu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2012, 20:30   #9
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,658
Hi stefu,

You misunderstand, I offered to try to play the songs on my system which does not have the ASIO plug-in. I need the 44.1 KHz and 48 KHz versions of the song. I do not need the output plug-ins you are using.

I also do not have (or want) Adobe Audition. Maybe the licensed mp3 decoder it uses is configured to automatically downsample 48 KHz to 44.1 KHz on your system. Check your settings and documentation. Which version of Audition are you using?

Winamp Pro v5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen v1.0 by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit v1809 desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2012, 23:18   #10
stefu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
oh the plugins.. i'm sorry, still searching for my brain.

thanks for offering so much help but it's really not necessary to dig deeper into this, gotta use a different program for the 48khz songs then.

i use audition version 3.0.1
stefu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Tags
48khz, lower tune, mp3, slow

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump