Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Bug Reports

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 14th December 2003, 08:29   #1
internat
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sweden, yey. Snow. Yey.
Posts: 6
Winamp 2 and Winamp 5 can't handle large wave-files. (error asking thread to die)

I found a similar topic with someone having this problem altho he
sorted his problem by reinstalling winamp, that however does not solve my problem so I thought that Id give this baby her own thread.

Whenever I try to play a .wav that is bigger then say 600mbs winamp
at BEST plays 5-6 minutes and then stops, ponders its actions for a minute or two and then gives a cool popup stating that "error asking thread to die" and then lockups so I have to manually kill the process (XP).

I have tried this on Winamp 2 & 5, havent tried it on Winamp3 yet tho (i dont get along very well with that player), any suggestions?
The weird part is that if i convert the .wav to .mp3 winamp can play it just fine without a problem. I just Sound Forge 6 to record, is SOund Forge putting garbage into the .wav that winamp doesnt like, and is lame removing that garbage?
internat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2003, 22:26   #2
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,851
Can't reproduce.
Just tried it now with a 1.2Gb WAV

There's only 3 or 4 refs to this error on the whole forums, and 3 of them are from ~2 years ago

What is your soundcard make/model?
(or is it some onboard sound chip?)
Got the latest drivers?


What format are the WAV's ?
eg. 44.1KHz, 16-bit, stereo = standard (cd quality)


Re: Winamp

We're only interested in fixing bugs in the latest build of Winamp 5
(currently rc666, with 5.0 Final due very very VERY soon)

What are your settings in the Waveform Decoder?
(prefs -> plugins -> input -> in_wave.dll -> config)

particularly the 'real-time conversion' settings:
convert 24/32-bit to 16-bit, etc
any of these checkmarked?

Which Output plugin is active?
DirectSound or WaveOut

Using any 3rd-party plugins, eg. any dsp/fx plugins?
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2003, 22:37   #3
internat
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sweden, yey. Snow. Yey.
Posts: 6
Its a SB Live! Value, tried both the lates MS approved drivers and Creatives own drivers, the waves are 44.1khz, 16bit, stereo PCM with 1411kbps.

The settings in waveform decoder is associated with wav, voc, au, snd, aif, aiff. Playback priority "above normal" and nothing else, no boxes checked.

DirectSound is choosen where "Primary SOund Driver" is in its turn choosen. Buffersize is 2000ms, prebuffer is 500ms.
No other plugins. And it is rc666 of 5.0.

Could winamp be disliking the fact that it has to stream it over a windows network? Doesnt feel like it should because i stream mp3s over the network everyday.
internat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2003, 00:45   #4
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,851
Hmm . . . streaming over a network?
What speed connection is the LAN?
Enough to handle 1411kbps?
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2003, 04:52   #5
internat
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sweden, yey. Snow. Yey.
Posts: 6
100mbits so it should be more then enough me thinks, i usually top 8Mb/sec to that machine. For the sake of argument, would winamp die with such a popup if the stream got lagged? Wouldnt it just "lag in normal way"?
internat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2003, 05:39   #6
Dazog
Moderator Alumni
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 418
Quote:
Originally posted by internat
100mbits so it should be more then enough me thinks, i usually top 8Mb/sec to that machine. For the sake of argument, would winamp die with such a popup if the stream got lagged? Wouldnt it just "lag in normal way"?
it shouldn't die, it only does for you.
Dazog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Bug Reports

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump