Old 16th September 2000, 07:40   #1
Phoenix1129
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Ft. Myers
Posts: 1
When I try to configure mp3 output plug-in I am getting a popup window that tells me the proper CODEC is not installed. The window tells me to go to shoutcast.com/download.html (page does not exist). Where do I go from here. Thanks
Phoenix1129 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th September 2000, 03:31   #2
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,913
Open the accompanying text file "out_mp3.txt" & I think you'll find all the relevant info in there.
Two web addresses = provided.
[btw, the txt file is in the Winamp\Plugins folder]

btw, I think they've moved the Shoutcast link, but it's still there somewhere ?!?!

I'm also pretty sure that the MP3 ACM codec is on the Windows CD-ROM.

Goto:
Add/Rem Programs Control Panel -> Windows Setup -> MultiMedia -> Details.
Make sure there's a checkmark next to Audio Compression & Media Player.
As far as I know, it's included in one of those.

If anything is greyed out then it means you are missing some components.
Uncheck -> Close -> Reopen -> Recheck
Make sure the Windows CD-ROM is in the drive & let Windows do its thing.

Afterwards, you can get confirmation that the codec is installed.
Goto: MultiMedia CPL -> Advanced/Devices tab -> Audio Compression Codecs
Make sure that Fraunhofer MP3 Codec is in the list.

If not, then you'll have to visit one of the websites mentioned in the txt file & D/L it there.

ps. I've got a sneaky feeling that PP's gonna come back & tell ya to download his LameEnc-based encoder instead

-------
DJ-Egg
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump