Old 8th September 2002, 21:34   #1
jebg
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3
Send a message via ICQ to jebg
How to play a "protected" CD??

Hej,

I don't know if you have the same problem out there. But a lot of CDs today cannot be played on a PC. Only on the CD-player attached to the big HiFi equipment. Is it possible to use such a CD in a PC? Anyone who knows??

Yours

Benny
jebg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2002, 21:36   #2
Bilbo Baggins
Wind Chime of the Apocalypse
 
Bilbo Baggins's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: The Forest
Posts: 17,226
Draw on the outside track with a black marker pen.
Bilbo Baggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2002, 21:40   #3
I am Jesus
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Your mom
Posts: 1,555
Send a message via AIM to I am Jesus
take off the condom
I am Jesus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2002, 21:43   #4
jebg
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3
Send a message via ICQ to jebg
Yes, I've heard about that... that would be in the very inner ring. But what about CDs you borrow from friends? Isn't there a program or two who fools this protection??
jebg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2002, 21:45   #5
ctn|chrisw
Forum King
 
ctn|chrisw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,308
I think you have to make a cd image or sumptin


ctn|chrisw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2002, 21:50   #6
Xion(810)
Major Dude
 
Xion(810)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Gran Da Val Island, Ragol
Posts: 1,020
Start>Programs>Accessories>Entertainment>CD Player

Ta-da.
Xion(810) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2002, 21:57   #7
jebg
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3
Send a message via ICQ to jebg
Quote:
Originally posted by Xion(810)
Start>Programs>Accessories>Entertainment>CD Player

Ta-da.
That would be conveniant but the computer doesn't even notice there's a CD in the tray....
jebg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2002, 22:00   #8
baafie
feminazi
(Major Dude)
 
baafie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 1,767
Quote:
Originally posted by jebg
Yes, I've heard about that... that would be in the very inner ring. But what about CDs you borrow from friends? Isn't there a program or two who fools this protection??
The protection is based upon hardware, not software.
baafie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2002, 22:01   #9
CraigF
Passionately Apathetic
Administrator
 
CraigF's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Hell
Posts: 5,435
dont buy them, then the record company get the message.


more often than not, you can return the record and get a nonprotected one in return.

CraigF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2002, 22:08   #10
james
Forum PFY
(Major Dude)
 
james's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: WR3 or NG7 Posts: 6.2+3i
Posts: 1,698
I have a serious question here.

How is it that this subject is allowed (circumventing copy protection) whereas an earlier thread about saving Shoutcast streams mysteriously disappeared...

He uses statistics like a drunk uses lamp-posts: for support, not illumination.
james is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2002, 23:20   #11
CraigF
Passionately Apathetic
Administrator
 
CraigF's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Hell
Posts: 5,435
because he legally purchased a cd that he cannot play due to that?

I suppose it still breaks the over media zelous DMCA even talking about a black marker.

"mommy, when i grow up i want to be in charge of a giant industry and buy out the governments and make them write law for me."

CraigF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2002, 23:51   #12
I am Jesus
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Your mom
Posts: 1,555
Send a message via AIM to I am Jesus
Quote:
Originally posted by baafie

The protection is based upon hardware, not software.

Yeah, Just like I mentioned above
I am Jesus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2002, 23:55   #13
whiteflip
Post Master General
(Forum King)
 
whiteflip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Seattle, Now Las Vegas
Posts: 6,028
dont buy it. if you buy it return it. if it says CDDA and has that copy protection on it then sue for mislabeling a product and/or false advertising.

I'm Back?
whiteflip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2002, 01:58   #14
dirkdeftly
Forum King
 
dirkdeftly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Cydonia, Mars
Posts: 2,651
Send a message via AIM to dirkdeftly
Whiteflip: That's a smart move, let's spend thousands of dollars on suing a company over a $16 item that won't play in our computer. Jeez...

"guilt is the cause of more disauders
than history's most obscene marorders" --E. E. Cummings
dirkdeftly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2002, 02:50   #15
QHOBBES
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: I H8 Mods
Posts: 1,405
Send a message via AIM to QHOBBES Send a message via Yahoo to QHOBBES
Here's what you do: buy a copy protected cd. Now right after you buy
head over to customer service thing and tell them you want to return
because you don't agree with the liscening terms (good way to get free
software/games, but almost all RIAA cds have the same liscening terms,
so it's assumed you will follow them if you open the package), and
wish to return it. Just keep doing this the entire day until all the
copy protected cds are off the shelf. btw they will find this
extremely annoying since it usually is a longer process to return
something than to buy it, so bring some friends so they never have any
down time.
QHOBBES is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2002, 04:33   #16
Bop
Forum King
 
Bop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 2,884
OR you could just use you a standard stereo...

ßoþL¡©¡†¥
Bop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2002, 05:34   #17
liquidmotion
Smokes Two Joints
Beta Team
 
liquidmotion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SFBA
Posts: 3,680
Send a message via ICQ to liquidmotion
Quote:
Originally posted by Boplicity
OR you could just use you a standard stereo...
i like the way this guy thinks!

Bop for mod!

For a good time: shup | stashbox | my homepage
liquidmotion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2002, 09:05   #18
whiteflip
Post Master General
(Forum King)
 
whiteflip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Seattle, Now Las Vegas
Posts: 6,028
what about people who put thousands of songs on their computer and wire them into a "Standard Stereo"??? hmmm. I only have 1/3/5/6/10 disc changers hooked up. Thats only a total of 25 CD's! plus i would have to switch the input on the receiver!

so much easier to build a network playlist put it on winamp 2.81 turn on repeat and shuffle and eq off put the lid down and turn the volume up.

I'm Back?
whiteflip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2002, 09:18   #19
Kudoz7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 12
hifi

put the cd in a hifi and use a line out...or if you are lucky enough..a digital optical connector and rip the SOB to MP3 or WMA...for ur own use of course.....
Kudoz7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2002, 10:41   #20
TwIsTeDdDx
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 108
many say dvd-rom's work fine (does for me)
but also my lite-on burner reads the cd's fine with the latest firmware..

So far the protection has annoyed the masses and in no prevented sharing mp3's.. Dam if I have to I'll play the cd in my cd player and use the line in on my soundcard to copy the music.. If something can play it, it can be copied.. Record companies are wasting their time and annoying the lil guys that dont have the hardware (normally the people not making the mp3's anyways).
TwIsTeDdDx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2002, 10:44   #21
ctn|chrisw
Forum King
 
ctn|chrisw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,308
Quote:
Originally posted by whiteflip
what about people who put thousands of songs on their computer and wire them into a "Standard Stereo"??? hmmm. I only have 1/3/5/6/10 disc changers hooked up. Thats only a total of 25 CD's! plus i would have to switch the input on the receiver!

so much easier to build a network playlist put it on winamp 2.81 turn on repeat and shuffle and eq off put the lid down and turn the volume up.
My computer is plugged into my stereo if thats what u mean. I also have my tv hooked up (i can't stand crappy sound quality)


ctn|chrisw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2002, 13:56   #22
psychoticguyver
Major Dude
 
psychoticguyver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: loonieland posts: 666
Posts: 750
Send a message via AIM to psychoticguyver Send a message via Yahoo to psychoticguyver
the best way to use one in a pc is to take a good marker or felt tip pen and color in the outside ring of the cd (its a lot darker than the rest of the cd) and it wil make the cd drive skip the corrupted data track and play the cd (i tried this on my spiderman cd and it works)



Now accepting refugee's
psychoticguyver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2002, 14:41   #23
. - .... .- -. ....
Backpacking
Moderator
 
. - .... .- -. ....'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: საქართველო (Georgia)
Posts: 10,104
Send a message via ICQ to . - .... .- -. .... Send a message via Yahoo to . - .... .- -. ....
Hmmm... the black marker approach. I wonder, out of all of you that suggested this, how many of you have actually tried it, or which ones got the instructions e-mailed to them by "a friend"...

1) I don't really feel like drawing black lines all over my CD's
2) It doesn't work. After a week of trying I can testify to that.

The problem is that there is a corrupt data track purposely written onto the CD. With your hifi this is not a problem, as it reads audio tracks only - it wouldn't know what to do with a data track. But your CD-ROM is designed to read data and audio, in that order. The corrupt data track never lets it get as far as reading the audio from the CD.

If you want to rip your CD to mp3, or create a readable CD, then you are going to need IsoBuster. This allows you to view the sessions on the disc, and you will see the audio and data tracks. Extract the audio tracks to your hard drive (rt-clk -> extract), and then either convert them to mp3 using an application such as CDex or EAC, or create a new audio CD from the wav files. As this new CD doesn't have the data track, it should play on your PC just fine.

Like my photography? Buy some here....
. - .... .- -. .... is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2002, 15:09   #24
psychoticguyver
Major Dude
 
psychoticguyver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: loonieland posts: 666
Posts: 750
Send a message via AIM to psychoticguyver Send a message via Yahoo to psychoticguyver
hey i read it off the winamp news thingy first and after a while i tried it on my spiderman cd (its the waaaaaaaaaaaaaaay outside ring of the cd which looks differant from the rest of it) and it does work. it blocks the corrupt data track so the cd-rom drive skips it and goes onto the rest of the cd AUDIO without having to use any programme and setting back a couple of companys from their great idea of doing that



Now accepting refugee's
psychoticguyver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2002, 15:13   #25
. - .... .- -. ....
Backpacking
Moderator
 
. - .... .- -. ....'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: საქართველო (Georgia)
Posts: 10,104
Send a message via ICQ to . - .... .- -. .... Send a message via Yahoo to . - .... .- -. ....
I know the theory behind it, but unless you get the marker line exactly on the border between the data and audio files then it either won't work, or lops off the audio tracks. And many CD's don't have a visible border between the files so its a case of trial and error.

I tried it with the "Attack of the Clones" soundtrack. One week later, at the cost of my sanity, the CD looked like a map of London and still wouldn't play.

I prefer my method

Like my photography? Buy some here....
. - .... .- -. .... is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2002, 15:18   #26
psychoticguyver
Major Dude
 
psychoticguyver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: loonieland posts: 666
Posts: 750
Send a message via AIM to psychoticguyver Send a message via Yahoo to psychoticguyver
i used my spiderman cd as a basis for my theory of it that most of the corrupted data tracks are about 0.25cm (2.5mm) from the see through outside plasticy thing which seems to work perfectly on mine and my friends cd and for the crypto-gram blokie too (most of the time it's just a thing of getting the right angle of light hitting the cd for when you when you color it



Now accepting refugee's
psychoticguyver is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump