Old 3rd December 2004, 04:57   #1
Saroncer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 12
Double-clicking song adds whole Music Library to Playlist

Hey All,
I'm switching over from MusicMatch, (Is that a bad word here?) so maybe I just have a WA learning curve to get around. I've scoured other postings and found info that was similar but not close enought to solve my problem. Speaking of which: every time I double-click the song I want to add to the Playlist and it immediately begins playing, but WA then adds my entire Library. So I switch the "click/enter option" to "enqueues" and it fixes the one problem but then the song won't immediately begin playing. Is there a solution? I've attached my Media Library settings. Do I need to provide more info?
Saroncer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2004, 05:04   #2
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,970
Winamp 5.07 > Prefs (Ctrl+P) > Media Library > Library Options tab:
Uncheck: Play search results (start with selected) on double click in media views


Note: 5.07 download links are here
(winamp.com hasn't been updated yet).
Although the exact same setting applies to 5.06 as well...
DJ Egg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2004, 23:32   #3
Saroncer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 12
Thanks for the update link!!

Next thing... (man, usually I can figure this stuff out myself)...how can I add to the playlist without deleting the current song playing?

PS--All settings are default with the new install except for the change suggested above.

Thanks, thanks
Saroncer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2004, 00:19   #4
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,588
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
Update: 12-03-2004 5:30 PM EST - Winamp.com has just been updated by Wen (webmaster) and 5.07 is now available directly from winamp.com
Quote:
how can I add to the playlist without deleting the current song playing?
Right-click and select Enqueue instead of Play

You can also set Enqueue as the default double-click action...

CTRL+P for Preferences > General Preferences > File Types > Explorer Settings > checkmark "Enqueue files on double click in Windows Explorer"

Don't email or PM me concerning Winamp. Instead, either start a NEW TOPIC or post a REPLY in the appropriate thread in these forums. This will also benefit others who may have a similar question or problem. But before posting, please first Search the forums and read all FAQs and all Sticky threads.

ORB Remote Broadcast

[ Automated Jukebox | Nunzio's Home | Wacky Videos | Solve the Prunella Puzzle! ]
[ LINE RIDER! | My Resume | Virtual Chess | Composite Sketch | My Niece's Band ]
[ Plugins by Joonas | DrO's Winamp Plugins and Extras | K-Jöfol ]
Nunzio390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2004, 00:43   #5
Saroncer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 12
Thanks for the input!
Alright,
Now for the hat-trick...

Here's basically what I'm looking for:
1)Double-click on song and only that song is added to playlist
2)That song begins playing if Winamp is stopped
3)Other songs on playlist aren't removed

So far, twiddling with the setting gets me 2 out of 3 in several combinations, but never all three. I really liked that ability in MM but just had enough of their [insert explicative here] and totally dig WA search capabilities.
Anyway, any help would be greatly appreciated.
Saroncer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2004, 00:46   #6
billyvnilly
Forum King, M.D.
 
billyvnilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Detroit burbs
Posts: 3,379
Send a message via ICQ to billyvnilly Send a message via AIM to billyvnilly
i dont want to mess up your current settings so be prewarned. Joonas is experimenting with "enqueue and play" plugin here...its still in dev stage...WARNING.


[edit]to below, waht nunzio said ...and yes ive tested it, ive got bunches of plugins installed, joonas's plugin worked fine (for an alpha/beta). im running xp pro w/ most current WA. its easy to remove as well.[/edit]

Last edited by billyvnilly; 4th December 2004 at 01:09.
billyvnilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2004, 00:59   #7
Saroncer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 12
Cool!!

By "WARNING" do you mean that:
this is something that can be un-plugged if it goes haywire,
it could potentially screw up WinAmp necessitating reinstall
it could crash my system necessitating an OS reinstall
Saroncer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2004, 01:03   #8
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,588
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
Q. this is something that can be un-plugged if it goes haywire
A. probably

Q. it could potentially screw up WinAmp necessitating reinstall
A. possibly

Q. it could crash my system necessitating an OS reinstall
A. highly unlikely


But also take note of the fact that ANY 3rd-party authored plugins or skins for that matter are "use at your own risk".

3rd-party authoring refers to anything and everything that might have been added after the Winamp default installation that did not come prebundled in the distribution, and is not part of the default Winamp Component List.

Don't email or PM me concerning Winamp. Instead, either start a NEW TOPIC or post a REPLY in the appropriate thread in these forums. This will also benefit others who may have a similar question or problem. But before posting, please first Search the forums and read all FAQs and all Sticky threads.

ORB Remote Broadcast

[ Automated Jukebox | Nunzio's Home | Wacky Videos | Solve the Prunella Puzzle! ]
[ LINE RIDER! | My Resume | Virtual Chess | Composite Sketch | My Niece's Band ]
[ Plugins by Joonas | DrO's Winamp Plugins and Extras | K-Jöfol ]
Nunzio390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2004, 01:22   #9
Saroncer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 12
Okay...feeling denser by the minute.
Downloaded plugin, put it in the plugin root folder, restarted Winamp, but no sign of it. I'm guessing the "gen" in the filename "gen_enqplay" means it's a general purpose plugin, but I'm not seeing it in that (or any other) plugin directory.
Saroncer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2004, 01:37   #10
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,588
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
Yes. That would mean it's a general purpose plugin, and should be listed in Winamp Preferences > Plug-ins > General Purpose > "plugin name" > double-click or press "Configure Selected plug-in" button

@ billyvnilly...

Help him out. I have no need for and really don't feel like installing the plugin to test it for him (although I usually do that for people). You've used the plugin. Tell him what to do. I'm tired anyway. Been answering too many posts today.
Nunzio390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2004, 01:44   #11
Saroncer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 12
Sorry to drain yer brain...

Thanks for your attention. I really appreciate you Mods taking care of us Noobs. On the upside, I'm just about ready to go "PRO".
Thanks again, everyone

PS--I still need the help, though...don't everyone give up yet!
Saroncer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2004, 01:52   #12
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,588
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
Ahh what the hell. I downloaded it. Works fine. But it's incomplete and doesn't show up in Preferences.

In this case, with this plugin, contrary to what I said in my very first post in this thread, you must NOT set Enqueue as the default double-click action in Winamp...

CTRL+P for Preferences > General Preferences > File Types > Explorer Settings > UNcheck (if checked) "Enqueue files on double click in Windows Explorer"
  1. First close Winamp (important). Download gen_enqplay.zip
  2. Unzip/ extract/ unarchive gen_enqplay.dll from gen_enqplay.zip and place it directly into your Winamp\Plugins folder
  3. Restart Winamp
  4. Load a playlist into Winamp
  5. Use Explorer or any other means to navigate to any valid media file on your puter
  6. Double-click the media file
  7. The file will be appended to the end of any currently loaded playlist and immediately begin playing that file
  8. No other configurations that I can see at the moment
  9. Only way to stop/ temp disable the plugin is to close Winamp, maneuver to the Winamp\Plugins folder and rename gen_enqplay.dll to gen_enqplay.dll.old (or something like that). To reenable the plugin, close Winamp, maneuver to the Winamp\Plugins folder and rename it back to gen_enqplay.dll
  10. Only way to permanently remove the plugin is to close Winamp, maneuver to the Winamp\Plugins folder and physically delete gen_enqplay.dll
Nunzio390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2004, 01:54   #13
billyvnilly
Forum King, M.D.
 
billyvnilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Detroit burbs
Posts: 3,379
Send a message via ICQ to billyvnilly Send a message via AIM to billyvnilly
ok. you downloaded the zip file, extracted to winamp\plugins correct?
If you did so, NO it will not show up, so you will have to test it.
If its totally not working and you are positive that C:\Program Files\Winamp\Plugins\gen_enqplay.dll (not .zip) exists...then please list your 3rd party plugins that you have istalled. joonas would be curious.

make sure you have "enqueue files on double click in windows explorer" unchecked.

Make sure you read Joonas' post from the earlier mentioned thread you downloaded plugin from...

Quote:
Originally posted by Nunzio390
Ahh what the hell. I downloaded it. works fine. But it's incomplete and doesn't show up in Preferences.
you just cant give up LOL
billyvnilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2004, 01:55   #14
Saroncer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 12
What a trooper!!

Hmmmm. Still haven't got it figured yet, but I'll just keep playing with it.

Better quit before your head Asplodes.
Saroncer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2004, 02:00   #15
Saroncer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 12
To my knowledge, I have installed no 3rd party plugins (except for the one in question)


---I'd make a great politician
Saroncer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2004, 02:05   #16
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,588
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
Go back and reread all 10 steps I indicated in my post above and you should have no problems. I think I added a few steps (was editing my reply) at the time you previously posted, so refresh this page to see all 10 steps if need be.
Nunzio390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2004, 02:13   #17
Saroncer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 12
Grrr. Have to stop playing now.

The Real World is calling and like an idiot, I didn't let the machine get it.

I'll try it out next chance.

thanks all
Saroncer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2004, 05:27   #18
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,970
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=183743 :/
DJ Egg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2004, 05:38   #19
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,588
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
Ahhh. That's right Egg. The PowerPlayer II plugin.

I'm sure it works fine too since you posted about it, but then I didn't even think of it even though I knew of your post and have actually referenced it before. Mental block!!!

But there's no way I can actually test it for Saroncer. I've tried installing it in the past and it just won't install on a Win95 box. Impossible. But as I said, the one Joonas created works fine, even on this old box.

@ Saroncer...

Give DJ Egg's recommendation a whirl too. It'll probably work for you cause I'm pretty certain you're not running Win95.
Nunzio390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2004, 05:43   #20
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,970
I hardly use the actual PowerPlayer2 plugin, but I couldn't live without WampEnq.exe
DJ Egg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2004, 05:46   #21
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,588
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
Hmmm. So, is there any way I can acquire WampEnq.exe without PowerPlayer II?
Nunzio390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2004, 06:04   #22
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,970
Well, I could attach it here - it's only 52kb

However, the PowerPlayer2 installer automatically sets up the registry.
I guess I could also include some regkeys . . . hmm, but would WinXP regkeys be the same for Win9x?

Otherwise, you'd have to set it up manually via Folder Options > File Types.

This is quite easy under Win9x, because all you have to do is edit the Winamp Media File and Winamp Playlist File entries (whereas all file extensions are listed separately under WinME/2k/XP).

The command line is just:
"C:\Program Files\Winamp\WampEnq.exe" "%1"

The Action = En&queue and Play in Winamp

Then you'll need to choose an appropriate icon of your choice from winamp.exe

Quite simple really :/


You said that PowerPlayer2 doesn't work under Win95, but does it actually install properly, and is WampEnq.exe in the Winamp root dir?
DJ Egg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2004, 06:33   #23
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,588
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
Sorry Egg. I was busy replying in the discussion forum right now re: skin previews. Nope. It won't install at all in Win95. But the WinXP reg keys are "similar" and I'd have no probs. Although it's easier to set it up through file types as you said. So you wanna email it to me or ya wanna attach it to a post?
Nunzio390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2004, 07:06   #24
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,970
Ok. Hopefully I won't get into any trouble for this...

Read the readme.txt for info

Note: You may wish to manually check/edit the .reg file with Notepad first.
Attached Files
File Type: zip wampenq.zip (30.7 KB, 462 views)
DJ Egg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2004, 07:10   #25
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,588
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
Thank you sir
Nunzio390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2004, 22:02   #26
Saroncer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 12
Wow! You guys are on your game.

I really appreciate the advice for what I guess is now defined as "Enqueue and Play" from Windows Explorer.

What I really need is to set this sucker up to 'Enqueue and Play' from the Media Library. I've been fiddling with the Dynamic Library plugin and looked at the other recommended ones, but no luck.

I guess I just would really like for my playlist to 'Enqueue and Play' like my old MusicMatch if anyone is familiar with how it worked.

Is it even possible?
Saroncer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2004, 23:11   #27
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,588
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
Quote:
I guess I just would really like for my playlist to 'Enqueue and Play' like my old MusicMatch if anyone is familiar with how it worked.
Not me. I wouldn't touch MusicMatch with a 10-foot long pole that someone else is holding.
Quote:
Is it even possible?
Possibly, if some enterprising Winamp 3rd-party developer shows interest in it or even thinks it's worth it.

Right now the only configurable options for Enqueue and Play in the Media Library are in Preferences > General Preferences > Media Library > options listed under "Double Click or Enter Options"

So, it boils down to a 3rd-party developer showing interest in what you do, who is willing to tackle the project.

Now I don't know if any of this can be handled in the Registry. But that's doubtful considering Registry hacks usually effect Windows Explorer handling of Enqueue and Play options, and nothing internal like the Media Library. I could be wrong there though. I'm no registry guru. DJ Egg on the other hand is.

DJ Egg has a few "Unofficial" Forums Titles that he's been "crowned" with...



ROYAL REGMEISTER
ROYAL GOOGLEMEISTER
SpybotSD log SPECIALIST
HijackThis log SPECIALIST
Tech Support GRANDMEISTER
Founding member:
Post Edit GRANDMEISTERS Society

Don't email or PM me concerning Winamp. Instead, either start a NEW TOPIC or post a REPLY in the appropriate thread in these forums. This will also benefit others who may have a similar question or problem. But before posting, please first Search the forums and read all FAQs and all Sticky threads.

ORB Remote Broadcast

[ Automated Jukebox | Nunzio's Home | Wacky Videos | Solve the Prunella Puzzle! ]
[ LINE RIDER! | My Resume | Virtual Chess | Composite Sketch | My Niece's Band ]
[ Plugins by Joonas | DrO's Winamp Plugins and Extras | K-Jöfol ]
Nunzio390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2004, 00:04   #28
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,970
Nah, can't be done via any regkey, but by a ml plugin . . . like QuickTrax - as linked to in the link in my first post in this thread :/

lol @ nunzio, hehe
DJ Egg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2004, 21:15   #29
Saroncer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 12
I'm so done with MM. Varying opinions on its degree of Evilness but after v.7.5 IMHO it was total crap---may as well use Media Player /cold shiver. But damn if I didn't like its 'enqueue and play' feature.


I'm pouring over DJs links and its finally begining to sink in how plugin architecture works. All this time I was thinking that the Dynamic Library plugin somehow modified how the Media Library functioned, not realizing they are completely independent of each other.

So I see what Nunzio means by needing a separate plugin developed to do EXACTLY what I want. Having browsed the existing and sampled the suggested plugins, looks like I may have to hit the books and work on my own.

In any case, looks like my question has been definitively answered: WA's default Media Library doesn't currently come with a 'double click/play and enqueue' feature (at least to my specs) so I can either be content with existing setup, develop my own plugin, or hold my breath for real programmer to do it for me.

Thanks Gents for your expertise
Saroncer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2004, 22:12   #30
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,970
*cough* QuickTrax plugin *cough*
DJ Egg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2004, 23:24   #31
Saroncer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 12
For me, Quick Trax is nifty for running in, say, windowshade mode, but I really like the standard Media Library and would rather not have to do a right-click menu search for songs. All I want to do is scroll through my library, find a song I want to hear, click it and hear it; find another song, click it, add it to the list and hear it next.

I guess I have just grown accustomed to my media player operating in a specific way and nothing else will do. But that's the great thing about Winamp: it is flexible enough to tweak in whatever way makes you happy via plugins. Can't say that for those other rigid players. I mean what I call 'features' someone else calls 'bloat' and vice-versa.
Saroncer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2004, 23:48   #32
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,970
Yeah, but depending on how you configure it, QuickTrax just displays an "artist - album - title" type display of all tracks stored in your Media Library database - so is therefore just an extension of the Media Library. And if you don't want it to be in the main window songticker, you can configure it to use the QuickTrack Menu instead - which makes it available via Winamp's main menu, eg. you can right click on the Media Library titlebar/frame (or anywhere else in Winamp) and access all items in your media library, and then right click on any artist/album/track and select "Enqueue and Play" - which is exactly what you wanted, yes?

http://www.crackity.com/ml_qt.html
DJ Egg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2005, 07:06   #33
jakoby
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 71
Re: Double-clicking song adds whole Music Library to Playlist

Quote:
Originally posted by Saroncer
Hey All,
I'm switching over from MusicMatch, (Is that a bad word here?) so maybe I just have a WA learning curve to get around. I've scoured other postings and found info that was similar but not close enought to solve my problem. Speaking of which: every time I double-click the song I want to add to the Playlist and it immediately begins playing, but WA then adds my entire Library. So I switch the "click/enter option" to "enqueues" and it fixes the one problem but then the song won't immediately begin playing. Is there a solution? I've attached my Media Library settings. Do I need to provide more info?
I know it's been awhile since the last reply to this thread - but I also made the switch from MM over to Winamp recently. Admittedly it was frustrating as hell, given that the very FEW things that I liked about MM were not readily available in Winamp at all. And at first SO many plug-ins, I thought, that'll take care of those features I liked in MM. But so many bad plug-ins to sift through, too many people writing for this otherwise solid app. Basically I stuck with it cause my music sounded damn good, but it took awhile to find the right plug-ins.
And to this day, though I've come to love a lot of what's different about Winamp, I actually still miss how you could double-click on a song in your library, it starts playing, click on another one, it gets added to playlist and so on. I guess going through so many recommended plug-ins that SORT of do that, or in some cases, not at all, really got on my nerves.

So I was wondering if you were ever able to get the playlist working like MM?
Just curious, at this point...
jakoby is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump