Old 10th January 2011, 02:33   #1
garetjax
Candyass
(Major Dude)
 
garetjax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Benton, AR
Posts: 2,317
Send a message via ICQ to garetjax Send a message via AIM to garetjax Send a message via MSN to garetjax Send a message via Yahoo to garetjax
Website Problems

forums are reported as unsafe, constantly make firefox, ie9, chrome all crash. War-arron is reported as untrusted and a distribution site for malware, trojans and etc. What exactly is going on?

What is the appropriate response to this issue? What should be done? I am running my firewall, antivirus and etc. However, being that the site continues to request adobe updates, java running and a script call executing what should be done in order to avoid problems?

Nevermind I was able to search and found that you know about the issue...

1001skins |
That's not a skin, it's some god awful piece of skinner gunk. - Mr. Jones
garetjax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2011, 02:45   #2
garetjax
Candyass
(Major Dude)
 
garetjax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Benton, AR
Posts: 2,317
Send a message via ICQ to garetjax Send a message via AIM to garetjax Send a message via MSN to garetjax Send a message via Yahoo to garetjax
I have found a work around for viewing and using the website without worrying about the issues surrounding continual unsafe notifications, crashes and etc.

Windows uses a HOSTS (located in %systemdrive%/windows/system32/drivers/etc) file to maintain a personal list of web addresses. Any time a request is made for a URL, the HOSTS file will be checked first. If a corresponding address is found you will be directed to that IP without first consulting a DNS Server. The original intent of this file was to define where sites exist;

This is the loopback address for your machine for those cases where an application needs to reference the local machine by IP address- the loopback address will always be valid. This entry should never be changed.

Now lets add an entry to block

127.0.0.1 www.war-arron.com

We are telling our local machine that war-arron actually exists on the local machine. Any request for war-arron will be directed to the local machine and therefore effectively blocked. You could also use the IP of another website if you wanted to be creative.

A HOSTS file entry will disregard the transfer protocol so it isn’t needed.

1001skins |
That's not a skin, it's some god awful piece of skinner gunk. - Mr. Jones
garetjax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2011, 03:07   #3
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: On the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 2,937
Send a message via Skype™ to thinktink
"127.0.0.1 www.war-arron.com" by itself won't work, you need to add "127.0.0.1 war-arron.com" as well.

What's better is to install Spybot S&D and to use FireFox always with NoScript and AdBlock Plus plugins installed and enabled. Hardened internet condom of steal right there.
thinktink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2011, 07:41   #4
garetjax
Candyass
(Major Dude)
 
garetjax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Benton, AR
Posts: 2,317
Send a message via ICQ to garetjax Send a message via AIM to garetjax Send a message via MSN to garetjax Send a message via Yahoo to garetjax
Firefox is garbage for me personally...I'd rather shoot my eye out. Adblock is pointless if you run a freeware tool like hostsman. Spyblock is okay but, I hate all the crap it installs and removes. Any browser is only as good as the person using it. Though, I use it ... generally, I only use it when I hit a website that disallows IE9 or other similar services that rely on .net technologies.

And since we are speculating here...I use a hardware firewall, antivirus and sandbox all scripts...but, that doesn't save me from getting disallowed requests from winamp.com.

1001skins |
That's not a skin, it's some god awful piece of skinner gunk. - Mr. Jones
garetjax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2011, 09:53   #5
AVlution
Junior Member
 
AVlution's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Watford, Hertfordshire
Posts: 41
Chrome seems to work fine for me, can't believe anyone uses IE still, though to be fair I haven't seen the latest version yet
AVlution is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2011, 20:26   #6
gistbane
Corporate Drone
 
gistbane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 32
Send a message via AIM to gistbane
The war-arron intrusion on the site was removed and the responsible account suspended early Monday morning. The threat should not be present on the site any longer. Contradictions and berating are welcome!

Thanks!
gistbane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2011, 22:36   #7
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: On the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 2,937
Send a message via Skype™ to thinktink
If anybody is still getting the war-arron crap they probably need to clear/clean their browser cache:

http://www.wikihow.com/Clear-Your-Browser%27s-Cache
http://kb.iu.edu/data/ahic.html
http://www.google.com/search?q=Clear+the+browser+cache

...so on and so forth...

[EDIT /]
P.S.
I still stand by my Spybot/FF/AdBlock+/NoScript recommendations. No need to mention Firewall/Antivirus, those are shoe-ins. I haven't gotten a virus in 5+ years since this setup.
thinktink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2014, 04:27   #8
TreborG2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 30
Thumbs down ... adblock pointless ... right, just buy the brooklyn bridge already

Quote:
Originally Posted by garetjax View Post
Firefox is garbage for me personally...I'd rather shoot my eye out. Adblock is pointless if you run a freeware tool like hostsman.
1) Hostsman won't block url's with wildcards.
2) Firefox like all browsers, has its usefulness
3) Adblock plus, regardless of your persuasion, is a fairly decent start. The fact that it was freely written, and used in FF, Chrome, and finally working with IE ... speaks more volumes to anyone willing to look into and review for themselves, rather than rely on someone simply browser bashing.

Come back to us, the day you can put */ad/* into your hosts file and actually have it *do* something.
TreborG2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2014, 03:24   #9
garetjax
Candyass
(Major Dude)
 
garetjax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Benton, AR
Posts: 2,317
Send a message via ICQ to garetjax Send a message via AIM to garetjax Send a message via MSN to garetjax Send a message via Yahoo to garetjax
Resurrection....um, yes I now use Hostsman and IE. Have been using this setup since 2011 mar. Use chrome, IE, ff, safari and opera... prefer IE. Firefox is still garbage.... but, I Digress no plugins on any of my browsers and they all work with 0 ads, 0 malware and do not even show links from 'bad' sites.

1001skins |
That's not a skin, it's some god awful piece of skinner gunk. - Mr. Jones
garetjax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2014, 03:54   #10
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,612
Quote:
Originally Posted by garetjax View Post
... no plugins on any of my browsers and they all work with 0 ads, 0 malware and do not even show links from 'bad' sites.
I find it hard to believe you see 0 ads. Are you just using the Hostman provided lists or do you manually add domains from time to time? Anything else helping with the other stuff, like an AV app or something?

Ads are required to keep the web 'free' (beyond the associated costs of connecting to it) since they help some sites with managing their costs. That said, I don't want to be bombarded with them and I'm more concerned with the malicious stuff. So I use various things (including manually adding some domains to my Hosts file) to limit ads and warn against or block the malware and 'bad' sites. If Hostman works as good as you say, maybe I can remove some stuff and regain the computer resources that they use (and improve my browser performance beyond the acceptable level it has now).

I mostly use a variant of FF and keep IE installed (and used from time to time) since Winamp uses it's engine for web access. I must say that IE v11 is not bad, but it doesn't support some of the FF add-ons I've come to depend on.

PS:
Great job you've done with your site update!

Winamp Pro 5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2014, 07:32   #11
garetjax
Candyass
(Major Dude)
 
garetjax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Benton, AR
Posts: 2,317
Send a message via ICQ to garetjax Send a message via AIM to garetjax Send a message via MSN to garetjax Send a message via Yahoo to garetjax
Hosts a is a auto updating hosts file . I should of said Firefox is garbage for me...


I subscribe to 3 of the lists ...auto updated hosts file to block malware and malicious ads. There are better ways to do ads than using ad warehouses like commission junction and similar ilk.

1001skins |
That's not a skin, it's some god awful piece of skinner gunk. - Mr. Jones
garetjax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2014, 10:20   #12
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,612
I can tolerate ads that stay off to the side and out of my face. I hate those that pop-up or try to talk to me.

A layered approach to prevention and protection has worked well for me. One of the things I use is PeerBlock. It was recently updated after a long dry spell. It uses lists provided by IBlockList (which are auto-updated) and I subscribe to a few of them. The servers/domains that push obnoxious ads which get pass PeerBlock, I add to my Hosts file (e.g. several of the DoubleClick ad servers).

Sometimes the IBlockList lists get a little over zealous and I have to move sites I want to use to PeerBlock's exclusion list or temporarily turn PeerBlock off.

I had also been using the AdBlock Plus add-on with my browser, but some sites now refuse to work when it is detected or put up a pop-up banner requesting it be turned off (warning that the site's 'experience' may be degraded). I would laugh at such warnings, but sometimes the banner covered some of the page's content (which of course degraded the experience).

Winamp Pro 5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Site Design

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump