Old 2nd July 2005, 20:52   #1
ibndfan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8
Skipping always on clean format

Ok - this makes no sense - but I built my machine about 2 years ago - normally everything works fine but the few times that I've had to format - for a while all my songs will skip a couple times each while playing. This has held true on different clean installs of different versions of winamp over the years. My C drive died last week, and I just replaced it with a clean install on a new hd. Needless to say, the skipping issue is back. I have tried the buffer settings in the mp3 plug-in with no luck. It's been a while since this happened, and it either resolved itself after months in the past, or I found something... but any ideas??? This is driving me nuts! Thanks!
-Matt

2.8ghz p4, abit ic7-g, 1 gig corsair platinum xms ddr, leadtek geforce fx 5600, seagate barracuda 80 gig sata system dr, 2 maxtor 180 gb sata storage drives
ibndfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2005, 21:01   #2
jmatthews112
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,661
Send a message via AIM to jmatthews112 Send a message via Yahoo to jmatthews112
No sound, skippy/choppy/crackly playback, high VM usage, etc.
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....26#post1212926
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=166479

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....did=36850#skip

Are you behind a firewall?

Information required when posting (ignore this and risk being ignored) [include HijackThis log]

Does the skipping occur only with mp3s?

jmat
jmatthews112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2005, 21:06   #3
ibndfan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8
Just on a regular linksys wrt54g wireless router, no firewall, and yea the skipping is only with mp3s and winamp.
ibndfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2005, 21:13   #4
ibndfan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8
Trying out a diff sound driver now... here is the hjt

Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1
Scan saved at 4:11:48 PM, on 7/2/2005
Platform: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SOUNDMAN.EXE
C:\Program Files\Viewpoint\Viewpoint Manager\ViewMgr.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\RUNDLL32.EXE
C:\Program Files\AIM\aim.exe
C:\Program Files\EarthLink TotalAccess\TaskPanl.exe
C:\Program Files\EarthLink TotalAccess\WENGINE\wmonitor.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\EPSON\EBAPI\SAgent2.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\nvsvc32.exe
C:\Program Files\Silicon Image\SiISATARaid\SATARaid.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\wuauclt.exe
C:\Program Files\Fellowes\MediaFACE 4.0\SetHook.exe
C:\Program Files\NewsLeecher\newsLeecher.exe
C:\Program Files\NewsLeecher\newsLeecher.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE
C:\Program Files\Winamp\winamp.exe
C:\Program Files\Hijackthis\HijackThis.exe

R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://start.earthlink.net
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://www.earthlink.net/partner/mor...on/search.html
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://start.earthlink.net/AL/Search
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://www.earthlink.net/partner/mor...on/search.html
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant = http://start.earthlink.net/AL/Search
R3 - URLSearchHook: SrchHook Class - {44F9B173-041C-4825-A9B9-D914BD9DCBB3} - C:\Program Files\EarthLink TotalAccess\ElnIE.dll
R3 - URLSearchHook: (no name) - ~CFBFAE00-17A6-11D0-99CB-00C04FD64497} - (no file)
O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 7.0\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
O2 - BHO: EarthLink ScamBlocker V2 - {15F4D456-5BAA-4076-8486-EECB38CD3E57} - C:\Program Files\EarthLink TotalAccess\Toolbar\EScamBlk.dll
O2 - BHO: EarthLink PopUp Blocker V2 - {512ACF1B-64D9-4928-B382-A80556F28DB4} - C:\Program Files\EarthLink TotalAccess\Toolbar\ElnkPuB.dll
O2 - BHO: Earthlink Protection BHO - {9579D574-D4D8-4335-9560-FE8641A013BD} - C:\Program Files\EarthLink TotalAccess\Toolbar\ProtctIE.dll
O2 - BHO: Uninstall Legacy Earthlink Toolbar - {E713904C-DF05-4C79-BBAD-02DB923253BE} - C:\Program Files\EarthLink TotalAccess\Toolbar\uninsttb.dll
O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\msdxm.ocx
O3 - Toolbar: EarthLink Toolbar - {C7768536-96F8-4001-B1A2-90EE21279187} - C:\Program Files\EarthLink TotalAccess\Toolbar\Toolbar.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SoundMan] SOUNDMAN.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\System32\\NVCpl.dll,NvStartup
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ViewMgr] C:\Program Files\Viewpoint\Viewpoint Manager\ViewMgr.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MediaFace Integration] C:\Program Files\Fellowes\MediaFACE 4.0\SetHook.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NeroFilterCheck] C:\WINDOWS\system32\NeroCheck.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [NvMediaCenter] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\System32\\NVMCTRAY.DLL,NvTaskbarInit
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [MSMSGS] "C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe" /background
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [AIM] C:\Program Files\AIM\aim.exe -cnetwait.odl
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [E6TaskPanel] "C:\Program Files\EarthLink TotalAccess\TaskPanl.exe" -winstart
O4 - Global Startup: Adobe Reader Speed Launch.lnk = C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 7.0\Reader\reader_sl.exe
O4 - Global Startup: EPSON Status Monitor 3 Environment Check 2.lnk = C:\WINDOWS\system32\spool\drivers\w32x86\3\E_SRCV02.EXE
O4 - Global Startup: SATARaid.lnk = C:\Program Files\Silicon Image\SiISATARaid\SATARaid.exe
O6 - HKCU\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Control Panel present
O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\OFFICE11\EXCEL.EXE/3000
O9 - Extra button: Research - {92780B25-18CC-41C8-B9BE-3C9C571A8263} - C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\OFFICE11\REFIEBAR.DLL
O9 - Extra button: AIM - {AC9E2541-2814-11d5-BC6D-00B0D0A1DE45} - C:\Program Files\AIM\aim.exe
O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\MSMSGS.EXE
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\MSMSGS.EXE
O16 - DPF: {74D05D43-3236-11D4-BDCD-00C04F9A3B61} (HouseCall Control) - http://a840.g.akamai.net/7/840/537/2...ll/xscan53.cab
O23 - Service: EarthLink Monitor Service (EarthLinkMonitor) - Boingo Wireless, Inc. - C:\Program Files\EarthLink TotalAccess\WENGINE\wmonitor.exe
O23 - Service: EPSON Printer Status Agent2 (EPSONStatusAgent2) - SEIKO EPSON CORPORATION - C:\Program Files\Common Files\EPSON\EBAPI\SAgent2.exe
O23 - Service: NVIDIA Driver Helper Service (NVSvc) - NVIDIA Corporation - C:\WINDOWS\System32\nvsvc32.exe
ibndfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2005, 21:23   #5
jmatthews112
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,661
Send a message via AIM to jmatthews112 Send a message via Yahoo to jmatthews112
RE HJT log:

Did you set Tools > IE tweaks > "Lock IE control panel against opening from within IE" in Spybot S&D, or otherwise lock it out?

If not, check

O6 - HKCU\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Control Panel present

in HJT and click Fix.

Do the same with R3 - URLSearchHook: (no name) - ~CFBFAE00-17A6-11D0-99CB-00C04FD64497} - (no file)

Also, I would recommend uninstalling Viewpoint via an uninstall prog. It is considered spyware by some.

Remove O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ViewMgr] C:\Program Files\Viewpoint\Viewpoint Manager\ViewMgr.exe if you need to.

Also, what is your OS, RAM, sound card?

jmat
jmatthews112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2005, 21:26   #6
ibndfan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8
Thanks for all the fast help- you're the man...
viewpoint is now gone...
I don't have spybot search & destroy on here... which line in the log did you see it on?
ibndfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2005, 21:39   #7
jmatthews112
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,661
Send a message via AIM to jmatthews112 Send a message via Yahoo to jmatthews112
I didn't ...

Remove O6 - HKCU\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Control Panel present using HJT "Fix" button.

What is your OS [edit-is evident from HJT log], and what soundcard are you using?
jmatthews112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2005, 23:51   #8
ibndfan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8
What is that 06- i am about to remove it but would just like to know what exactly i'm doin here...

OS is XP w/ sp1
Sound is onboard w/ the abit ic7-g... Realtek AC97 Audio
ibndfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2005, 00:11   #9
jmatthews112
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,661
Send a message via AIM to jmatthews112 Send a message via Yahoo to jmatthews112
Read this for more info.

Basically, try to click Internet Options from within the IE Tools menu. Can you access them? I'm afraid you can't.

If you set up your computer to act in this manner, its ok to leave the value. But if not, I'd remove it.
jmatthews112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2005, 00:15   #10
ibndfan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8
Yea I can access it- i deleeted the value anyway-- but the skips are still goin on :\ ... so weird
ibndfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2005, 02:31   #11
jmatthews112
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,661
Send a message via AIM to jmatthews112 Send a message via Yahoo to jmatthews112
Go here.

If this is indeed your mobo, download the latest Realtek driver from the Drivers link at the top right.

And if you absolutely sure it is your mobo, flash it to get the most up to date bios.

Of course, if you received the mobo as part of a bundle machine, check with your manufacturer for all newest bios and sound updates.

jmat
jmatthews112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2005, 23:50   #12
ibndfan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8
Everything is working a little better now- but ever since I removed that line 06 when the computer thrashes a bit while switching or inputing info on webpages sometimes a skip with a rapid clicking noise happens. This is pretty rare, but nonetheless-- is this related to the removal of that control panel line?
ibndfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2005, 00:02   #13
jmatthews112
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,661
Send a message via AIM to jmatthews112 Send a message via Yahoo to jmatthews112
Look now to a thread I linked out earlier.
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....26#post1212926

If you think you need that entry, head to HijackThis > View the list of backups (or Config > Backups).

jmat
jmatthews112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2005, 18:25   #14
ibndfan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8
jmatthews-- sorry I haven't been able to get back to you-- just got the internet back up and running after moving apartments. I get this stutter step like skip now with all my mp3's after removing that line 06 -- this holds true now for winamp and windows media player etc....
Any other suggestions? or is there any way to get that line back in there so I can get back to my original problem? Thanks again for all the help- you're the man!
-Matt
ibndfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2005, 01:16   #15
jmatthews112
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,661
Send a message via AIM to jmatthews112 Send a message via Yahoo to jmatthews112
To restore a HJT entry:

Open HijackThis.
View the list of backups (or Config > Backup).
Select the checkbox next to "...O6 - HKCU\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Control Panel present".
Press Restore.
Choose Yes when prompted.

Hope this helps.

Anyone else have any suggestions?

jmat
jmatthews112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump