Old 27th February 2004, 16:02   #1
UncleJohnny
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 8
Send a message via ICQ to UncleJohnny Send a message via AIM to UncleJohnny Send a message via Yahoo to UncleJohnny
Internet TV/Radio Issue

The other day everything was working fine. I don't know if this is related to any of the shoutcast server issues that I've read about, and if it is then I apologize.

First off, about 2 days ago everything was fine. I could open up the Internet radio tab and connect to any server. Now when I open up Internet Radio it will say populating list or whatever and then nothing comes up. Internet TV is the same way. I'll try refreshing the list and once in a while the list may populate. Same for Internet TV. If I close winamp and reopen it, same thing.

When it does show servers for internet radio, if I click on one to play, the winamp connection to server window pops up for a second like it's making a connectiong and then goes away. But does not play. But if I go to a website of someone, for example the 80's station Club977 (I'm not trying to advertise them, just use it as an example), and click on a link there to play, it plays fine.

I've checked and all the file associations (.m3u and .pls) are there.

Once again if it's a shoutcast or already known issue I apologize. If not any help would be appreciated.

Thanks
UncleJohnny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2004, 16:24   #2
zanger502
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 6
I am having the same problem. Everything worked fine about one week ago. My radio stream index is working, however when I click to play the music, it does not work. I then goto the website and click the stream and everything is fine. Internet TV works fine from the Winamp listing.

Can anyone help or does anyone have the same problem as the two of us?
zanger502 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2004, 16:34   #3
Gatekeeper23
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 9
same exact thing is happening to me
i reinstalled winamp....but that didnt help
Gatekeeper23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2004, 16:55   #4
specialed
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2
yep same problem

the one thing I also did was go to shoutcast.com and click on one of their links and that told me that the page could not access a temp .pls file that was in my content IE folder.

"access denied"
specialed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2004, 17:09   #5
TackNet
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 4
the problem is solved, I've got the servers again
TackNet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2004, 17:25   #6
specialed
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2
I sure as heck don't
specialed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2004, 17:37   #7
pimpdaddypain
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1
still can't tune into radio

mine also worked yesterday, and right now i can get the listings for both internet tv and music, and i can watch tv but i can't tune into any music.

when i try to do music, the box pops up like it normally does, but after the 'HTTP response' message the dialog dissapears and no radio stations are added to my playlist.
pimpdaddypain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2004, 17:39   #8
UncleJohnny
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 8
Send a message via ICQ to UncleJohnny Send a message via AIM to UncleJohnny Send a message via Yahoo to UncleJohnny
Same thing is still happening to me. What did you do to "get the servers" Tack?
UncleJohnny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2004, 18:12   #9
Psikick
Member
 
Psikick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: TRANCELVANIA
Posts: 50
Yep, same problem here...Yesterday everything was working OK, today everything is NOT working OK...

Something fishy is going on.....

psi....
Psikick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2004, 18:25   #10
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
The Shoutcast dir is down at the mo.
Hopefully it will be back up very soon.
Sorry
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2004, 21:22   #11
drewwar2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1
Send a message via AIM to drewwar2
i saw that somene said it is working again but when i tried awhile ago it was still down.
drewwar2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2004, 23:25   #12
whipthatllama
Junior Member
 
whipthatllama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 25
Send a message via AIM to whipthatllama
i'm having the same problem but it happens occasionally for me. it won't work then i'll check an hour or 2 later and it will. so it happens sporadically.
whipthatllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2004, 09:26   #13
deneu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: netherlands
Posts: 4
Send a message via ICQ to deneu
still not working her :-(
deneu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2004, 10:19   #14
mariopezzo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2
Same here...
mariopezzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2004, 12:07   #15
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Yes. It's the same for everyone.

For now, go to www.shoutcast.com
search for your stream/s
Then visit the home page of said station
and use the available links there.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2004, 12:51   #16
Venezuela Libre
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brighton, U.K.
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
Yes. It's the same for everyone.

For now, go to www.shoutcast.com
search for your stream/s
Then visit the home page of said station
and use the available links there.

This works and I can listen to the radio.., but trying to access the same station from Winamp, it's still trying to find the XXX.pls[4] file in the temp internet folder (which I, for some reason, do not posses). I've tried reinstalling Winamp twice but to no avail. How can I adquire those XXX.pls files..!? PLEASE HELP..
Venezuela Libre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2004, 13:13   #17
BackLash
Junior Member
 
BackLash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 13
does anyone have a clue why this happened or when they will resolve this issue.

BackLash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2004, 14:15   #18
exander
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 15
I just got Winamp yesterday. I was only able to listen to two channels. Then a half hour later I wasn't able to listen to any channels. I tried going to www.shoutcast.com to play the music from there but that didn't work either.

x
exander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2004, 14:25   #19
jbakerutexas
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2
Same problem here.

Few days ago my streams were fine. Now, it says 'reading HTTP response' then closes the box, and nothing plays or is added to my playlist.

Whats wrong?!?! The great integration of the media library was one of the star features of winamp5 for me that made me upgrade from 2.

I tried reinstalling, no luck, tried clicking links from the web instead, no luck.

Any ideas?
jbakerutexas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2004, 15:14   #20
ikara
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1
I have the same problem. A few days back all was fine.

Now I can get TV listings and radio listings but can only access TV.
When i tried to access the radio channels this irritating little box comes up with something about an http: response in it. I hate that box now! (NB i could get the odd one to work like country music or Xian rock ZZzzz)

I tried fiddling with settings in winamp but nothing, so reinstalled winamp - now i get no radio listings at all but the TV ones are still fine.

Just thought i'd add my experience to the fray - i hope they sort it soon, i was just beginning to like it

IKE
ikara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2004, 16:30   #21
rtplistener
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 3
I have the same problem that everyone else appears to have. Internet TV works for me but internet radio fails. After clicking on the radio link in the winamp media library, the "retrieving playlist..." window comes up followed by the "Connecting to host..." and "Reading HTTP response" messages. Sometimes I even see the "success" message but after that nothing happens. The music does not start playing.
rtplistener is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2004, 16:35   #22
firequall
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to firequall Send a message via Yahoo to firequall
hmm on another forum, i had links to some station in my sig and if i clicked those it worked just fine. also you (if you know the ip of the station) you can just open url and put in the address
firequall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2004, 18:44   #23
gingerldk
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Send a message via Yahoo to gingerldk
Im having the same problem as all of you are having and i tried going to shoutcast's website and tried clicking on one of the buttons that says tune in and i still get nothing
gingerldk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2004, 18:53   #24
rtplistener
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 3
This reply is to gingerldk...
The "tune in" buttons on shoutcast's website don't work either. Instead click on the URL listed under the shoutcast description and that takes you to the radio station's website. You can then select the radio stream from the site.
rtplistener is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2004, 19:27   #25
kindred1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1
Same here,it was workin fine then i cant get TV or Radio. Does this happen often?If so Im gonna uninstall and find another player to use.
kindred1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2004, 19:54   #26
A Ham Sandwich
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 12
Got it to work by going to the website of the station.

Thanks guys.
A Ham Sandwich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2004, 20:46   #27
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
It's a temporary glitch, that's all.
And no, it doesn't happen often.
This is a very rare occurence.
In fact, it's so rare that I can't remember if/when it happened last.

Like I said above, go to www.shoutcast.com
search for your station/s
then click on the station url to go to the station's web site
and click the tune-in/listen links there.
ie. don't click the tune-in links on shoutcast.com
because they are the same broken links as the ones in the media library.

Also, bear in mind, it's the weekend...
so I doubt if this will be fixed until at least Monday, maybe, hopefully ?!?!
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2004, 20:47   #28
Durwood
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3
Well, going to the station website does NOT fix it for me. I cant get ANY streams working with my pc client (winamp pro 5.02).
The really odd thing is, my Pocket PC running GSPlayer over wireless has no problem tuning in, and it is somewhat more temperamental (at least I thought so) than winamp.
Durwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2004, 20:50   #29
Durwood
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3
Update, I copied the .pls from my pocket PC to my desktop, and it works now. But this is really annoying.... at least its working now.

go go Pocket PC saving the day!! (who would have thought)
Durwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2004, 20:55   #30
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Yeah, well, if your problem is unrelated to the shoutcast dir being down, then you probably should've started a new thread.

If the streams from the station sites aren't working
eg. www.somafm.com
then first thing to try would be to empty your internet cache.
Also, make sure winamp is properly associated with pls files (prefs > file types)
and make sure the correct connection type is selected (prefs > general preferences).

Still no joy? Then make sure your firewall is configured to allow full internet access for winamp.exe

Apart from that, well, without knowing any system specs and what programs/processes are concurrently running, then it's all a matter of guesswork...

[edit] hmm . . . most ponderous! [/edit]
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2004, 21:08   #31
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Anyway, I've made this thread a sticky for the time being.
All new threads will be locked.

If you haven't done so already, read:
Yp is broken (SHOUTcast.com/Media Library issues)
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2004, 21:45   #32
Durwood
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3
Ok, I cleared my cache (thanks for the tip, I overlooked it) and it now works again from the pls on the station website.
Durwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th February 2004, 00:30   #33
Doomster
Junior Member
 
Doomster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 3
Shoutcast/Internet Radio not loading playlist

I've had the same problem.........go to the station that I want to listen too and click it and then I get a "error synching MPEG " and nothing showing on the banner listing......solution......uninstalled the free "Full Bundled Version 5.02" and then deleted the entire c:/winamp/ directory and downloaded and installed the "Full 5.02 Version" (not the Full Bundled Version)and guess what......it works........
Doomster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th February 2004, 13:27   #34
wdwpower
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2
same problem

see thread "Too many requests. Try again tomorrow"
Regards
Willy
wdwpower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2004, 08:34   #35
Piccolo_US
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to Piccolo_US Send a message via Yahoo to Piccolo_US
still going on?

Is there still trouble with shoutcast? The other day I couldnt get anything to play through unless I went to the stations page. Yesterday I was able to get it if I went through shoutcast. Then later last night I was able to do it like normal throught winamp.
Tonight I cannot do anything again unless I go to the stations page. Also, unless I go to the stations page to the playlist, it doesnt even want to enqueue it. It sometimes didnt even want to enqueue it when it was working ok. BTW, the first time I emptied my cache and temp files. but its not working this time, and not many stations are showing up when the list is downloaded.
Piccolo_US is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st March 2004, 12:09   #36
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Well, it appears to be on the mend...
Seems to be working ok again, at the moment.

I'll keep this stickied for a little while longer, just to make sure.

_________________________________________________


@wdwpower
No. Yours is NOT the same issue.
That is a different matter entirely.

From the Troubleshooters sticky:

Can't connect to SC Radio (Too many listeners/requests. Try again tomorrow)
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=144242
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=157983
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2004, 23:14   #37
TackNet
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally posted by UncleJohnny
Same thing is still happening to me. What did you do to "get the servers" Tack?
Im so sry for answering the question so late. I didn't do anything special, I've just waited for while and tried it again.
TackNet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2004, 23:16   #38
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Yeah, afaik, it's all fixed now.

Unstickying this....
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2004, 03:43   #39
punk_rocker128
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Alaska, United States
Posts: 4
Hi, I just registered. I want to tell you guys that the radio is not working. I've been following this topic since it started and found out that I finally need to post. My Internet Radio stations haven't been working for 3 days. Everytime I stop it, I have to go to Shoutcast and "Tune In" on the station.

EDIT - I just asked my buddy on MSN to listen to a station. Apparently, his wont play either...
punk_rocker128 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2004, 04:28   #40
piex
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Redmond
Posts: 1
It's still down for me, which is no fun. I prefer winamp for all my audio, and I don't really want to go to the websites to stream. Ah well.
piex is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump