Old 31st August 2005, 05:41   #1
StudioMusic
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Southern California
Posts: 852
5.1

Winamp 5.1 is out. SM
StudioMusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2005, 07:57   #2
Rovastar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: London, England
Posts: 3,632
Send a message via AIM to Rovastar
I don't think it is out just yet. 5.1 was a beta I think that got leaked.

"Rules are for the guidance of wisemen and the obedience of fools"

Visuals - Morphyre www.Morphyre.com
Rovastar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2005, 23:07   #3
StudioMusic
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Southern California
Posts: 852
Well whatever the case the one I have does not say beta and has all the new presets. SM
StudioMusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2005, 01:11   #4
Phat
Major Dude
 
Phat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 940
Good.

Hopefully it's stable enough to release soon.
Phat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2005, 07:47   #5
StudioMusic
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Southern California
Posts: 852
It is very stable and this is the new version that leaked early. Here is the new and fixed features. SM

Winamp 5.1 Surround Edition
* New: CodingTechnologies AACPlus encoder!
The MP3 Killer!
Awesome at low bitrates too!
* New: Grand Prize Winner of the Internet Surround Music Project!
KAJE - Hey Buddy (featuring Afrika Bambaataa)
* New: SHOUTcast Wire - A Media RSS Browser and Subscription Service
* New: Predixis Smart Playlist Generator
(Mix your tracks based on what they sound like!)
* New: AOL Radio featuring (((XM))) Free Sampler!
* New: CD Ripping now available at 8x in free version!
* New: Microsoft WMA encoder
* New: Over 200 new Milkdrop presets!
* Update: in_vorbis now returns bitrate in getextendedfileinfo
* Fixed: WMA stuttery playback
* Fixed: out_ds copy button on status tab now works all the time
* Fixed: Much improved ripping and playback with Sonic engine
* Fixed: Video window now resizable regardless of Sidecar
* Fixed: Length of long mp3's now reported properly
* Fixed: Silent install switch now works properly
* Fixed: Simultaneous CD Playback and Ripping

Winamp 5.094
* New: in_wm now handles bitrate and length extended info
StudioMusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2005, 13:54   #6
carmatic
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 53
Send a message via ICQ to carmatic
Quote:
Originally posted by StudioMusic
It is very stable and this is the new version that leaked early. Here is the new and fixed features. SM

Winamp 5.1 Surround Edition
* New: CodingTechnologies AACPlus encoder!
uhh wouldnt you want a decoder in winamp, instead of an encoder? unless winamp already can decode and playback aac and they added the ability to encode it in 5.1 (like from cd's and stuff)....

did what i just said make any sense to you?
carmatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2005, 21:58   #7
StudioMusic
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Southern California
Posts: 852
Actually I still use winamp 2.95, milkdrop runs quicker and smoother with it. If I want to decode I use other software like CD Architech. If you want winamp 2 and 5 just install 5 in a different folder and you can have the best of both worlds. If you associate your files with winamp you still can with the one you want and still have both installed. SM
StudioMusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2005, 22:40   #8
Joe Siegler
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 11
Quote:
* New: AOL Radio featuring (((XM))) Free Sampler!
Where is this? I looked around in the program, and can't find it.
Joe Siegler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2005, 22:48   #9
StudioMusic
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Southern California
Posts: 852
This is actually a milkdrop forum, not a winamp, but go to file, intenet radio and under online media go to AOL radio with XM. SM
StudioMusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2005, 00:05   #10
carmatic
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 53
Send a message via ICQ to carmatic
why is it called 'surround edition'?does it mean that all that money i spent on 2-channel audio equipment was a big mistake?

did what i just said make any sense to you?
carmatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2005, 00:57   #11
StudioMusic
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Southern California
Posts: 852
Nope, it still plays stereo. SM
StudioMusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2005, 15:32   #12
Rovastar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: London, England
Posts: 3,632
Send a message via AIM to Rovastar
It's out now

STill missing the message ini files but a start.

"Rules are for the guidance of wisemen and the obedience of fools"

Visuals - Morphyre www.Morphyre.com
Rovastar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2005, 15:24   #13
Phat
Major Dude
 
Phat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 940
Also, milkdrop currently is set to defalt at 30 fps.

That is far from the best way to view milkdrop. Unlimited is the proper choice.
Phat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2005, 16:08   #14
Rovastar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: London, England
Posts: 3,632
Send a message via AIM to Rovastar
yeah I have added a config file in the 'new presets for 5.1 thread' increased mes to 48 and unlimited fps for fullscreen. 60 for desktop/windowed. I thikn youi get tearing if you get more all monitors will have 60Hz /fps so no problem there

"Rules are for the guidance of wisemen and the obedience of fools"

Visuals - Morphyre www.Morphyre.com
Rovastar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2005, 17:00   #15
Phat
Major Dude
 
Phat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 940
Yea, 60 FPS would work on all boxes.
Phat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Visualizations > MilkDrop > MilkDrop Presets

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump