Old 1st January 2009, 21:08   #1
/usr/bin/Tux
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 120
Unicode characters?

Hi,

how to use Unicode characters within NSIS?

I encoded the .nsi script into UTF8 (without BOM), but German umlauts are displayed as a bunch of ANSI characters now...

Any idea?



Winamp user since v1.something.
/usr/bin/Tux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st January 2009, 23:29   #2
Yathosho
Forum King
 
Yathosho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: AT-DE
Posts: 3,362
just to rule out common mistakes, do you use the unicode build of nsis?
Yathosho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st January 2009, 23:38   #3
/usr/bin/Tux
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 120
Uhm... cough, cough... no... I thought NSIS would understand Unicode by default? -- The build on that page is not quite recent, thus...



Winamp user since v1.something.
/usr/bin/Tux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2009, 18:03   #4
jimpark
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 204
FYI, I am working on porting 2.42.

Unicode NSIS advocate -- http://www.scratchpaper.com for latest build and source.
jimpark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2009, 18:45   #5
jimpark
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 204
And it's now done. So go get the latest.

Unicode NSIS advocate -- http://www.scratchpaper.com for latest build and source.
jimpark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2009, 18:46   #6
/usr/bin/Tux
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 120
Great news, thank you!



Winamp user since v1.something.
/usr/bin/Tux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2009, 20:10   #7
sgt-d
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Earth
Posts: 36
nsis 2.42 unicode license text = chinese

i just installed the newest version of unicode nsis and the license page text is showing chinese or some other language when english was selected. in fact, i don't even have a text file yet with the information translated.

windows is set to use english (us).

meh.
sgt-d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2009, 20:17   #8
/usr/bin/Tux
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 120
The file has to have the right character encoding, of course.



Winamp user since v1.something.
/usr/bin/Tux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2009, 20:58   #9
sgt-d
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Earth
Posts: 36
doh! i thought they were unicode. ok, trying that now. thanks.

meh.
sgt-d is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Developer Center > NSIS Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump