Old 11th January 2008, 03:51   #1
CWBillow
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 57
Send a message via AIM to CWBillow Send a message via Yahoo to CWBillow
Backup Media Library

OK.... I found all the rest of my album art on the net... now, I want to back up my media library and all associated art and music.

I need more than just the actual audio/music files, don't I?

I would also need Winamp's config settings or such, ouldn't I? And, assuming that to be the case, what all do I need to back up so that, if I installed Winamp on an entirely net set, I would be able to resote all my libraray?

Regards,
Chuck Billow
CWBillow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2008, 08:04   #2
E-Trance
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Russia
Posts: 164
Send a message via ICQ to E-Trance
Find the following folder:

C:\Documents and Settings\YOUR_NAME\Application Data\Winamp\Plugins\

There is a file named "gen_ml.ini" and a folder named "ml". Copy (pack to zip) them anywhere you want to backup. Then you just may need to copy it back to restore from backup. But remember that is only a database and not the actual media. So the files must be at the same location as before.
E-Trance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2008, 18:38   #3
CWBillow
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 57
Send a message via AIM to CWBillow Send a message via Yahoo to CWBillow
So what I need is/are those two files AND the actual album data files, yes?

What/how do I handle it if I DON'T want to restore to the same location? Or, same issue put differently, what if I wanted to stop storing the actual media files on Drive C, and move them to Drive D?

Regards,
Chuck
CWBillow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2008, 23:31   #4
J_Darnley
Forum King
 
J_Darnley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Belgium, Europe
Posts: 3,625
Send a message via ICQ to J_Darnley
You could either lose all the statistics in your library (playcounts and ratings) or you use the ml_impex plugin to export the database to an XML file and then edit the paths in that then re-import.

If the download in the link I provided doesn't work use this.

Winamp ATF ReferenceMy cPro timer widgetMy port of AVS
Do NOT email me with general tech support questions.
J_Darnley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2008, 00:58   #5
CWBillow
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 57
Send a message via AIM to CWBillow Send a message via Yahoo to CWBillow
J:

Well, right now I've got a BIGGER problem.

If I install WM 5.51 immediately after install, it runs fine -- but the MINUTE i add anything to the library, I get an error:

"...memory could not be written.

Click OK to terminate, or Cancel to debug."

Since there doesn't seem to be way to attach a file, I can't include the jpg of the error.

Regards,
Chuck Billow

So, if I run Winamp with no Media Library all is fine, if I add anything, it won't run.

Regards,
Chuck Billow
CWBillow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2008, 01:14   #6
J_Darnley
Forum King
 
J_Darnley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Belgium, Europe
Posts: 3,625
Send a message via ICQ to J_Darnley
Can new members (that still get the URL filter) not attach files to their posts? If you cit Ctrl + C in the error window, does it copy the text to the clipboard? If you want some help we will need that error and the other things mentioned in the Tech Support FAQ (system specs, plugin list).

Winamp ATF ReferenceMy cPro timer widgetMy port of AVS
Do NOT email me with general tech support questions.
J_Darnley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2008, 01:25   #7
CWBillow
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 57
Send a message via AIM to CWBillow Send a message via Yahoo to CWBillow
Quote:
Originally posted by J_Darnley
Can new members (that still get the URL filter) not attach files to their posts? If you cit Ctrl + C in the error window, does it copy the text to the clipboard? If you want some help we will need that error and the other things mentioned in the Tech Support FAQ (system specs, plugin list).
J:

I may be going daft... but it seemed that when I replied to one answer to a post, there was no way to attach files... my bad...

Anyway, here 'tis.

And I got this error after uninstalling Winamp,and SAMSUNG Media Player, and re-installing Winamp with nothing else running.

Then I re-installed, it ran fine -- until I loaded one CD into the library.

???

Chuck

Regards,
Chuck Billow
Attached Images
File Type: jpg winamperr.jpg (24.9 KB, 397 views)
CWBillow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2008, 13:43   #8
Stupifier
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 596
You guys almost gave me a heart attack! holy crap.

I just recently reformatted and beforehand I backed up the entire Winamp folder in Program Files. Now looking to restore my Winamp Library, Reading this, I thought I had just lost my entire library. NOT TRUE!

All information was ALSO found in C:/program files/winamp/plugins/ml

also, the gen_ml.ini file was in the plugins folder there too.

wow, you guys literally almost gave me a heart attack....I have huge, complicated Media Library database and that would have been really bad if it were lost.

Please post all locations if you are going to post this kinda stuff. Sorry, but wow......whata killer
Stupifier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2008, 20:32   #9
sstorm
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: moscow, RU
Posts: 8
Send a message via ICQ to sstorm
Ehm..and what if I have those files (gen_ml.ini and ml folder), but I can't find any of them in Application data? (i've used Search, and it didn't give me another results), and I also checked it.. Application Data doesn't contain even a folder called Winamp.
So, I have to copy only this file and folder?

And..it should work correctly only if the filepath remains the same? e.g., C:\documents and setting\user\music?
sstorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2008, 21:06   #10
homes32
Senior Member
 
homes32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: MN
Posts: 288
does your winamp folder have paths.ini? if so your data is stored in program files/winamp/plugins/ not in app data

homes32
homes32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2008, 21:41   #11
sstorm
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: moscow, RU
Posts: 8
Send a message via ICQ to sstorm
strange, i can't find this file in the whole winamp folder (or subfolders).
UPD: C:\Program Files\Winamp\Plugins\ml

sstorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump