Old 25th October 2002, 22:47   #1
papadoc
Comfortably Numb
(Forum King)
 
papadoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 4,614
Adobe Photoshop 7.0.1 Update

Photoshop 7.0.1 Update

The Adobe® Photoshop® 7.0.1 update fixes a number of problems
discovered after Photoshop 7.0 was released.

The most significant fixes in the 7.0.1 release include the following:

• Photoshop now saves alpha transparency data in Targa files
in the same way it did in previous versions.

• If the color settings color management policy is set to "Off,"
Photoshop no longer asks to save changes unless other edits have been performed.

• The total ink now defaults to 300%
as it did in previous versions of Photoshop.

• The color of white areas in CMYK files saved as JPEG files
no longer shifts.

• TIFF files with LZW compression are now written correctly.

• Files made with Photoshop now work better
with Microsoft® Windows® XP's automatic thumbnail generation.

• Favorites now function correctly in the Open dialog box.

• Picture Package no longer locks up when it encounters incorrect
file types while using custom page layouts.

• Metadata is better preserved in certain JPEG files.

• Photoshop no longer appears frozen when applying KPT3 filters.

• Photoshop now offers better compatibility with older
Intel® Pentium® III hardware.

• Photoshop no longer produces a program error when resampling
certain large 16-bit documents.

• An issue that prevented Photoshop 6.0 from opening certain files
containing layer effects and edited in Photoshop 7.0 has been fixed.

• The Maximize Backwards Compatibility for Photoshop Files preference
now correctly sets the state of the Maximize Compatibility checkbox
in the Photoshop Format Options dialog box
when you save a file as Photoshop (PSD) format.
papadoc is offline  
Old 25th October 2002, 23:54   #2
apollos
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Canterbury & Plymouth
Posts: 4,176
Thanks for the link
apollos is offline  
Old 26th October 2002, 19:19   #3
AjStone
Major Dude
 
AjStone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 993
Send a message via ICQ to AjStone Send a message via AIM to AjStone Send a message via Yahoo to AjStone
Yeah, thanks bubba. I actually just got Photoshop 7 last night.

(eg, it's already out of date by the time i get it )
AjStone is offline  
Old 26th October 2002, 23:51   #4
apollos
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Canterbury & Plymouth
Posts: 4,176
Hmm... id be better if the update worked. It said that it couldnt find 'Adobe Photoshop 7.0' in the folder which it was in...


I hate installers that let you down like that..
apollos is offline  
Old 27th October 2002, 00:30   #5
papadoc
Comfortably Numb
(Forum King)
 
papadoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 4,614
Where do you have Photoshop installed?
papadoc is offline  
Old 27th October 2002, 06:58   #6
Reaper
Forum King
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,928
Actually, this update has been available for a while now, it just wasn't publicized much. Although, when I try to install I get the same error as Andrew(Apollos).

ml_iPod - [Homepage] | [Forums] | [Wiki]
Reaper is offline  
Old 27th October 2002, 12:30   #7
SNYder
Forum King
 
SNYder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 4,432
/me downloads
SNYder is offline  
Old 27th October 2002, 14:53   #8
papadoc
Comfortably Numb
(Forum King)
 
papadoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 4,614
To install the Photoshop 7.0.1 update:
1. Disable all virus protection software.
2. Ensure that the folder on your hard drive containing Photoshop is named "Adobe Photoshop 7."
3. Double-click the "Adobe Photoshop 7.0.1 Update" application. If the updater reports that it cannot find the application to update, please reinstall Photoshop 7.0, then run the updater.
4. Follow the onscreen instructions.
papadoc is offline  
Old 27th October 2002, 15:53   #9
SNYder
Forum King
 
SNYder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 4,432
why do I have to disable virus protection?

p.s. the folder should be called "Photoshop 7.0"
SNYder is offline  
Old 27th October 2002, 17:43   #10
papadoc
Comfortably Numb
(Forum King)
 
papadoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 4,614
Quote:
Originally posted by SNYder
why do I have to disable virus protection?
p.s. the folder should be called "Photoshop 7.0"
Sorry about the typo.

Whenever you install a program via an installer,
you should disable your virus scanner,
because the virus scanner will intercept it while it's running,
which can interfere with the program installation.

papadoc is offline  
Old 27th October 2002, 23:43   #11
apollos
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Canterbury & Plymouth
Posts: 4,176
its still not working. thanks for the info though, ill try my best to get around the not wanting to install later on
apollos is offline  
Old 28th October 2002, 04:44   #12
SNYder
Forum King
 
SNYder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 4,432
10 bucks all of you who this is not working for are using an iligal copy of Photoshop

I know I am.
SNYder is offline  
Old 28th October 2002, 04:46   #13
Reaper
Forum King
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,928
Quote:
Originally posted by SNYder
10 bucks all of you who this is not working for are using an iligal copy of Photoshop

I know I am.
You hit the nail on the head.

ml_iPod - [Homepage] | [Forums] | [Wiki]
Reaper is offline  
Old 28th October 2002, 04:51   #14
I am Jesus
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Your mom
Posts: 1,555
Send a message via AIM to I am Jesus
I must confess that I have an illegal copy too.
I am Jesus is offline  
Old 28th October 2002, 09:45   #15
apollos
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Canterbury & Plymouth
Posts: 4,176
does it really matter though?
CloneCD makes it identical to the original.... right?
apollos is offline  
Old 28th October 2002, 18:24   #16
papadoc
Comfortably Numb
(Forum King)
 
papadoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 4,614
Quote:
Originally posted by Apollos
does it really matter though?
CloneCD makes it identical to the original.... right?
First question: yes
Second question: yes and no

When you purchase Adobe legally, you send in your
registration number to their database.
Whenever you update, Adobe automatically recognizes
that registration number, and allows the installation.

If you get a copy from any other source,
the software may be identical,
and you may get a registration number with it.
But you can only use that number
to install the software on your computer.
You can't send that number to Adobe.
So when you try to install an update, Adobe has no number
on their database for your computer,
and won't allow the installation to complete.

Last edited by papadoc; 28th October 2002 at 20:34.
papadoc is offline  
Old 29th October 2002, 02:23   #17
Ember69
Senior Member
 
Ember69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: nowhere
Posts: 299
Send a message via AIM to Ember69 Send a message via Yahoo to Ember69
Quote:
Originally posted by I am Jesus
I must confess that I have an illegal copy too.
yeh.. mine's a freebie too
Ember69 is offline  
Old 15th November 2002, 05:02   #18
Reaper
Forum King
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,928
Maybe this can shed some light on the situation::
http://www.xtechnet.net/modules.php?...rticle&sid=508

ml_iPod - [Homepage] | [Forums] | [Wiki]
Reaper is offline  
Old 15th November 2002, 23:00   #19
SNYder
Forum King
 
SNYder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 4,432
i love you. i sware i do
SNYder is offline  
Old 15th November 2002, 23:03   #20
Reaper
Forum King
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,928
Quote:
Originally posted by SNYder
i love you. i sware i do
So it actually worked for you? The update is still being a bitch to me. I may have to reinstall Photoshop with one of the serial numbers listed on that site.

ml_iPod - [Homepage] | [Forums] | [Wiki]
Reaper is offline  
Old 15th November 2002, 23:55   #21
SNYder
Forum King
 
SNYder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 4,432
i spoke too soon. I am downloading a better cracked version of Photoshop 7, one with the full installer and not just an updater from version 6 to version 7 (like I had). Then I was planing on doing exactly what you are doing.
SNYder is offline  
Old 15th November 2002, 23:58   #22
Reaper
Forum King
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,928
Ahh.. I see. Please do post back here with results though.

ml_iPod - [Homepage] | [Forums] | [Wiki]
Reaper is offline  
Old 16th November 2002, 00:02   #23
SNYder
Forum King
 
SNYder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 4,432
will do. should be within 20 minutes.

[edit] make that 10

[edit] argh... n/m . I ended up downloading the same installer i won't make that mistake twice gimmie 30 minutes...

Last edited by SNYder; 16th November 2002 at 00:18.
SNYder is offline  
Old 16th November 2002, 00:46   #24
SNYder
Forum King
 
SNYder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 4,432
IT WORKED! YAY FOR j00! thanks for the link!
SNYder is offline  
Old 16th November 2002, 05:08   #25
Reaper
Forum King
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,928
It works for me too now. I just did a simple uninstall and reinstall of Photoshop with a serial from the site and the update worked afterwards.

ml_iPod - [Homepage] | [Forums] | [Wiki]
Reaper is offline  
Old 16th November 2002, 05:28   #26
SNYder
Forum King
 
SNYder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 4,432
That's what I tried at first of course, but since my installer i had downloaded was an UPDATER to version 6, for some reason it didn't accept any of the serial numbers. So I downloaded a nice full installer and all went well. thanks again for the linkage
SNYder is offline  
Old 16th November 2002, 12:50   #27
mark e
Major Dude
 
mark e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,117
I've got it updated. And I have a pirate version!
Change the key in system registry, and there you go!

-m
mark e is offline  
Old 20th November 2002, 17:54   #28
apollos
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Canterbury & Plymouth
Posts: 4,176
Use this, it was given to me by someone on *******.

Just unzip it and replace these files with the same ones which you will find once the 7.0.1 update has been extracted.
apollos is offline  
Old 20th November 2002, 19:46   #29
Atmo
The Freak
(Forum King)
 
Atmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 9,400
Hmm. I thought posting serials/cracks/keygens wasnt allowed.
Atmo is offline  
Old 20th November 2002, 19:59   #30
dam
Forum King
 
dam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: The foot of the bed
Posts: 2,536
Send a message via Yahoo to dam
Quote:
Originally posted by Atmo
Hmm. I thought posting serials/cracks/keygens wasnt allowed.
Yup they arent allowed. Apollos is swimming in dangerous waters.



e : typo
dam is offline  
Old 20th November 2002, 20:16   #31
a-arse
Banned
 
a-arse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,711
ah! pwned.
a-arse is offline  
Old 20th November 2002, 20:18   #32
apollos
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Canterbury & Plymouth
Posts: 4,176
oops, can a mod please remove that?
what was i thinking...

i dont think i can remove attachements from my post.
/me hides.
apollos is offline  
Old 20th November 2002, 20:41   #33
a-arse
Banned
 
a-arse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,711
I would like to be the first to say, rofl.

edit: ooh, ooh, and 'ANDY POSTED WAA-AAREZZ, ANDY POSTED WAA-AAREZZ'

Sorry.
a-arse is offline  
Old 20th November 2002, 22:30   #34
SNYder
Forum King
 
SNYder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 4,432
SNYder is offline  
Old 21st November 2002, 12:19   #35
binary hero
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 7,004
Send a message via ICQ to binary hero
Quote:
Originally posted by a-arse
I would like to be the first to say, rofl.
may i second it with the first LMFAO?
binary hero is offline  
Old 10th November 2012, 12:56   #36
Star Wars
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
This method worked for me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reaper View Post
It works for me too now. I just did a simple uninstall and reinstall of Photoshop with a serial from the site and the update worked afterwards.
Thanks, I did the same process and I got updated although I have pirated one. Again thanks.
Star Wars is offline  
Old 10th November 2012, 17:57   #37
fixpod
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by papadoc View Post
First question: yes
Second question: yes and no

When you purchase Adobe legally, you send in your
registration number to their database.
Whenever you update, Adobe automatically recognizes
that registration number, and allows the installation.
www.whataandroid.com
If you get a copy from any other source,
the software may be identical,
and you may get a registration number with it.
But you can only use that number
to install the software on your computer.
You can't send that number to Adobe.
So when you try to install an update, Adobe has no number
on their database for your computer,
and won't allow the installation to complete.
what if me get this any third party affiliate site ? will this said things work ?
fixpod is offline  
Old 10th November 2012, 23:36   #38
Warrior of the Light
Forum King
 
Warrior of the Light's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 4,121
some serious necrophilia here.. this thread is 10 years old!

Jesus loves you [yes, you] so much, he even died for you so that you will not need to die, but live forever
Warrior of the Light is offline  
Old 11th November 2012, 16:41   #39
swingdjted
DRINK BEER NOW
(Forum King)
 
swingdjted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northern West Virginia
Posts: 10,063
Send a message via AIM to swingdjted Send a message via Yahoo to swingdjted
LOL that's funny shit. Photoshop 7?

What version is current now, like 3,856?

Wait. That's not what happened. Adobe realized how ridiculous the version numbers were getting and started all over again with CS in front. We're getting real close to CS7 now I guess.

Don't forget to live before you die.
swingdjted is offline  
Closed Thread
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > Breaking News

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump