Old 13th February 2010, 19:34   #1
sheradio1055
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Miami / Ft Lauderdale
Posts: 31
Send a message via Yahoo to sheradio1055
DSP Plugin 1.9.0 Issues

We Were Using ShoutCast Plugin DSP 1.9.0. For Multiple Streams.

The AAC+ Seems To Work Great, However, Our Higher Stream at 192 kbps Using The DSP (Audio/Mpeg) Mode Just Doesnt Want To Stay Stable.

The Audio is Choppy / Skips / Cuts-in-and-out / Its a Mess, But Only While Streaming In Audio/Mpeg Mode, The AAC Modes Work Great

Anyone Got Any Ideas.? Heck, It Worked Great For About 1 Year, Until Few Months Ago.

We Just Purchased Orban's Opticodec PE1010-v3 To Remedy This, and it Sure Wasn't Cheap
sheradio1055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2010, 19:52   #2
Sawg
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 7,456
Send a message via ICQ to Sawg Send a message via AIM to Sawg Send a message via Yahoo to Sawg
Sounds like if you are getting choppiness with higher bitrates, it would be more related to bandwidth limitations and not the SHOUTcast DSP.

| Brought to you by ^V ^C | The one... the original... no seriously!
Sawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2010, 20:04   #3
sheradio1055
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Miami / Ft Lauderdale
Posts: 31
Send a message via Yahoo to sheradio1055
No Sawg, We've Tried Multiple Computer's, as Well as IP's That Are Well Enough Supported Bandwith.
Most Of Our IP's Are 2-4 Meg Upload.

We've Narrowed it Down To The DSP Plugin 1.9.0.
The Stream Is Great Now, Since We've Stopped Using DSP-1.9.0.

We've Even Tried Different Versions Of Winamp, Thinking That Might Be The Issue.

Like I Said, The DSP Worked Great For About a Year, Then Suddenly Started Acting Up.
So We Were Forced To Act Quick and Purchased Opticodec PE1010, (not impressed)

We Switched Back To Simplecast But, Simplecast Wont Allow Metadata ETC

Thanks For Your Reply Sawg
sheradio1055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2010, 02:12   #4
jaromanda
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Under the bridge
Posts: 2,289
supported bandwidth does not equate to AVAILABLE bandwidth

I use a linux router and set QoS rules such that my streams are guaranteed enough bandwidth at HIGH priority

BUT, as the opticodec thing doesn't have issues, it must be something to do with software, as you say

Shoutcast DSP hasn't changed, it's still the same version, so I would guarantee it's not that

enc_lame.dll may have changed

"If you don't like DNAS, write your own damn system"

So I did
jaromanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2010, 18:59   #5
sheradio1055
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Miami / Ft Lauderdale
Posts: 31
Send a message via Yahoo to sheradio1055
Thanks For Your Reply & Advice Jaromanda.
A More Quality Modem or Router Was Suggested By a Mate For Our Application As You've Suggested.

Perhaps I'll Look Into a Better Modem With QoS..

Just All Seems Odd That Shoutcast DSP 1.9.0 Was Running Great For About a Year or So, Then All of a Sudden, Just Started Acting-Up..

Thanks Again For Your Input Jaromanda
sheradio1055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2010, 20:20   #6
NJK
FRYSK BLOED TSJOCH OP- FRISIAN
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: a real Frisian hometown
Posts: 15,339
Re: DSP Plugin 1.9.0 Issues

Quote:
Originally posted by sheradio1055
We Were Using ShoutCast Plugin DSP 1.9.0. For Multiple Streams.

The AAC+ Seems To Work Great, However, Our Higher Stream at 192 kbps Using The DSP (Audio/Mpeg) Mode Just Doesnt Want To Stay Stable.

just a question out of curiosity

why stream at 192 aac+ when this codex was developed for streaming a good quality audio stream at lower bitrates?

i can understand using a 192Kpbs MP3 stream but for aac+
48 or 64Kbps is sufficient for the your everyday listener.

AAC+ 64 almost equals 128Kbps MP3

Each Thursday a new show on Celtica Radio with Darkwave music.

Nope, it's not a radiostation just a non stop darkwave music stream

WINAMPSHOUTCAST
NJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2010, 21:23   #7
jaromanda
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Under the bridge
Posts: 2,289
Re: Re: DSP Plugin 1.9.0 Issues

Quote:
Originally posted by NJK
why stream at 192 aac+ when this codex was developed for streaming a good quality audio stream at lower bitrates?
I believe the 192k stream is MP3 (audio/mpeg)

"If you don't like DNAS, write your own damn system"

So I did
jaromanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2010, 21:32   #8
jaromanda
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Under the bridge
Posts: 2,289
Quote:
Originally posted by sheradio1055

Just All Seems Odd That Shoutcast DSP 1.9.0 Was Running Great For About a Year or So, Then All of a Sudden, Just Started Acting-Up..

First part of my reply wasn't really an answer to your problem, just a comment about bandwidth

I realised that you said it worked, then all of a sudden stopped working with no changes to shoutcast DSP - hence my reasoning that it's not shoutcast DSP that is the problem, but more likely something to do with the encoder dll (enc_lame.dll?)

I say "more likely", but hell, who knows

One other thing to consider is microsoft updates - I had a steady, rock solid, NSV video setup going for 6 months on a fairly old PC. After a Microsoft update, CPU usage went through the roof whenever I attempted to use NSVcap - it had something to do with the webcam, as any other software that used the webcam also used lots of CPU.

I never did find out which update caused it. I did a system restore to a time before the issue appeared, and never had the problem again

The point is - trouble shooting stuff like this on windows is a nightmare.

"If you don't like DNAS, write your own damn system"

So I did
jaromanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2010, 21:16   #9
sheradio1055
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Miami / Ft Lauderdale
Posts: 31
Send a message via Yahoo to sheradio1055
NJK, You Asked..: just a question out of curiosity

why stream at 192 aac+ when this codex was developed for streaming a good quality audio stream at lower bitrates?

i can understand using a 192Kpbs MP3 stream but for aac+
48 or 64Kbps is sufficient for the your everyday listener.

AAC+ 64 almost equals 128Kbps MP3
-----------------------------------------------------------

NJK We Have (2) Streams Up..
1) Stream is 192kbps In Audio/Mpeg Mode MP-3
2) Stream is 64 kbps In Audio/AACP Mode Codec HE-AAC

Were Now Using Whats Called ORBAN PC1101 Soundcard with Orbans Opticodec PE1100v3 For The 64kbps Stream In AAC+


We Also Use a Free Standing Audio Processor Called an OmniaOne & an Omnia3 Turbo When Live-On-Air Playing CD's
We Connect To Shoutcast Via (Simplecast) While LIVE


We Also Connect To SHOUITCAST With "Simplecast" Streaming Module For Our Stream (1) at 192 kbps. Unfortunately, Simplecast Doesnt Allow Metadata For Streaming Song-Title-Artist Etc.. We Were Using DSP Shoutcast v1.9.0 For That Until It Started Screwing Up Our Audio in The 192 kbps Stream. So Now, Whomever Logs Onto The Stream at 192kbps, Wont See The Name of The Song Title & Artist.

I Personally Don't Like Streaming In AAC Modes Because People Cant Simply Log-On To The Audio Without Having To Download a Plugin or Player of Some Sort.
The Other Reason is That I Hear Artifact Within Audio While In AAC Modes. OUr Music Library Is All In CD (Format) or WAV
I Despise MP-3 Audio To Start Out With, So We Use All CD's and Reduce From There..
I Hope I Answered Your Question Sir..
sheradio1055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2010, 21:17   #10
sheradio1055
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Miami / Ft Lauderdale
Posts: 31
Send a message via Yahoo to sheradio1055
I Understand Jaromanda. Maybe We'll Try a Sys Restore, It Makes Sense What You Mentioned About The Windows Upgrades
sheradio1055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2010, 21:46   #11
sheradio1055
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Miami / Ft Lauderdale
Posts: 31
Send a message via Yahoo to sheradio1055


Well. We've Just tried the Shoutcast DSP 1.9.0 Plugin on the (3rd) Computer To Test-Out The Stream..

The Darn Thing Simply Will Not Work Properly. It Constantly Skips-Chops-Cuts Out in The Audio/Mpeg-MP3 Mode, at a Stream rate of 128,160,192. We've Tried All Stream Rates in MP3 Mode..

Anyone Have a Suggestion of an Alternative Plugin To Stream With, That Will Display The Song Title / Artist.?

WSHE
sheradio1055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2010, 21:48   #12
sheradio1055
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Miami / Ft Lauderdale
Posts: 31
Send a message via Yahoo to sheradio1055


Well. We've Just tried the Shoutcast DSP 1.9.0 Plugin on the (3rd) Computer To Test-Out The Stream..

The Darn Thing Simply Will Not Work Properly. It Constantly Skips-Chops-Cuts Out in The Audio/Mpeg-MP3 Mode, at a Stream rate of 128,160,192. We've Tried All Stream Rates in MP3 Mode..

Anyone Have a Suggestion of an Alternative Plugin To Stream With, That Will Display The Song Title / Artist.?

WSHE
sheradio1055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2013, 12:03   #13
sheradio1055
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Miami / Ft Lauderdale
Posts: 31
Send a message via Yahoo to sheradio1055
AAC Bitrates Is Something We Do-Not believe in. Its proven to be more Artifact than Actual Raw Audio. / A trained ear would know instantly.
However, most of you all would Strongly disagree I would assume.
Matter of fact, not a big fan of mp-3 either. We are strictly CD and WAV format in our audio.
If we could stream Linear, We would..
sheradio1055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2013, 12:52   #14
Jkey
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: E*arth
Posts: 3,031
13th February 2010, 20:34

So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish.
Jkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump