Old 23rd December 2007, 16:30   #1
johnforster21
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4
No sound when playing M4A files

This may be a bit of a dumb question, but I have just installed Winamp 5.51 and it recognises M4A files OK, seems to be able to edit the tags etc, but when I ask it play one of these files it just skips through to the end in a second or so, producing no sound, nor any error messages.

It seems fine playing normal MP3 and Flac files.

If anyone has come across the same problem and has found a solution, or if anyone recognises the daft mistake that I am making, I'd appreciate the benefit of their wisdom!

Happy Xmas y'all
johnforster21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2007, 17:11   #2
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,972
MP4/M4A is just a container format.
It's what's inside the container that counts.
For audio-only files, the audio content could be any of LC-AAC/M4A (aka: Nero Digital), HE-AAC/M4A (aka: aacPlus), ALAC/M4A (aka: Apple Lossless), or even MP3/M4A.

What does it say under Format Info in the Basic Info tab of the File Info (Alt+3) dialog for these M4A files? Please take a screenshot and attach it in a zip, along with your List Of Plugins.

If the problem persists, we will also need a link to a sample m4a file which exhibits the problem. Upload one to any of sendspace.com, stashbox.org, or mediafire.com and post the download url here.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2007, 17:33   #3
johnforster21
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks for your response.

I have taken a much closer look at things, and have found that my installation of Winamp plays a standard MPEG-4 AAC LC file without any problems.

All of the files that do not play come up with "alac" under the Info column of the format info. The playing time appears to be correct, and the kbps and Hz fields are correct (or at least believable).

The only common theme with these unplayable files is that I have used Winamp to edit the Artist and other tags - is there any known problem with this? Or am I perhaps missing a codec to decode this type of file?

Thanks again for you help.
johnforster21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2007, 17:43   #4
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,588
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
Maybe first provide what Egg asked for? Then perhaps he can help you further.

Originally posted by DJ Egg...
Maybe take a screenshot and attach it in a zip along with...
your "List Of Plugins" <--clickable link

Don't email or PM me concerning Winamp. Instead, either start a NEW TOPIC or post a REPLY in the appropriate thread in these forums. This will also benefit others who may have a similar question or problem. But before posting, please first Search the forums and read all FAQs and all Sticky threads.

ORB Remote Broadcast

[ Automated Jukebox | Nunzio's Home | Wacky Videos | Solve the Prunella Puzzle! ]
[ LINE RIDER! | My Resume | Virtual Chess | Composite Sketch | My Niece's Band ]
[ Plugins by Joonas | DrO's Winamp Plugins and Extras | K-Jöfol ]
Nunzio390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2007, 17:57   #5
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,972
ALAC isn't supported by default.
There's an ALAC decoder available in the Essentials Pack.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2007, 17:58   #6
johnforster21
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4
File containing info requested by Egg is attached.

Thanks for you interest in my problem!
Attached Files
File Type: zip winamp-info.zip (84.7 KB, 420 views)
johnforster21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2007, 18:03   #7
johnforster21
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4
Egg, you're a star - I'd have never figured that out myself.

Is there anything worth reading that would give me some more info on these sorts of things - as you can tell I'm a complete rookie!

Thanks again!
johnforster21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2007, 18:16   #8
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,972
For sure, but it's probably best to just deal with issues if/as and when they arise.

Glad to hear everything worked out ok :-)
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2008, 19:23   #9
The_Teflon_Tom
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1
Experiencing similar problem with m4a files

Hello Egg,

I am experiencing the same issue with m4a files. The difference is Winamp simply skips these files and moves on to the next file. I have seen several posts related to either 'no sound' or 'skipping file' but haven't figured out how to fix it.

- I am using 5.52 Pro.
- I have installed the Essential Pack and the ALAC decoder.
- When I get the file info for these files, the information is blank.
- This problem began when I started using 5.5X prior to this, these files would play without issue.
- Itunes is able to play these files without issue.
- I have attached a file showing my plug-ins.

Thanks!

Tom
Attached Images
File Type: png plugins_input.png (57.8 KB, 240 views)
The_Teflon_Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump