Old 17th October 2007, 16:32   #41
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,823
Yes, after the initial IMAPI usage, it then uses Sonic to do the actual burning.

Thanks for the replies.

So it looks like IMAPI is not falling back to Sonic then....

Hopefully we'll get to the root of the problem now and have it fixed for the next release.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2007, 16:33   #42
ajm786
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 33
Excellent. Good to hear we've narrowed down the problem. Now to get back to listening and burning!!!
ajm786 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2007, 23:17   #43
kazooba
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4
I tried as suggested and still no burn button! now what???
kazooba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2007, 23:30   #44
ajm786
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally posted by kazooba
I tried as suggested and still no burn button! now what???
There's nothing we can do but wait for Nullsoft to release a fix. I too tried this, since I'm home now, and it still doesn't work; I'm in the same boat as you.
ajm786 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2007, 01:19   #45
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,823
If the enabling IMAPI Service trick didn't work, try clicking on another ML view, eg. something simple like Bookmarks or Playlists root, then minimize Winamp to the taskbar, and then restore Winamp.

The minimize -> restore action should actually refresh the CD Drive listings in the tree, so maybe it might then recognize the drive/disc, and the Burn button might then appear.

But yeah, if that also fails, then please be patient and wait for 5.51, which should hopefully fix the bug. Sorry dudes.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2007, 01:20   #46
ajm786
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
If the enabling IMAPI Service trick didn't work, try clicking on another ML view, eg. something simple like Bookmarks or Playlists root, then minimize Winamp to the taskbar, and then restore Winamp.

The minimize -> restore action should actually refresh the CD Drive listings in the tree, so maybe it might then recognize the drive/disc, and the Burn button might then appear.

But yeah, if that also fails, then please be patient and wait for 5.51, which should hopefully fix the bug. Sorry dudes.
I actually already tried this to no avail. So yeah, it looks like we have to wait.
ajm786 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2007, 22:33   #47
soulstace
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 116
I tried it also DJ, but no luck here either. :\

HJT log attached.

All default plugins (Full install - English version).
Attached Files
File Type: txt hijackthis.txt (5.3 KB, 248 views)
soulstace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2007, 03:56   #48
s0m3f00l
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 10
Any word on this?? I have the same issue!!
s0m3f00l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2007, 04:13   #49
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,588
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
Quote:
Originally posted by s0m3f00l
Any word on this?? I have the same issue!!
Uuuhhh... did you NOT read everything in this thread? Did you not see what Egg wrote above? ...
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
But yeah, if that also fails, then please be patient and wait for 5.51, which should hopefully fix the bug. Sorry dudes.
So... the word on this is to wait for the next release. That's all she wrote.

Don't email or PM me concerning Winamp. Instead, either start a NEW TOPIC or post a REPLY in the appropriate thread in these forums. This will also benefit others who may have a similar question or problem. But before posting, please first Search the forums and read all FAQs and all Sticky threads.

ORB Remote Broadcast

[ Automated Jukebox | Nunzio's Home | Wacky Videos | Solve the Prunella Puzzle! ]
[ LINE RIDER! | My Resume | Virtual Chess | Composite Sketch | My Niece's Band ]
[ Plugins by Joonas | DrO's Winamp Plugins and Extras | K-Jöfol ]
Nunzio390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2007, 04:51   #50
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,823
she?
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2007, 05:34   #51
ajm786
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
she?
Now THAT's funny!!!
ajm786 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2007, 16:18   #52
soulstace
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 116
The idiom/phrase "That's all he wrote!" doesn't exist.
soulstace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2007, 16:38   #53
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,823
It does now :-)
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2007, 17:03   #54
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,588
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
LOL!
I guess "That's all she wrote" is just an "Americanized" expression, and not widely used elsewhere.
I wasn't implying that you were a "she", Egg
But in this case that's all he/you wrote!
Nunzio390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2007, 18:37   #55
FreakKitchen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1
I noticed that the file ml_disc.dll (Nullsoft Rip & Burn v1.14) was missing in my plugin directory after installing/upgrading to 5.5. Luckily I had 5.35 on my other computer and copied the ml_disc.dll to 5.5 plugin directory and voilá...Rip & Burn button is back again!
FreakKitchen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2007, 18:40   #56
ajm786
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally posted by FreakKitchen
I noticed that the file ml_disc.dll (Nullsoft Rip & Burn v1.14) was missing in my plugin directory after installing/upgrading to 5.5. Luckily I had 5.35 on my other computer and copied the ml_disc.dll to 5.5 plugin directory and voilá...Rip & Burn button is back again!
I already tried that. If you read earlier in the thread, you'll find out that that doesn't work. The button will show, but when you try to burn, Winamp will throw an error.
ajm786 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2007, 02:11   #57
s0m3f00l
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 10
i'm QQ'ing more!
s0m3f00l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2007, 20:03   #58
mikeman888
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1
No Burn But The One To Me

I have spent several hours and many reinstalls on multiple machines without ever getting a burn button. Followed this thread and tried everything.
BET my $19.95 Visa charge goes thru and shows up no problem....Will try the past PRO version but these guys should really be ashamed of themselves. Fool me once...

MikeMan888
mikeman888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2007, 20:22   #59
ajm786
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 33
Re: No Burn But The One To Me

Quote:
Originally posted by mikeman888
I have spent several hours and many reinstalls on multiple machines without ever getting a burn button. Followed this thread and tried everything.
BET my $19.95 Visa charge goes thru and shows up no problem....Will try the past PRO version but these guys should really be ashamed of themselves. Fool me once...

MikeMan888
I did a clean install of Windows on my home PC and now it works fine, but it still does not excuse the fact that this version of Winamp has conflicts with computers that already have Sonic products installed.
ajm786 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th October 2007, 00:22   #60
s0m3f00l
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 10
Winamp agent needs to be running in order for the burn button to work... I believe thats the bug..... Winamp agent is the sux
s0m3f00l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th October 2007, 00:51   #61
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,823
@s0m3f00l

I see a Burn button, and I don't have Agent running.
The Burn button is still there even if I delete winampa.exe

@MikeMan888 / everyone

We're fully aware that there's a problem for some 5.5 users, and we hope to have it fixed for 5.51.

Note that this issue is a 5.5-specific one.

The Burn button was there for all users in all versions between v5.0 and v5.35

We didn't break it intentionally.

All we ask is that you please bear with us, and wait for the fixed v5.51.

We are very very sorry for any/all the inconvenience this bug has caused.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th October 2007, 00:51   #62
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
Cannot reproduce, I never use Winamp Agent, but I can see the "burn" button in the library.
Koopa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th October 2007, 06:04   #63
tunaman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
Yes We Have No Burn Button

I tried all of the fixes listed and I can rip but not burn. Did Nullsoft hire a Bush family member to help with 5.5? I got Winamp in order to convert and burn. We are not amused....


Last edited by tunaman; 28th October 2007 at 06:21.
tunaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th October 2007, 06:04   #64
tunaman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
Yes We Have No Burn Button

If not Bush, is this a slick Dick Cheney plot?

I gave it up, uninstalled 5.5 and reinstalled 5.35. And, (drum roll) the Burn Button reappeared. I'm sticking with 5.35 untill 5.5 has the bugs worked out.

Last edited by tunaman; 28th October 2007 at 08:01.
tunaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2007, 17:26   #65
walterono
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Cambridge UK
Posts: 9
Is an update coming soon that will take care of this problem? I was thinking of upgrading to Pro but there is no point if I can't burn anything.
walterono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2007, 13:37   #66
soulstace
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 116
You can have multiple versions of winamp installed.

e.g. you can install Winamp 5.35 to C:\Program Files\Winamp535, and launch that when you need to burn.

During install/setup of v5.35, make sure to UNselect use separate settings for user accounts. This allows your Winamp 5.5 settings, library, and such to remain intact.
soulstace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2007, 18:37   #67
acepeep
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
No Burn Button Too

I upgrade from 5.35 to 5.5 and now I have no burn button. Before I upgraded I was able to burn discs just fine, but now nothing.

I Have Since:
1) Uninstalled all 3rd party plugins
2) Uninstalled/Reinstalled WinAmp
3) Uninstalled Sonic RecordNow
4) Uninstalled/Deleted WinAmp directory/Reinstalled
5) Shutdown all processes and uninstalled/reinstalled
6) Enabled IMAPI

Nothing seems to work.
I have attached the two requested files in a zip. My system is a Dell Dimension XPS Gen2 (service tag JKCCN41) running Windows XP Home in an admin account (I know). The Burner is a MagicSpin DVD+-RW drive using the microsoft driver.

Thanks for helping in advance.
Attached Files
File Type: zip my_plugin_list.zip (7.0 KB, 190 views)
acepeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2007, 20:03   #68
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,823
This bug is fixed in 5.51 Public Beta
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=282570
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2008, 21:19   #69
pcorona
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12
no...it's not fixed

running 5.53 and no...it is not fixed....no burn option
pcorona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2008, 21:53   #70
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,823
Yes, it is.

Everyone else confirmed it, and there's been no other reports of the problem ever since 5.51 was released a fair few months ago.

The only reason why there'd be no Burn button in 5.531 is if you unchecked 'Sonic Burning/Ripping Support' in the installer options, or if the Sonic Engine failed to install properly (for whatever unknown reason).
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Bug Reports

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump