Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Bug Reports

Closed Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 1st March 2010, 18:40   #121
Lindoman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 23
Winamp Remote doesn't work through Winamp period, since v5.56 I believe. A javascript error pops up whenever you try to play a song, but it does let you browse directories. See this thread in the Remote subforum =
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=308630
(threadid = 308630)

No response from any winamp dev or support and the thread started in July 2009.
Lindoman is offline  
Old 25th March 2010, 10:16   #122
bluemagicman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 11
This bug appears to be similar to the one reported in posts #114 and #115 in that it involves the Nullsoft Windows Media Decoder 3.4 [in_wm.dll] plugin. However, my problem occurs while playing .WMA files stored on my HDD & Internet Livestream. I have the latest version of Winamp, just installed with no third-party plugins present. I am running Winamp on Windows 7 32bit with an geforce 9500GT card.

I launch Winamp via the tray app. and Open/Browse to retrieve my media files. When I select and play any .WMA file, anywhere from 56-59 seconds (never reaches a minute) into any given song, Winamp crashes and gives the following error report:

Problemereignisname: APPCRASH
Anwendungsname: winamp.exe
Anwendungsversion: 5.5.7.2830
Anwendungszeitstempel: 4b4e4d1e
Fehlermodulname: in_wm.dll
Fehlermodulversion: 0.0.0.0
Fehlermodulzeitstempel: 4b4e4d37
Ausnahmecode: c0000005
Ausnahmeoffset: 0000629f
Betriebsystemversion: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.768.3
Gebietsschema-ID: 1033
Zusatzinformation 1: 0a9e
Zusatzinformation 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
Zusatzinformation 3: 0a9e
Zusatzinformation 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789



I can be playing one song, I can select multiple songs, .WMA files cause the player to crash every time. However, if I go through the same steps as above, STOP the player a few seconds into a song, exit, relaunch and replay (the pre-selected songs remain in playlist history), the player will run the songs over and over again just fine with no crash.
__________________
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	winamp_bug.jpg
Views:	202
Size:	59.8 KB
ID:	46656  
bluemagicman is offline  
Old 11th April 2010, 09:55   #123
BigKingFun
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2
Winamp crashing when ripping to flac

Latest version downloaded and installed, without 3rd party plugins.
Latest drivers and system updates downloaded and installed.

Mobo: Asus P5Q-PRO
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Essence ST
Videocard: Asus nVidia 8800 GT
OS: Windows XP Pro SP3

Whenever I try to rip a CD to flac, winamp will crash during rip of the first track.
I thought it to be a problem with my desktop, so I tried on my labtop (Lenovo R50e) and got the same result.

Please tell me if you need more information.
BigKingFun is offline  
Old 11th April 2010, 22:49   #124
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,569
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigKingFun View Post
Latest version downloaded and installed, without 3rd party plugins.
Latest drivers and system updates downloaded and installed.

Mobo: Asus P5Q-PRO
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Essence ST
Videocard: Asus nVidia 8800 GT
OS: Windows XP Pro SP3

Whenever I try to rip a CD to flac, winamp will crash during rip of the first track.
I thought it to be a problem with my desktop, so I tried on my labtop (Lenovo R50e) and got the same result.

Please tell me if you need more information.
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?t=318215

related?

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline  
Old 12th April 2010, 14:01   #125
langdon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17
Back with more pmp-related bugs

The base installation Winamp 5.572 cannot read the data from my Creative Zen Vision:M... or maybe it can read it, but it doesn't display it. It only appears to know the number of songs on the device.

I've narrowed it down to Nullsoft Microsoft PlaysForSure Plug-in v0.8 [pmp_p4s.dll], and by replacing the file (dated ‎Wednesday, ‎January ‎13, ‎2010, ‏‎5:46:00 PM) with the version from Winamp 5.55's installation (dated ‎Wednesday, ‎February ‎25, ‎2009, ‏‎4:18:38 PM) along with nscrt.dll, it begins working fine.

Winamp 5.572 (Jan 13th) - clean install (with NO 3rd-party plugins)
Skin: Winamp Classic
Windows OS: Windows 7 Pro
System specs: athlon x2 6000+, 4gb
Video Card: geforce 8800gtx
Sound Card: onboard asus
DirectX: (sorry I'm in remote desktop, I guess it's like 11)
Plugin (and version) affected by/causing the bug

A full, detailed, step-by-step method of reproduction:

1. Install winamp5572_full_emusic-7plus_en-us
2. Try to view Winamp Library -> Portables when a Creative Zen Vision M is plugged in
3. Name of device not shown, songs are listed by artist/title/time/etc is blank (see attached screenshot)

Curiously the initial installation sometimes did work... if you restart Winamp though, it always fails to display. It seemed to be related to the library being initialized, but I couldn't reproduce it by deleting AppData\Roaming\Winamp. Either way, it's still a consistent issue and exists on multiple machines.

Fix:

1. Replace Winamp\Plugins\pmp_p4s.dll with an old version (I got a working one from a Winamp 5.55 installation)
2. Copy nscrt.dll to Winamp\, since the old pmp_p4s.dll appears to need it.

The first screen shot is the not working one, the second is after the fix has been applied.

Thanks for looking into this.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	not working.png
Views:	207
Size:	11.9 KB
ID:	46754   Click image for larger version

Name:	fixed.png
Views:	200
Size:	14.0 KB
ID:	46755  
langdon is offline  
Old 12th April 2010, 22:42   #126
BigKingFun
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSinatra View Post
It was because I had named the destination folder with a ":" and windows does not like that.

Would it be possible to make a warning similar to the one windows displays, whenever you are trying to name a folder with illegal caracters?

Thankyou for your help MrSinatra.
BigKingFun is offline  
Old 13th April 2010, 08:20   #127
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigKingFun View Post
Would it be possible to make a warning similar to the one windows displays, whenever you are trying to name a folder with illegal caracters?
it's being looked into though not sure when/what the fix will amount to be once done.

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 15th April 2010, 13:04   #128
praise4him
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 11
ml_playlists.dll (v1.17)

Winamp 5.572
Language Pack: None(English)
Clean install with no 3rd party plugins other than Monkey's audio.
Skin: Winamp Modern and Classic skins

OS: Windows XP SP3
Locale: Korean
CPU: Intel 805d
Memory: 1GB RAM (with its half free)

There are two problems (or maybe mere gliches).
1. Winamp add addtional line-feed charater while it tries to save playlist.
When a unicoded song title matches some (unknown) condition, winamp adds an additional CR/LF character into default playlist while I close winamp. So next time I begin winamp I see CR/LF character attached at the end of some titles.
When I quit and start again it all comes ok without CR/LF character. But once quit again, they all come back.
While those characters are in sight, I save a new playlist and get those character included. So it ends up with a bad playlist.

*CR/LF character is displayed by windows as a filled box with a small circle in the center. And I can open to see default playlist file has additional empty line after a song path.

*I can still select all(ctrl+a) and update(ctrl+alt+e) to correct this. It's what I've been doing for years.

*I've uploaded an mp3 file (that matched the condition) and a screen shot in my Skydrive account.
http://cid-871c73ab1d4aa904.skydrive...on.aspx/Public


2. IME won't work when focus is in the playlist.
- IME
'Microsoft Office IME 2007' has been installed along with MS Office 2007. -> won't work
I tried with default Korean IME 2002 which is included in Windows xp. -> no go

- Symptom
When I leave IME on Korean while searching in ML and move focus to playlist, boom, it doesn't accept hot keys (that do not needs combination). So I'll have to move focus to something else, change IME, and come back to playlist to press 'j', 'm' or 'x'.
This might happen in another languages like Japanese or Chinese but I'm not sure.

* I can live with this. I don't want BIGGER winamp than winamp with a MINOR GLITCH.


** Screen shot of no. 1.


*** I hope that playlist scroll bar acting unlike windows default action can be selectable via option, too.
praise4him is offline  
Old 15th April 2010, 15:31   #129
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
#1
as you're using uncode media i'm not sure why you've not made use of the m3u8 playlist format which is designed to cope with such media. however i'm not able to reproduce the weird issue you've shown with your winamp.m3u (would be intrigued to see what the winamp.m3u8 is like as well) even with the sample file you've provided. though as you're obviously using a different system locale i'm not sure i'd be able to see such an issue anyway.

i'd be interested to see your plug-ins list just incase as this is the first time i've seen anyone show such an issue with Winamp's playlist saving.

#2
alas i don't have that installed so not able to test it & if i did have it installed i'm not sure how i'm even meant to use ime so am clueless on this (as most of the other people providing support around here would be as well).

Quote:
Originally Posted by praise4him View Post
*** I hope that playlist scroll bar acting unlike windows default action can be selectable via option, too.
it's been requested but that's part of the fun of Winamp so i really doubt it would change as it's been like that for over a decade).

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 16th April 2010, 01:13   #130
praise4him
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 11
#1 I thought about m3u8, but I forget to mention it neglecting it. m3u & m3u8 was identical when I took screenshot. They act like together-when one goes bad, the other goes bad, too. Here are plug-in:

Monkey's Audio Player v4.01 [in_APE.dll]
Nullsoft CD Plug-in (MusicID 2.6) v3.91 [in_cdda.dll]
Nullsoft FLAC Decoder 2.09 [in_flac.dll]
Nullsoft MPEG Audio Decoder 4.9 [in_mp3.dll]
Nullsoft DirectSound Output v2.49 [out_ds.dll]
Nullsoft Global Hotkeys v1.7 [gen_hotkeys.dll]
Jump To File Extra v1.0.7.3 (Build 913) [gen_jumpex.dll]
Nullsoft Media Library v3.27 [gen_ml.dll]
Nullsoft Tray Control v.24 [gen_tray.dll]
Nullsoft Local Media v2.9 [ml_local.dll]
Nullsoft Playlists v1.17 [ml_playlists.dll]
Nullsoft Auto-Tagger v2.04 [ml_autotag.dll]
Nullsoft Format Converter v2.4 [ml_transcode.dll]

* Also tried deleting program files, application data, and registry before.
* Verified happening in Bento, too.
* I remember this started happening some years ago. It started after updating winamp. But I can't remember both when nor version. Maybe 2006 I'm not sure. It was other computer with same locale-Korean.
* I just tested after changing my locale to English(USA). And IT WONT'T HAPPEN as you said.
NOW media library do not support unicode as shown below.



** No, nothing wrong with ML. It was a font problem. It automatically changed to Ariel. After changing the font setting to 'Ariel Unicode MS' it works well. But hey that's not the point. Changing locale causes problems in file handling of MS explorer.
-> Here conclusion is this happens only in specific locale (maybe just Korean)

#2 OK.. But I'm happy with this going to archives so that others may find same thing.

(I appreciate personally for your attention even though this is just a glitch)
praise4him is offline  
Old 16th April 2010, 15:42   #131
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
that wasn't quite the plug-ins's list i'd expected -> http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....161361#plugins gives a full file for everything installed. but as it seems to be working ok under the en-us locale, i'll have to see if what i can try myself with a korean locale though will be a little while before i can properly look into the issue.

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 15th May 2010, 02:33   #132
mvaughan27
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1
Auto-Tagger/Replay Gain Analyzer Deleting Media Files!

Sending albums (by right clicking on a playlist) to the auto-tagger or the replay gain analyzer randomly results in media files in that album being deleted from the HDD (not the playlist). Out of 63 albums, I had approximately 10-15 tracks deleted from my HDD. By chance, I caught the problem right away, restored the files from a backup, and ran the auto-tagger again (with the same results, only a different set of files had been deleted from the HDD). I discovered that the same issue occurred when sending albums to the replay gain analyzer.

I've run a standard suite of tests on my machine to check the integrity of my CPU, RAM, HDD's, etc and everything appears to be in good working order.

Quote:
Originally Posted by IMHO
This issue is very concerning! I suspect the application may edit the original file, or does not backup the original file and verify the operations success before deleting the original, thus leading to this problem...? I understand such safety mechanisms may negatively impact performance for some users, so perhaps an option could be added to enable/disable this behavior?
-Motherboard: EVGA 132-CK-NF79-A1, driver 15.53
-CPU: Intel Core2 Quad CPU Q9650 @ 3.00GHz (4 CPUs), ~3.0GHz
-RAM: 8GB OCZ3FXE20004GK @ 1333MHz
-Sound card: X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty, driver 2.17.0007
-Videocard: 2x EVGA GTX280 (01G-P3-1280-AR ), driver 197.45
-Windows OS: Windows 7 Pro x64 (6.1, build 7600)
-DirectX version: 11 (dxdiag does not appear to give me a more specific version number)
-Winamp version: 5.5.7.2830
-Winamp installation type: Pro
-Winamp skin: Modern
-FileTypes: m4a, MPEG-4 AAC LC 320Kbps (all of my audio is encoded in this format)
-A List of Plugins: I have not (intentionally) installed any plug-ins, though I have included the report generated by the stand-alone nunz.exe tool
Attached Files
File Type: txt my_plugin_list_ext.txt (3.6 KB, 186 views)
mvaughan27 is offline  
Old 16th May 2010, 15:31   #133
JorisD
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 9
Media Library vanished

My Media Library suddenly disappeared. Completely gone leaving only an empty gray window.
Import of XML did not work.

Winamp 5.572
Windows Vista Home premium SP2
No TP plugins or add-ons
Winamp modern skin
Language standard English

After removing main.idx I can start from scratch again, all track-ratings and played-data lost.

Joris.
JorisD is offline  
Old 18th May 2010, 00:50   #134
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
JorisD: A corrupt media library can be the result of many issues. It's not really a bug, which can be fixed.

If you library is running good, you could use my Winamp Backup Tool to save your database, and if it's getting corrupt again, simply restore the backup. So you don't have to start from the scratch again.
Koopa is offline  
Old 20th May 2010, 18:07   #135
bluemagicman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 11
Winamp 5.572 ,Win 7,crash !!!! When playing all windows media internet radios coming on About 1 min. this error:

Problemereignisname: APPCRASH
Anwendungsname: winamp.exe
Anwendungsversion: 5.5.7.2933
Anwendungszeitstempel: 4bf3f7ca
Fehlermodulname: in_wm.dll
Fehlermodulversion: 0.0.0.0
Fehlermodulzeitstempel: 4bf3f7e3
Ausnahmecode: c0000005
Ausnahmeoffset: 0001d41e
Betriebsystemversion: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.768.3
Gebietsschema-ID: 1031
Zusatzinformation 1: 0a9e
Zusatzinformation 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
Zusatzinformation 3: 0a9e
Zusatzinformation 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

Please Remove this Bug !!!!!!!
bluemagicman is offline  
Old 5th June 2010, 14:31   #136
franxico
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Brasil
Posts: 3
Auto-tag freezes Winamp 5.572 Free

Sometimes (it doesn't happen everytime) when I select some songs and I send them to auto-tag, Winamp freezes forever. Tried with Vista and Win 7 32 bit. Here's the info this lost one gives me:

Description :
Un problème a provoqué l’arrêt de l’interaction de ce programme avec Windows.

Signature du problème*:
Nom d’événement de problème: AppHangB1
Nom de l’application: winamp.exe
Version de l’application: 5.5.7.2830
Horodatage de l’application: 4b4e4d1e
Signature de blocage: e106
Type de blocage: 521
Version du système: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.256.1
Identificateur de paramètres régionaux: 1036
Signature de blocage supplém. 1: e10648f060ac92fb3d158b3f27a82b75
Signature de blocage supplém. 2: 2fc1
Signature de blocage supplém. 3: 2fc1d4da32c3188795f6ecbc35b578a0
Signature de blocage supplém. 4: 2de0
Signature de blocage supplém. 5: 2de08bbce9c644c1ff15b28ce817d477
Signature de blocage supplém. 6: 58e9
Signature de blocage supplém. 7: 58e9f4c6edab78e7f7f856f9ff9a88f9

I have no 3rd party plugins installed.

System is Intel Quad Q9300, 3GB, ATI HD3600. Media library has ~39GB.

Here's an exemple of file who auto-tag can't tag and freezes Winamp http://dl.free.fr/iXF1JCabJ
Other files of the same album work fine.

Any thoughts? Thanks

Last edited by franxico; 5th June 2010 at 14:50. Reason: adding file
franxico is offline  
Old 10th June 2010, 12:43   #137
dialer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2
ftp bug

Winamp 5.572
Bug in Nullsoft Podcasts v1.27 [ml_wire.dll]

When trying to download podcasts from subscribtion, which are hosted under ftp:// protocol, nothing downloads.

Here is an example of source: http://kissfm.ua/v3/podcasts/all.xml
Just add to subscriptions and try to download some item. You'll see that downloading does not work in this case.
dialer is offline  
Old 19th June 2010, 19:11   #138
timedroid
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by langdon View Post
The base installation Winamp 5.572 cannot read the data from my Creative Zen Vision:M... or maybe it can read it, but it doesn't display it. It only appears to know the number of songs on the device.

I've narrowed it down to Nullsoft Microsoft PlaysForSure Plug-in v0.8 [pmp_p4s.dll], and by replacing the file (dated ‎Wednesday, ‎January ‎13, ‎2010, ‏‎5:46:00 PM) with the version from Winamp 5.55's installation (dated ‎Wednesday, ‎February ‎25, ‎2009, ‏‎4:18:38 PM) along with nscrt.dll, it begins working fine.

Winamp 5.572 (Jan 13th) - clean install (with NO 3rd-party plugins)
Skin: Winamp Classic
Windows OS: Windows 7 Pro
System specs: athlon x2 6000+, 4gb
Video Card: geforce 8800gtx
Sound Card: onboard asus
DirectX: (sorry I'm in remote desktop, I guess it's like 11)
Plugin (and version) affected by/causing the bug

A full, detailed, step-by-step method of reproduction:

1. Install winamp5572_full_emusic-7plus_en-us
2. Try to view Winamp Library -> Portables when a Creative Zen Vision M is plugged in
3. Name of device not shown, songs are listed by artist/title/time/etc is blank (see attached screenshot)

Curiously the initial installation sometimes did work... if you restart Winamp though, it always fails to display. It seemed to be related to the library being initialized, but I couldn't reproduce it by deleting AppData\Roaming\Winamp. Either way, it's still a consistent issue and exists on multiple machines.

Fix:

1. Replace Winamp\Plugins\pmp_p4s.dll with an old version (I got a working one from a Winamp 5.55 installation)
2. Copy nscrt.dll to Winamp\, since the old pmp_p4s.dll appears to need it.

The first screen shot is the not working one, the second is after the fix has been applied.

Thanks for looking into this.
I am having this exact same problem with two computers: One Windows Vista, the latest XP home. It will also work initially for a while after a new install when I tried it on Vista, but then reverts to the blank name and song information.
The issue with my XP computer started after I tried to transfer 16GB to my Zen: Vision M 32GB and Winamp stopped responding and started leaking memory, which is another bug in and of itself. It was up around 1GB of pagefile usage when I killed it. WUDFHost.exe was also running, but was killed after Winamp was. The next time I tried to access it, it just wasn't listed (a problem that also happens with my Vista install). Now it shows up with the blank name/info.
I've tried deleting the USB device information in the registry to no avail. The device still works fine with Windows Media Player on the computers where it doesn't work with Winamp.
timedroid is offline  
Closed Thread
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Bug Reports

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump