Old 28th August 2001, 19:01   #41
TheChange
Junior Member
 
TheChange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 44
ok i've gathered some stats , is it really not possible to add the amiga pitch slide feature ?

Total Modules: 3567 ( IT , XM , S3M , MOD )
S3M / MOD: 2105
IT / XM: 1462

all S3M and MOD files have amiga pitch sliding , around 25% of all IT and XM files have amiga pitch sliding , the rest is linear. please advise ( im not gonna adjust every Exx and Fxx effects in 2300+ files )
TheChange is offline  
Old 28th August 2001, 19:33   #42
peter
ist death
 
peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 3,704
any good examples about that pitch shift ? it seems working ok to me
peter is offline  
Old 29th August 2001, 05:23   #43
TheChange
Junior Member
 
TheChange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally posted by TheChange
ok i reconstucted 2 examples which also shows 2 new bugs :/

http://www.geocities.com/thechange/FX6.IT demonstrates what happens if you enter notes without a value but it also demonstrates the extra metallic effect

http://www.geocities.com/thechange/FX7.IT demonstrates an incorrect Amiga pitchslide but also displays the extra metallic effect

metallic effect: it is the lower sound quality that creates the effect thus in IT also having the metallic effect. although it sounds 'warmer' there, as if there are more midtones there. or maybe it has something to do with the 32-bit mixing involved? anyway, it needs a full compare between WinAmp and IT to hear the exact difference

gl =)
i'll create a song for ya if u can fix it
( that is like saying thanks, but without words ok im sounding taccy now )
That http://www.geocities.com/thechange/FX7.IT song shows it pretty accurately
TheChange is offline  
Old 29th August 2001, 05:27   #44
TheChange
Junior Member
 
TheChange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 44
New bug found.

According to the Scream Tracker 3 format the effect SAx represents 'old stereo effect' unlike the Impulse Tracker format where it means 'higher sample offset'.

I think SA0 was left, SA1 was right and SA6 was center, I'm not sure.
Anyway, a lot of S3M files seem to have missing notes due to this in WinAmp...
TheChange is offline  
Old 29th August 2001, 09:33   #45
peter
ist death
 
peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 3,704
ok, blame modplug. i see wtf is going on now (i was too lazy to run IT). hacking in progress...
peter is offline  
Old 29th August 2001, 10:32   #46
peter
ist death
 
peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 3,704
<insert long list of rants about Lim's intelligence here>
added this : "period=(period*(12000-param))/12000;" - seems to do the job on fx7, but i don't think it's 100% correct. could you give me more info which formats use this stuff and which ones don't ? (S3Ms don't seem to)

[edit] reuploaded.
(also, back previous in_mod.dll up before installing this one...)

btw, are you involved in tracking community ? it would be kewl if there were some serious standards for storing id3-like info (for wa3's database stuff).

Last edited by peter; 29th August 2001 at 10:52.
peter is offline  
Old 30th August 2001, 07:58   #47
TheChange
Junior Member
 
TheChange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 44
wow nice

erm community erm no, only the unreal tournament community
but i'm interested in most things
TheChange is offline  
Old 2nd September 2001, 01:12   #48
TheChange
Junior Member
 
TheChange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally posted by PP
about weirdo sound quality - mikmod uses only linear resampling, this might be the problem (it's not a big priority for me now to rewrite mixers )
hmm do you have some knowledge on reprogramming the mixing thingy that 'decodes' the bytes into waves? i mean, do u have some highly technical information on how, basically put, a sample is converted into a wave on yer SB - thus knowing how to alter it, or tweak it, to remove or adjust the metal-head-base-like sound in winamp, when u wanna have max quality, like the fluent sounds in IT.
TheChange is offline  
Old 2nd September 2001, 09:52   #49
peter
ist death
 
peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 3,704
see FX8, freaky PCM curve produced by in_mod's interpolation. this is why linear resampling sucks. if you upsample that 2-bytes long sample in modplug (er, after hacking the file to work in modplug), it sounds much better (also see output wav files from impulsetracker). i know how to workaround it, but new mixer will be really slow (and optional of course). i've already been doing similar stuff (TFMX plugin).
peter is offline  
Old 2nd September 2001, 18:39   #50
TheChange
Junior Member
 
TheChange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 44
1) but the output wav from IT is mono

2) upsample that 2-byte sample from what to what ?

3) tfmx? what's that?
TheChange is offline  
Old 2nd September 2001, 19:23   #51
peter
ist death
 
peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 3,704
1. no prob with mono output, you can compare mono wavs.
2. modplug has quite simple 'upsample' command which upsamples selected sample by 2x (and updates all info so it still plays correctly). unfortunately, modplug doesn't allow 2-byte samples (just make 'longer' version of that sample by repeating it 100 times).
3. TFMX = format used in some old Amiga games
peter is offline  
Old 2nd September 2001, 23:23   #52
TheChange
Junior Member
 
TheChange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 44
1) oh lol , k
2) erm define upsampling , 8-bit -> 16/32-bit ? , sample length ? , encoding type ?
3) hmm darn im from the atari side
TheChange is offline  
Old 3rd September 2001, 11:04   #53
peter
ist death
 
peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 3,704
modplug's upsampling increases/decreases sample length 2x; doesn't change data format. see attachement (fx8hack - fixed to work in modplug, fx8hack2 - after upsampling)
Attached Files
File Type: zip fx8hack.zip (1.9 KB, 220 views)
peter is offline  
Old 5th September 2001, 00:44   #54
TheChange
Junior Member
 
TheChange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 44
so i cant play chipmods in winamp at all ?
or is there a batch conversion program out there ?
TheChange is offline  
Old 5th September 2001, 09:38   #55
peter
ist death
 
peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 3,704
chipmods ?
peter is offline  
Old 5th September 2001, 22:37   #56
peter
ist death
 
peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 3,704
http://www.1014.org/~peter/in_mod.zip
experimental cubic interpolation. ugly and slow, but should fix 'metalic' effect.
peter is offline  
Old 20th October 2001, 22:26   #57
calath
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 4
XM causes crash!

Song: KZ-SF2.XM
in_mod.dll: This one
Winamp: 2.77
Third party plugins: nada
Sound card: SB Audigy X-Gamer
Driver Rev: Release drivers (no updates available)
OS: Windows 2000 SP2
RAM: 256M

About 3 seconds into the song, I get:

Quote:
The instruction at "0x00fcfd07" referened memory at "0x10fe674a". The memory could not be "read".
Then, of course, Winamp dies.

Also, 24-bit output doesn't work. I get errors when attempting to start playback:

using out_ds.dll:

Quote:
Could not set output format
using out_wave.dll:
Quote:
The specified format is not supported or cannot be translated. Use the Capabilities function to determine the supported formats.
followed by:
Quote:
The instruction at "0x011a15b0" referenced memory at "0x01e80020". The memory could not be "written".
Note, the error occurs regardless of whether "wave mapper" or "SB Audigy" is selected in either plugin.

Nathan
(edit: it's 2.77, not 4.77. I don't have a time travel machine!)
calath is offline  
Old 20th October 2001, 22:38   #58
peter
ist death
 
peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 3,704
kz-sf2.xm : hacking in progress. use the mod plugin from v2.77 setup, it's newer than the one you got (i'm going to remove in_mod.zip from root dir to avoid further confusion).
[edit]24bit crap: use this
peter is offline  
Old 20th October 2001, 22:44   #59
Wish
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 702
It's a known fact, the current Audigy drivers don't expose any 24bit interface, so no 24bit output. Go and bug/flame/whatever Creative about this.
Wish is offline  
Old 20th October 2001, 22:58   #60
peter
ist death
 
peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 3,704
fixed. seems like broken file for me.
peter is offline  
Old 21st October 2001, 00:43   #61
calath
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 4
Tremor XM effect is borked too

File: ICANFLY.XM
Problem: Tremor effect (Txx) is interpreted incorrectly. It's hard to describe, and ModPlug borks it too, so I suggest grabbing a copy of Fast Tracker II here.

From the ft2.txt file:
Quote:
Syntax: T + On time + Off time

This weird command will set the volume to zero during off time number of ticks. It is included for STM compatibility.
To use FT2, you'll need Win9x and a SoundBlaster 16-compatible card, and you'll want to check your AUTOEXEC.BAT to make sure the SET BLASTER line is there. If not, it should be:

SET BLASTER=A220 I5 D1 H5 P330 T6

Parameters:
A - port address
I - IRQ
D - 8-bit DMA
H - 16-bit DMA
P - synth port address
T - type, 6 = SB 16.

If you are using WinME, you will need to add this to the "Environment variables" tab of msconfig (click start, run, MSCONFIG).

Nathan
calath is offline  
Old 21st October 2001, 08:05   #62
peter
ist death
 
peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 3,704
sorry, no working win9x systems here. i'll try hacking it when i have time (don't expect fixed version before next weekend).
peter is offline  
Old 21st October 2001, 19:25   #63
calath
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 4
By the way..

If you look at the XM.TXT file included with the FT2 zip, there's info on the Amiga-style frequency table.

code:
Amiga frequence table:
----------------------

Period = (PeriodTab[(Note MOD 12)*8 + FineTune/16]*(1-Frac(FineTune/16)) +
PeriodTab[(Note MOD 12)*8 + FineTune/16]*(Frac(FineTune/16)))
*16/2^(Note DIV 12);
(The period is interpolated for finer finetune values)
Frequency = 8363*1712/Period;

PeriodTab = Array[0..12*8-1] of Word = (
907,900,894,887,881,875,868,862,856,850,844,838,832,826,820,814,
808,802,796,791,785,779,774,768,762,757,752,746,741,736,730,725,
720,715,709,704,699,694,689,684,678,675,670,665,660,655,651,646,
640,636,632,628,623,619,614,610,604,601,597,592,588,584,580,575,
570,567,563,559,555,551,547,543,538,535,532,528,524,520,516,513,
508,505,502,498,494,491,487,484,480,477,474,470,467,463,460,457);



Nathan
calath is offline  
Old 26th March 2002, 03:39   #64
sobaboy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 2
Win98
PIII 800 512MB
Creative Live 5.1 PCI
Creative AWE64 Value ISA

Winamp 2.79
in_mod.dll 2.2.10 beta 5
out_wave.dll v1.0

Crashes Winamp:
http://phluid.acid.org/

Phluid Pack 7, 1996/05 and from that: Xc-xenog.s3m

Phluid Pack 8, 1996/06 and from that: ARC_PLBY.S3M

These can be drag and dropped on to the playlist window. They will show the title of the song, but no time. Double clicking on the song will eventually bring the white border of death to the main Winamp window.

ftp://ftp.us.scene.org:21/pub/Music/scene/music/groups/bohema/bo-040.zip and inside that: n-nuko.xm

This will white border the main winamp window even faster than the previous .s3m's


Song Times:
http://www.scene*****massage/m10.htm and the first song k_chiba2.s3m shows 18:52 and ModPlug shows 11:10

If you can find KLF-CHIB.s3m then you can have even more fun, as it shows 63:52, ModPlug shows 18:04 and the Sample notes show 18:26

Plays funny:
These two are hard to find as Tokyo Dawn Records seems to have removed most of their modules from scene.org and their websites:

ftp://ftp.us.scene.org:21/pub/Music/...3/tokyo-45.zip
tokyodawn 1998 keith303 into the unknown:
K303ITUK.xm

Plays for about 13 seconds and stops.

Clicking on another song gives me a message box with a title of "error killing decode thread" and a message of "error asking thread to die"

tokyo 2051 krii+wesi only for you:
O4UFRDMX.it
speeds up and slows down, doesn't play like the mp3 I have of it, or like ModPlug plays it

Other Module player source code:
http://www.mikmod.org/

http://modplug-xmms.sourceforge.net/

http://xmp.sourceforge.net/

Open Cubic Player
sobaboy is offline  
Old 26th March 2002, 15:44   #65
TheChange
Junior Member
 
TheChange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 44
WoW

Now that's what you call GREAT info!
TheChange is offline  
Old 23rd April 2002, 04:35   #66
sobaboy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 2
Does Peter still check this thread?

I posted this about a month ago, and no reply from Peter.
Does anyone know if he still checks this thread?
Does anyone know of a better place to post bugs in the Mod player for Winamp 2.x?
sobaboy is offline  
Old 23rd April 2002, 08:46   #67
peter
ist death
 
peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 3,704
i do read, but i have more important things to do right now.
peter is offline  
Old 26th April 2002, 15:15   #68
peter
ist death
 
peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 3,704
i've been looking into some of those; my first impression is "people make all sorts of f*cked files then wonder why Winamp can't play them"; i've made some XMs display nice error messages instead of freezing (sorry, blorp.com ftp is bork, i can't post new in_mod); more to come later (i'm really really busy).
peter is offline  
Old 27th April 2002, 12:59   #69
TheChange
Junior Member
 
TheChange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 44
peter's da man
TheChange is offline  
Old 31st October 2002, 16:07   #70
prism_emf
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 3
Amiga MOD sample triggering & slides bug

Originally posted this bug on Peter's own forum, I thought I would post this here as well so it doesn't get lost.

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....hreadid=112108

So, in short - retriggering samples without the note specified doesn't work in the same way as it does in ProTracker. If you put a sample number on a track without a note, Winamp trigs the new sample at the pitch of the note last seen on the track. What it _should_ do is to trig the new sample using the same pitch that was being played on the channel prior to triggering. Which might be different from the previous note frequency due to sliding etc.

I think most PC trackers do this their own way as well, so the bug is really only in the Amiga MOD decoder. The problem with PC formats is obviously that you have a freely specified C4speed (or whateva) so that getting the pitch right for the triggered note might be difficult.

For sound examples, see above link.

Cheers,
// Prism
prism_emf is offline  
Old 1st November 2002, 05:34   #71
X-Fixer
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 543
currently, I'm hacking over winamp2 module decoder plug-in. You can get updated version at
http://x-fixer.narod*****download/in_mod.zip

prism_emf: I'll check your module later today.

everybody: since I do not know what peter's fight has ended with and what my own hacks have fixed/broken, please check everything and report modules that are still broken.

previous thread I used for announcements:
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=96818
X-Fixer is offline  
Old 1st November 2002, 11:29   #72
X-Fixer
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 543
fixed. it's not an "official" release though, because I'm affraid that this fix can brake some other modules.

I'll highly appreciate it if someone test this thoroughly and explain me in what cases (I mean in MODs/XMs/S3Ms/ITs, instrument/sample mode or whatever) instrument specified without a note can overwrite current period (i.e. restart portamento, vibrato, arpeggio etc).

prism_emf: FYI it's order 3, not 4 since orders are 0-based . and there is no such a thing as "amiga mod decoder". there is a "protracker mod loader", but it does not handle such things - actual playing of notes/effects is handled by the player, which uses the same code for all types modules. and there is not "problem with PC trackers", it's just your imagination thanks for info, anyway.
X-Fixer is offline  
Old 1st November 2002, 18:34   #73
TheChange
Junior Member
 
TheChange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 44
Keep up the great work!
TheChange is offline  
Old 2nd November 2002, 04:09   #74
X-Fixer
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 543
[insert a long rant about Jeffery Lim and another one about DeliPlayer]

from what I've tested only Impulse Tracker resets period when sample's without a note (in all modes, formats)! modplug never does it (even when playing .IT files). should I emulate buggy IT for .it files or just forget about it?
could anyone test this with other players/trackers (behind.mod posted by prism_emf is a good file for testing)? any help is appreciated. also, I have some other testing requests, if anyone have time for this.
X-Fixer is offline  
Old 2nd November 2002, 07:55   #75
Lion King
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,670
http://www.vastwaters.com/2/Ziwtra_-...ing_Tea.xm.zip created with http://www.soundtracker.org/

it doesn't work with beta 27 and 27.5 anymore, it did work with beta 26 and before
Lion King is offline  
Old 2nd November 2002, 09:01   #76
X-Fixer
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 543
Lion King, could you please stop ignoring my requests and post *descriptions* of bugs, rather than just saying "it does not work". This rule is not just a product of my bored imagination. Remember that I use an internal build, that is *always* different from the one you use and might *not have the bug*. Not to mention that I don't have time to try to guess what did you mean and/or what's wrong with the module.
X-Fixer is offline  
Old 2nd November 2002, 11:23   #77
Lion King
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,670
mikamp 2.2.10 beta 27 and 27.5 don't play the module at all, they don't detect it as a mod or something like that, winamp skips over it in the playlist
mikamp 2.2.10 beta 26 and earlier detect and play it (descriptive enough?)
the file is kinda huge, 600 kb
Lion King is offline  
Old 2nd November 2002, 17:00   #78
X-Fixer
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 543
works for me (kinda obviously)

seems that the problem is on your side. and no, it's not "descriptive enough". if in_mod does not recognize file as a module it should display a error message. if it does not, there is some mess up in your winamp configuration and the file is no associated with in_mod. check this (look in preferences/loader tab for loader to be "enabled", check in winamp "file types" etc; try deleting winamp.ini and the stuff)

btw, does in_mod show info box for the file?
X-Fixer is offline  
Old 2nd November 2002, 17:19   #79
Lion King
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,670
no infobox
how could the configuration be messed up if it works fine in beta 26??

I'll test it on a different system later...
Lion King is offline  
Old 3rd November 2002, 06:48   #80
X-Fixer
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 543
post the exact playlist entry
X-Fixer is offline  
Closed Thread
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Bug Reports

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump