Old 2nd June 2009, 05:07   #1
matracas
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Mexico
Posts: 25
AAC+ radio stream won't play

I understand that winamp 5.55 is downloadable ready for playing aac+ streams...but it won't play a stream on my home computer.

I will give all the necessary information to see if you can identify the problem because; from what I know, there should be no problem since the aac+ stream plug-in is already integrated in winamp.

My PC is a Dell Dimension 8200
Intel Inside Pentium 4
Windows XP Profesional Version 2002 SP3
CPU 2.00 Ghz
RAM 767MB
Video: NVIDIA GForce 2MX/MX 400
DirectX version: 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
Winamp 5.552 (x86) FULL

Here is the link to the stream I am trying to get to play:

http://77.92.65.253/lost80s.aac

I know that it works because with the same Winamp version and same plug-ins as here, I am able to listen at work.

If you feel necessary for me to attach a HiJackThis log here, let me know.

I am attaching the list my_plugin_list log

Thanks in advance,
Attached Files
File Type: txt my_plugin_list_ext.txt (3.0 KB, 222 views)
matracas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2009, 12:28   #2
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,136
Please post the full List Of Plugins via the One For Nunz plugin,
not via the external standalone version (which we only ask for if you can't get Winamp to open).
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....161361#plugins

Lots of 3rd-party plugins there...

Is AAC in the in_mp3 config extension list? (Prefs -> Plugins -> Input -> in_mp3 -> config)
(the full list of plugins would have shown us this)

Do other streams play ok, eg. SHOUTcast Radio mp3 streams?

Do you see any http error messages in the playlist entry when trying to play the stream?
eg. connecting / http 500 access denied, etc

[EDIT]

I need to see the FULL "List of plugins" (not the standalone version).
Please follow the instructions.
Make sure 'open text file once generated' is checkmarked first.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2009, 14:04   #3
matracas
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Mexico
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
Please post the full List Of Plugins via the One For Nunz plugin, not via the external standalone version (which we only ask for if you can't get Winamp to open).
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....161361#plugins
I tried this first..but nothing would get generated. I installed and followed your instructions but when I checked the generate listing (all below) nothing happened, that's why I did the external one.

Lots of 3rd-party plugins there...

Is AAC in the in_mp3 config extension list? (Prefs -> Plugins -> Input -> in_mp3 -> config)
(the full list of plugins would have shown us this)
Do you mean in the file association? Then , yes it is

Do other streams play ok, eg. SHOUTcast Radio mp3 streams?
Yes, I have no problem with other streams, they all play great.

Do you see any http error messages in the playlist entry when trying to play the stream?
eg. connecting / http 500 access denied, etc
No error message; what it does is that; after about 15 seconds, I get a "Timed Out" message.

I really appreciate your help DJ Egg and am glad you have taken a step to try to help me out...from what I have read here, you are very knowledgeable and I know you'll be able to help me out.
matracas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2009, 20:33   #4
matracas
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Mexico
Posts: 25
No Send To: in right click

[edit > JonnyMac] ^Threads merged^ [/edit]

Damn; something is definately wrong with winamp in my PC.

I downloaded the most recent version (5.552) and besides the AAC+ problem I have,
See: http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=307001

I have another problem, Send To: is missing on the right click menu of the Playlist section.

When I first installed this version I know it was there because I used the auto-tag on more than 100 mp3s at a single time.

But then I rebooted my PC and when I tried to go back to auto-tag (I felt like a kid with a new toy, wanted to auto-tag as much as possible) I discovered that the Send To: option was missing.

All my computer info as well as plug-ins can be found in the link I have added above.

Hopefully someone will help me get it back because it take forever to auto tag one by one.

Thanks in advance,
matracas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2009, 21:40   #5
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,385
DJ's suspicion as well as mine is the possibility that one or more of the third party plug-in is causing the issues with Winamp.
-- You can either try disabling the third party plug-ins by moving the respective plug-in files to another folder/directory. The run Winamp and see what happens.

-or-

-- Try a full uninstall > reinstall (AKA clean install) of Winamp. A clean install of Winamp, is usually a cure-all for strange issues.

Please do not PM me for tech support. Any request for tech support through PM will be ignored.
Read the Stickies
---> | | | | <--- Knowledge is power
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2009, 22:09   #6
matracas
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Mexico
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally posted by JonnyMac
You can either try disabling the third party plug-ins by moving the respective plug-in files to another folder/directory. Then run Winamp and see what happens.
From my listing, can you tell which ones are third party? Truth is I have been using winamp in my computer for 7 years now so I have no idea what number of plug-ins I have installed over the years.
matracas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2009, 22:48   #7
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,385
Well, here is a list of the default plug-ins that come with Winamp. With that you will be able to see which ones are Winamp's and which are third party. The file names are in the [square brackets].

A good portion of the third party plug-ins are General Purpose plug-ins. If you are looking at the plug-ins via Winamp > Plug-ins options Window, most (but not all) of Winamp's plug-ins start with Nullsoft.
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2009, 04:50   #8
matracas
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Mexico
Posts: 25
Not many 3rd party plug-ins

Thanks Johnny.

I have compared my plug-ins to those on the list you directed me to and there are only 2 plug ins that were not there

SqrSoft & the Messenger Live.

I'm pretty sure these are not the problem because I have these same plugins in my office PC's winamp and the AAC+ stream works just fine.

Any suggestion with my PC's hardware/software?
matracas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2009, 01:01   #9
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,385
You have more that a couple third party plug-ins. The following is taken from the plug-ins list you provided, the third party plug-ins are in red. The plug-ins form the Winamp Essentials pack are still considered to be 3rd party. Although they were developed by the Winamp crew, the W.E. plug-ins are not part of the default install of Winamp.

There should be a Winamp Essentials entry in the Add/Remove icon of the Control Panel, if you want to completely uninstall the W.E. pack.

<< General Purpose plugins >>

gen_acf.dll (162 kb)
gen_dropbox.dll(849 kb)
gen_ff.dll (1467 kb)
gen_find_on_disk.dll (7 kb)
gen_hotkeys.dl (25 kb)
gen_im.dll (26 kb)
gen_jumpex.dll (205 kb)
gen_killpredixis.dll (4 kb)
gen_ml.dll (283 kb)
gen_msn.dll (44 kb)
gen_nopro.dll (20 kb)
gen_nunzio.dll (30 kb) <--- One-for-Nunz - DrO's plug-in lister
gen_skinsubmenu.dll (20 kb)
gen_timerestore.dll (25 kb)
gen_tray.dll (24 kb)
gen_undo.dll (20 kb)


<< Media Library plugins >>

ml_autotag.dll (26 kb)
ml_bookmarks.dll (20 kb)
ml_dash.dll (29 kb)
ml_disc.dll (189 kb)
ml_enqplay.dll (12 kb)
ml_history.dll (43 kb)
ml_impex.dll (44 kb)
ml_local.dll (271 kb)
ml_nowplaying.dll (20 kb)
ml_online.dll (235 kb)
ml_orb.dll (67 kb)
ml_playlists.dll (74 kb)
ml_plg.dll (56 kb)
ml_pmp.dll (197 kb)
ml_rg.dll (23 kb)
ml_transcode.dll (27 kb)
ml_wire.dll (185 kb)


<< Input plugins >>

in_APE.dll (360 kb)
in_cdda.dll (105 kb)
in_flac.dll (37 kb)
in_flv.dll (34 kb)
in_linein.dll (6 kb)
in_midi.dll (96 kb)
in_mod.dll (157 kb)
in_mp3.dll (261 kb)
in_mp4.dll (36 kb)
in_nsv.dll (67 kb)
in_swf.dll (36 kb)
in_vorbis.dll (226 kb)
in_wav.dll (11 kb)
in_wave.dll (14 kb)
in_winampac3.dll (456 kb)
in_wm.dll (290 kb)
in_wv.dll (214 kb)


<< Output plugins >>

out_disk.dll (19 kb)
out_ds.dll (46 kb)
out_exd.dll (13 kb)
out_sqr.dll (284 kb)
out_wave.dll (18 kb)
OUT_XF.DLL (20 kb)


<< DSP plugins >>

dsp_sps.dll (39 kb)


<< Visualisation plugins >>

vis_avs.dll (344 kb)
vis_milk.dll (420 kb) <--- Older version of MilkDrop
vis_milk2.dll (1224 kb)
vis_nsfs.dll (28 kb)


<< Portable plugins >>

pmp_activesync.dll (25 kb)
pmp_ipod.dll (102 kb)
pmp_njb.dll (17 kb)
pmp_p4s.dll (111 kb)
pmp_usb.dll (41 kb)

---------------------------------

Maybe you should try the clean install of Winamp.
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2009, 03:00   #10
matracas
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Mexico
Posts: 25
Send To: is back...but not AAC+

I have deleted most of the 3rd party plugins and I have gotten the Send To: option back (thanks)

Now my plugins look like this:

Quote:
<< General Purpose plugins >>

gen_dropbox.dll(849 kb)
gen_ff.dll (1467 kb)
gen_hotkeys.dl (25 kb)
gen_im.dll (26 kb)
gen_jumpex.dll (205 kb)
gen_ml.dll (283 kb)
gen_msn.dll (44 kb)
gen_nunzio.dll (30 kb) <--- One-for-Nunz - DrO's plug-in lister
gen_timerestore.dll (25 kb)
gen_tray.dll (24 kb)
gen_undo.dll (20 kb)


<< Media Library plugins >>

ml_autotag.dll (26 kb)
ml_bookmarks.dll (20 kb)
ml_dash.dll (29 kb)
ml_disc.dll (189 kb)
ml_history.dll (43 kb)
ml_impex.dll (44 kb)
ml_local.dll (271 kb)
ml_nowplaying.dll (20 kb)
ml_online.dll (235 kb)
ml_orb.dll (67 kb)
ml_playlists.dll (74 kb)
ml_plg.dll (56 kb)
ml_pmp.dll (197 kb)
ml_rg.dll (23 kb)
ml_transcode.dll (27 kb)
ml_wire.dll (185 kb)


<< Input plugins >>

in_APE.dll (360 kb)
in_cdda.dll (105 kb)
in_flac.dll (37 kb)
in_flv.dll (34 kb)
in_linein.dll (6 kb)
in_midi.dll (96 kb)
in_mod.dll (157 kb)
in_mp3.dll (261 kb)
in_mp4.dll (36 kb)
in_nsv.dll (67 kb)
in_swf.dll (36 kb)
in_vorbis.dll (226 kb)
in_wave.dll (14 kb)
in_winampac3.dll (456 kb)
in_wm.dll (290 kb)


<< Output plugins >>

out_disk.dll (19 kb)
out_ds.dll (46 kb)
out_sqr.dll (284 kb)
out_wave.dll (18 kb)


<< DSP plugins >>

dsp_sps.dll (39 kb)


<< Visualisation plugins >>

vis_avs.dll (344 kb)
vis_milk2.dll (1224 kb)
vis_nsfs.dll (28 kb)


<< Portable plugins >>

pmp_ipod.dll (102 kb)
pmp_njb.dll (17 kb)
pmp_p4s.dll (111 kb)
pmp_usb.dll (41 kb)

---------------------------------
I don't want to get rid of the messenger Now Playing or the SqrSoft plug-ins; besides, at work, I also have those and AAC+ plays fine.

What else could it be that does not enable me to listen to AAC+ stream?

Just to refresh your memory; when I click on the AAC+stream, Winamp attempts to connect but after about 15 sec. it says "Connection Timed Out".

Thanks for all your help, sorry to "pester you" in this manner.
matracas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2009, 14:52   #11
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,385
The idea here is to do a "test drive" without the third party plug-ins. It could be that one of the plug-ins needs to be updated.

We normally suggest a clean install of Winamp, then if it works, try adding back you favorite third party plug-ins. If you still have issues with the test drive of the clean install, please provide a HijackThis log. We volunteer out time to provide support, so sometimes it might take little awhile before one of us has a change to evaluate the HjT and make the proper suggestions.
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2009, 15:47   #12
matracas
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Mexico
Posts: 25
Thanks for all your help

I appreciate the time you have dedicated to this thread.

You may have noticed that I have been reluctant to do the clean uninstall. This is because I just did one a few days ago; before creating this thread, hoping that the clean uninstall would fix my problem (BTW, the clean uninstall was done following all the steps mentioned in the sticky PLUS, I ran ccleaner, which did find a few winamp stuff still "hanging around").

What I should have done was; once I re-installed, tried the aac+ stream BEFORE adding back my 3rd party plug-ins...but I didn't.

I may be a lazy bum, but the truth is, my home PC is shared with another 3 family members and each of us has an individual profile in Windows XP so you can imagine that; after an install, I need to go into each one of the profiles to install winamp (and many other softwares).

I will run a HiJackThis and send the report.

Thanks again.
matracas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2009, 02:13   #13
matracas
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Mexico
Posts: 25
My HiJackThis file

Jonny; I have attached the HJT log...hope you can identify the root of this problem I have.

Thanks in advance,
Attached Files
File Type: txt hijackthis 05.06.2009.txt (12.5 KB, 393 views)
matracas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2009, 21:59   #14
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,385
I don't see anything that might be causing the issue. Do you think that BitDefender might be interfering?

Is it just that one station which does not work? If you try to connect from here, will it work? Does the MP3 link work?
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2009, 16:01   #15
matracas
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Mexico
Posts: 25
No problem with mp3 streams...

Quote:
Originally posted by JonnyMac
I don't see anything that might be causing the issue. Do you think that BitDefender might be interfering?
> I don't think so because I have the bitdefender on my other home PC and the AAC+ stream works fine there.

Is it just that one station which does not work? If you try to connect from here, will it work? Does the MP3 link work?

> It isn't a matter of the station but rather the AAC+ stream because I can stream virtually any other station (including this one) with the mp3 stream...it's the AAC+ stream that won't work.
matracas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2009, 02:02   #16
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,385
The only other thing that comes to mind is a long shot. Can mpTrim affect playback of files or does it just alter the files like a audio editor? If mpTrim can affect files during playback, maybe that is what is causing the issue. However it is a long shot, as I think the it just acts as a file editor.

Anyone else?
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2009, 14:56   #17
matracas
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Mexico
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally posted by JonnyMac
The only other thing that comes to mind is a long shot. Can mpTrim affect playback of files or does it just alter the files like a audio editor? If mpTrim can affect files during playback, maybe that is what is causing the issue. However it is a long shot, as I think the it just acts as a file editor.

Mptrim is a tiny APP that eliminates silence at the start & finish of any mp3 as well as normalizes the volume of said file. It has nothing to do with playback of a music file.

Anyone else?
matracas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump