Old 21st July 2004, 14:22   #1
DeadkidsongsUK
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: England
Posts: 2
CDDB (Can't find it)

I've searched the boards but can't find what I'm looking for...
I seem to be missing in_cdda.cdb ...Can't find it anywhere on my PC or a download for it, anyone know where I can find it for download?

Sorry if this is the wrong board.
DeadkidsongsUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st July 2004, 14:59   #2
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,384
"in_cddb.cdb" is a file created when Gracenote looks at the CDDB.
It should be located in the Winamp\Plugins folder.

Did you install Winamp Lite or Full? Winamp FULL supports CDDB.
Download Winamp

Otherwise...
1. Winamp > Ctrl+P
2. Plug-ins > Input
3. double click 'Nullsoft/CD LineIn plug-in'
5. Make sure 'Use CDDB' is checkmarked

and/or

1. Winamp > Ctrl+P
2. General Preferences
3. Make sure 'Internet Connection Settings' correctly reflect your Internet connection.

and/or

On a firewall? Make sure you firewall is configured to allow Winamp full access.
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st July 2004, 20:54   #3
Fr0st
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to Fr0st
I have Winamp Pro and cannot get the CDDB to work. I insert a Phish audio cd, then the DDB thing comes up like its about to connect, but it says CDDB not installed. I am also using a Linksys router if this has anything to do with my access to CDDB server. What can i do to make it work, it use to work?!@!@
Fr0st is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st July 2004, 21:57   #4
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,384
Are you sure it is a just an audio CD and not an enhanced CD (audio & data mix). I am not certain but I think Gracenote has difficulty with E-CDs.

Try the menu play method
Click on the main menu icon > select 'Play' > select 'Audio CD x:' where "x" is the drive of choice
-or-
Right-click on a "empty" space in the main or player window > select 'Play' > select 'Audio CD x:' where "x" is the drive of choice

Are you on a hardware firewall or proxy server? CDDB look up/Gracenote uses port 8880

In the past I have noticed sometimes when there is a temporary glitch with the CD database (or it is temporarily down) the "DDB not installed" error message will incorrectly show. Just another possible reason.
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2004, 00:08   #5
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
@ FrOst - Also, look in your '...\Winamp\Plugins\ folder for the following files :

CDDBControlWinamp.dll
CDDBUIWinamp.dll

If they are missing you will need to reinstall Winamp_FULL.

Hell, why not reinstall anyway.

UJ

Last edited by ujay; 22nd July 2004 at 00:27.
ujay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2004, 00:19   #6
DeadkidsongsUK
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: England
Posts: 2
Ah, no wonder I can't find it, I'm running Winamp Lite...
*trundles off to download Winamp Full*
Thanks.
DeadkidsongsUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2004, 00:19   #7
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,384
Quote:
Originally posted by ujay
@ FrOst - Also, look in your '...\Winamp|Plugins\ folder for the following files :

CDDBControlWinamp.dll
CDDBUIWinamp.dll
Something I did not think of. Thanks for the input UJ.
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2004, 00:36   #8
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
@ DeadkidsongsUK - If you want to keep the LITE version, you can just add the CDDB component.

Download Winamp_FULL and start the installation. On about the second page is a drop down menu box, select 'Lite'.
Below, open 'File Types' and tick the CDDB option. Finish install.

Hey presto, Winamp LITE with CDDB support.

Hi JM

UJ
ujay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2004, 02:00   #9
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Quote:
Originally posted by Fr0st
I have Winamp Pro
You paid $14 for Winamp Lite?



btw, are DeadkidsongsUK and Fr0st the same person
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump